RSS

Just like that, it’s over

28 Dec

And it wasn’t so bad!  Yeah, I missed Link, but we skyped him in the afternoon and watched him open his gifts.   It was almost like he was here.  Before hanging up, we made plans for next year.  He’s already put in for vacation time, so hopefully it will be honored.  And he may bring his friends home too.  Extra bodies next year will certainly make up for the missing bodies this year.

With only the five of us, the holiday was pretty quiet and laid back.   I stole Frankie’s brilliant idea of putting together a puzzle on Christmas Eve.  You know, Frankie, the mistreated mom on The Middle.  I totally get her.  I chose a fun candy bar wrapper puzzle, and while they groaned a bit when I told the kids of my plan, we were soon addicted.  Within 24 hours we had the puzzle put together.

IMG_1571

I wish I had the camera stand we bought Link.  It’s designed to take pics of things on a table top, like a card game… or a puzzle.  Instead, I took a billion blind pictures, and this was the best one.

We also managed to watch a few more “classic” movies.  Planes, Trains and Automobiles and Jerry McGuire.  The kids seem to enjoy watching movies we thought were pretty good back in the day.  (Some of our most favorites are What’s Eating Gilbert Grape, The Breakfast Club, and Fargo.  And we’re always open for suggestions…)

After the presents were opened and our bellies were stuffed,  we piled into the van to go caroling bowling.  Who knew people go bowling on Christmas?!  Seems lots of us do.

Christmas bowling

We were asked to get closer. Only Chip and I listened.

The infamous googly eyes made the trip with us.  Doesn’t take much to entertain the boys.

IMG_1577

IMG_1581

IMG_1590

IMG_1596

Christmas is once again in the past.  The house is slowly getting back to normal and signs of Christmas coming to a close are everywhere.   The most prominent clues – tons of Christmas clearance sales, and our neighbor’s lawn.  Their Christmas tree has now joined the sagging pumpkins on their front lawn.  Wonder what we’ll see after the New Year’s celebration.

drunk

Can’t wait to see if I’m right.

 

 
6 Comments

Posted by on December 28, 2014 in Bowling, Family, Holidays

 

6 responses to “Just like that, it’s over

  1. territerri

    December 28, 2014 at 1:29 pm

    Our local bowling centers were open on Christmas, so obviously, bowling is a holiday tradition for many! Our Christmas Eve and Christmas Day are always insane as we try to make to it the big family gatherings. I’m always sort of wishing for quieter days at home with the family. Reading this post, maybe I should be more grateful for the chaos.

    The eighties produced some awesome movies, didn’t they? Your favorites are some of my favorites too. I mean – anything directed by John Hughes was a hit, right? I could watch The Breakfast Club anytime, anywhere. We have a few odd favorites around our house from more recent years – The Sandlot, and She’s Out of My League never get old.

     
    • shadowrun300

      December 29, 2014 at 2:16 am

      Our Christmases used to be insane… trying to drag 4 young kids away from their new toys to go to multiple other houses for more new toys. Then having to drag them and all their stuff back home again and beg them to go to bed because we were beat… Geez I miss those days. 🙂
      The Sandlot is a great idea! Haven’t heard of She’s Out of my League… I’m off to check it out. Thank you!

       
  2. Abby

    December 29, 2014 at 1:36 am

    Sounds like my kinda Christmas! Except for the “missing Link”, but thank goodness for skype, eh?!
    We’re working on a jigsaw puzzle too. Funny how addicting they can be. I like your candy wrappers! We’ve got this weird Picasso (is there any other kind?)
    Nice movie choices, and I think we’ve bowled a few ghosts of Christmases past. But never with googly eyes 🙂 Happy New Year, don’t end up in the bushes!

     
    • shadowrun300

      December 29, 2014 at 2:34 am

      There’s something to be said about quiet Christmases, huh? Especially quiet, WARM, Christmases. 😉
      I can’t wait to get my next puzzle! No wonder Joey loves ’em so much!
      And googly eyes make everything more fun….

       
  3. agg79

    January 9, 2015 at 3:18 am

    An excellent Christmas! We are at the age where a quiet Christmas celebration is the norm.We’ve gotten into the puzzle mode as well (bought a new one for my parents for Xmas). Great family tradition.

    Funny how googly eyes have made it into some sort of twisted holiday tradition. I certainly would have been one to exploit/abuse the eyes, but, then again, I have never claimed to be the mature one….

     
    • shadowrun300

      January 9, 2015 at 6:03 am

      I can’t wait until the next puzzle! They are so addicting!
      And I’m thinking I know what I’m gettin’ you for Christmas next year. We’ll compare maturity levels between the shadowruns and the aggs.

       

Leave a Reply

 
