RSS

New Year, New Me? Nah.

02 Jan

Once again, I welcomed the New Year from the warmth of my bed.  I was happy to leave the reveling to the young’uns in the family.  The hotel has been extremely slow this past month, but New Year’s Eve was a whirlwind.  It was exciting to finally be busy again, but boy am I exhausted.

On New Year’s Day, after we’d fed and rehydrated our slow moving guests, my co-worker asked me about my New Year’s resolutions.  I thought for a minute and couldn’t come up with anything.  Am I really that perfect?  I eat healthy for the most part, and I exercise quite regularly.  I don’t hold grudges, and I’m pretty happy and stress free.

But I AM a little unhappy at work.  I’m missing the challenge.  With the hotel in its slow season, and with two years of supervising under my belt, I’m ready for more.  So I resolve to make 2015 the year I push to move up.

Just the idea of it makes me excited!  But struttin’ my stuff doesn’t.  I know I can do it, but when it comes time to convincing others, I become quite shy.  Luckily, I have a few managers who aren’t afraid to strut my stuff for me.  But if I want this, I gotta do it myself.  Aw well, resolutions aren’t supposed to be easy.

I also plan to run another half marathon this year.  I was planning on the one in April again, but I can’t get excited about it.  It’s the same one I ran before, and I’m just not feelin’ it.  But in October, St. Louis hosts a Rock ‘n Roll marathon.  I’m always jealous when I check in guests who are running, so this year I’m gonna run with them!  If only I can keep Abby on my good side.  She has a tendency to jinx people.

So that’s it.  If I try to do anything else, like eat less ice cream, or blog more, or love winter, I’ll just end up failing.  No sense setting myself up for that.

new year's resolution

 
10 Comments

Posted by on January 2, 2015 in Uncategorized

 

10 responses to “New Year, New Me? Nah.

  1. territerri

    January 3, 2015 at 2:16 pm

    I know you can succeed in getting a promotion at work. You’re clearly dedicated AND love what you do. There are so few like you, how can the higher-ups pass on an opportunity to advance someone like you? And I think once you talk yourself up a few times, it will get easier. My boss was extremely busy a couple of months ago at review time. She told us to write our own reviews which she would then review and change only if necessary. It was slow going for me at first, but then I began to describe my work and work habits as if I were talking about someone else. I gave myself a rave review! 🙂 My boss changed a few things – actually giving me more credit in a few areas than I gave myself. And it was an amazing feeling – particularly when my pay increase was revealed to me!

    And it sounds like the Rock n Roll marathon is the one for you! It sounds fun and exciting!

     
    • shadowrun300

      January 4, 2015 at 2:02 am

      I can easily talk myself up in my head, it’s getting it out of my mouth that’s tough. If they’d let me interview myself, I would totally get the job! 🙂
      I’m excited about the Rock n Roll marathon. It’s a pretty popular run, so very fun!

       
  2. Abby

    January 4, 2015 at 10:50 pm

    I know you can do it! Meeting the professional goals as well as rocking the rock n roll half – I promise not to sign up!
    I was feeling like I’d stagnated with the tuting, and sometimes it’s that bored feeling that gets us motivated.

     
    • shadowrun300

      January 5, 2015 at 2:40 am

      I’m bored and frustrated at not having the clout to change what I know needs changing. So it’s time I’m the boss. 🙂
      And thanks for not jinxing my half. But perhaps you’ll actually be GOOD luck for people this year…

       
  3. Rock Chef

    January 7, 2015 at 1:49 pm

    Yeah, push upwards, you can do it!

    I have not made any actual resolutions, but I did decide in the autumn that I would finish my book this year, preferably this winter! Writing was held back over the holiday when my son took over my laptop, but I made some notes on paper and have started to work through them now.

    Good luck with the run – we will be watching you!

     
    • shadowrun300

      January 9, 2015 at 6:07 am

      You seem to be on a roll with your book, so I’m guessing you’ll be able to get it finished this year. Good goal! Can’t wait to read it!
      Save all that running luck for October and wish it on me then. I somehow always seem to find myself needing luck of some sort before the race.

       
  4. agg79

    January 9, 2015 at 3:31 am

    If anyone deserves a promotion, it’s you. I hope you get the recognition you so deserve. But be careful of what you wish for – with greater challenges come greater headaches. Good luck.

    I really hope you do decide to do the half again this year. Given all the miles you log, I look to you and Abby as my running inspiration and, if an old, fat man like me can pull it off, a measly 13.1 miles is a walk in park for you.

     
    • shadowrun300

      January 9, 2015 at 6:11 am

      Bring on the headaches! I like ’em so much more than easy days.
      I would hardly describe you as old and fat. And don’t you have a NOTHER half coming up soon? YOU’RE the inspiration.

       
  5. llcooljoe

    January 11, 2015 at 11:17 am

    Good luck with your career plans, I hope you get to be the boss!

    You know, I really don’t like ice cream that much at all, and probably have it once a year, so I’ve decided to make my New Year Resolution to give up eating ice cream, I think I can that! Ha!

    Happy New Year to you and your family!

     
    • shadowrun300

      January 12, 2015 at 3:08 am

      SMART! Setting a New Year’s Resolution you know you can keep! 😉
      Hope your new year is starting to get better…..

       

Leave a Reply

 
