RSS

Could it be?

20 Dec

I’m feelin’ a little somethin’.  A bit of excitement.  A warm fuzzy.  Somethin’.

It started yesterday as I was boxing up a few stocking stuffers for Link.  I’m still extremely sad that he won’t be with us on Christmas Day, but as I wrapped his new toothbrush, and some batteries, some candy, and some Ski (that you can only get around here), I began feeling a little better.  He will be able to open the silly gifts that  Santa usually stuffs his stocking with.  I’m hoping it helps him feel like he’s home.  I wonder if he’s as sad as I.  I sincerely hope not.

Normally, I loathe shopping, but when Hubby and I hit the stores, and began finding things we knew the kids would get a kick out of, it became fun.  We weren’t buying just stuff, we were buying for THEM.  I brightened up when I realized the season can be exciting even though the kids are grown.

The biggest kid, by far, is my Hubby.  As I put a few gifts under the tree, I saw this:

IMG_1516

And later when I opened the freezer,

IMG_1522

He bought himself some googly eyes and is quite giddy over them.  Even Mario got a kick out of them…..

IMG_1535

……although she got in trouble for popping a few of them.  “I couldn’t help it,” she explained to him.  “It’s like bubble wrap, once you start, you can’t stop.”

My hubby doesn’t know this, all he sees is my constant eye rolling, but I get a kick outa his childish antics.

I doubt the cat does…

IMG_1536

I feel relieved things are turning around for me, and I’m looking forward to spending Christmas with the kids that are home. Now if I can just keep my Scrooge bottled up.

bottled scrooge

 

 
9 Comments

Posted by on December 20, 2014 in Holidays, Parenting

 

Tags: , ,

9 responses to “Could it be?

  1. Abby

    December 22, 2014 at 1:17 am

    I’m glad you’re starting to turn the corner! Googly eyes can do that to a person. I’m sure it’s sad that Link won’t be home this year, but he’s growing up, and that’s the natural order of things (my mantra!). Tell the cat I said, “Merry Christmas”!

     
    • shadowrun300

      December 24, 2014 at 2:37 am

      It’s just weird now that my parent-in-laws are gone, and my dad’s staying down in Florida, and Link won’t be home. So I set to work planning a “new” Christmas Eve and Christmas Day. And I’m feeling a bit excited.
      That poor cat is a great source of fun for my hubby. I don’t guess he minds, though. He spends most of his day on my hubby’s lap.

       
  2. llcooljoe

    December 22, 2014 at 9:04 am

    I have both my daughters home with me this Christmas but I know that won’t last forever so I’m trying to stay positive but with my Dad’s failing health it’s not easy. I’m glad you are getting more into it all now, who would have thought a packet of googly eyes could be so much fun! 😀

     
    • shadowrun300

      December 24, 2014 at 2:41 am

      I know your dad’s situation is dragging you down. How could it not? But it is a wonderful thing that your daughters are both home. Good for you for trying to stay positive. Perhaps a packet of googly eyes would help you?

       
      • llcooljoe

        December 24, 2014 at 9:58 pm

        I do have some somewhere, but tiny, so I’m not sure they’d work so well. Anyway I just came here to wish you a very Happy Christmas!

         
  3. territerri

    December 28, 2014 at 1:21 pm

    I’m so glad you found your Christmas cheer. I know how hard it is when one of the chicks is gone from the nest, but it sounds like you made the best of it. The googly eyes on the cat totally cracked me up!

    I’m an eye-roller too. I saw a shirt recently that would be perfect for us. On the front it said, “Did I just roll my eyes out loud?”

     
    • shadowrun300

      December 29, 2014 at 2:12 am

      Ha! I’d love that shirt! 🙂
      Our poor cat is the brunt of many jokes. All harmless of course, and quite funny. Just don’t tell my hubby I think so.

       
  4. agg79

    January 9, 2015 at 3:00 am

    Oh Heck Yea. I absolutely love the googly eyes. Stupid, silly, nonsensical – something like that really brings out the kid in us all. You HAVE to tell me where you got them.

    Glad to hear you finally came around to the Christmas spirit. Remember – Resistance is futile.

     
    • shadowrun300

      January 9, 2015 at 5:57 am

      I still find those dang googly eyes all over the house! I haven’t figured out if he went in search of some, or if they were an impulse buy. Either way, he is having a GREAT time.
      And you’re right about the spirit. Every year, without fail, I find it. Some years take longer than others.

       

Leave a Reply

 
