RSS

QUIII-EEE-T!

07 Jan

Bugs Bunny’s exclamation has been screaming in my head these last few days. (Or was it Elmer Fudd??)  I can NOT get my thoughts to quiet down.  I’m used to being able to lay my head down on the pillow and crash…. not so much these days.  And anytime I’m awakened, my mind starts churning and I’m wide awake again.

Ah well, it won’t be long now before I have an answer.  I’m convinced it won’t be the answer I want, which is a good thing I guess… I’ll be prepared for a no, and will be thrilled with a yes.

You have no idea what I’m talking about, I know.  I’m keeping it to myself for a while.  Which could be why I CAN’T STOP THINKING!

**sigh**

In other news, surprising news, I have joined a gym.  I know, right?!  But with temps in the single digits, and ice and snow and wind, my outside runs are very limited.  I have a treadmill and elliptical downstairs, and I’ve always been good about using them…  but my hubby joined the gym, and then Amp and Chip joined the gym, and since the price would be the same for all of us to join the gym… it made sense for me to join (the gym).

The Y bought out the Health Plex at the local hospital, so I’ve found myself sweatin’ with the oldies.  It’s quite entertaining to see ’em all in their sweat pants, leisurely walking on the treadmill, catching up with each other (small town stuff), then parting ways as I’m still trying to force myself to stay on as long as I would have run outside.  It’s not been as bad as I expected, and I certainly don’t feel judged while I’m there.  So it’s a good thing.  If it helps me get through the winter without losing my running legs, it will have paid off.  But the first time the morning temps get above 28, I’m outa there.

But so far, so good this New Year.  The youngest two have settled back into their school routine.  High five to my hubby and Amp for passing the first semester with much better grades than expected.  (Did I mention Amp received the Illinois State Scholar award?  Yup.  C’s and all…. 1 of 5 in his high school to receive it.)  Smart kid.  Just doesn’t fit the roll of a student….

He’s doing his senior project these next few weeks.  Working with kindergartners at a school nearby.   He helps the teacher hang stuff on the walls, and keeps the kids corralled when walking through the halls.  He also finds himself the primary shoe tie-er.  “I’m double knotting their shoes, so there’s no way they are coming undone by themselves, yet I keep tying this one kid’s shoes over and over again….”  All I can do is smile.  I can see he likes it more than he lets on.  Besides the fact, he doesn’t have homework!

Mario is still hanging with the boys on their high school bowling team.  Each year she improves more and more.  I’m finding myself totally living through her.  So fun!  She somehow convinced me to bowl with her in a 9-pin tournament this weekend.  It’s been 3 years since I’ve picked up a ball!  Plus, my thumb has not been right since my biking accident.  But I agreed, knowing I have lots of excuses to fall back on if I don’t bowl well.  She’s looking forward to beating me… not something she’d been able to do in the past.

Alright, guess I’ll hit the publish button now.  Gotta get back to the brain churning…. aaaargh!

 
 

12 responses to “QUIII-EEE-T!

  1. territerri

    January 8, 2015 at 2:15 am

    That is the worst feeling – not being able to quiet your thoughts … and sleep! I hope you get an answer soon and I hope it’s a good one!

    Yep, the gym is a life-saver during the miserable months of winter. I do some DVD workouts at home, but sometimes I need to get out and do something else, so that’s where the gym comes in handy!

     
    • shadowrun300

      January 8, 2015 at 6:15 am

      Going to work this evening quieted my thoughts a bit. I hope to keep them quiet so I can sleep better tonight.
      I like the activity of the gym. So much to see and hear. But I don’t like hoping there’s a treadmill available when I get there. At home, my treadmill is always open.

       
  2. Rock Chef

    January 8, 2015 at 9:36 am

    Hey, you can let those thoughts out here – we won’t tell! 🙂

    It is great to see your kids growing up and blossoming isn’t it? All of ours are in really good places at the moment and we are loving it.

     
    • shadowrun300

      January 9, 2015 at 6:13 am

      Those thoughts are STILL hanging with me…. I may just have to blurt them out soon.
      For the most part, our kids are in good places. But a few of them have a long way to go before we feel really good about where they are.

       
  3. Abby

    January 8, 2015 at 5:21 pm

    I haven’t been to a gym in years. But it makes sense to join the gym if your hubby’s joined the gym and then your kids joined the gym and it’s no extra cost for you to join the gym. If I were in a similar situation, I’d join the gym… The gym people probably like winter. At the gym.

    Maybe if you tell us your thoughts, you’ll be able to sleep? Oh well, I know you’re going to tell us! I hope it’s the answer you want!

     
    • shadowrun300

      January 9, 2015 at 6:18 am

      The people that go to this gym crack me up! I think Joe goes just to talk to all the ladies, and will “ride” on the bike as a disguise. And today, a 66 year old lady (she proudly told us her age), came dressed in a beautiful sweater, with her hair and makeup all done, and hopped on the treadmill. Quite a few of the older gentleman come dressed in jeans. If ever you need a gym where you can feel confident and secure in your abilities… this is it.
      I’m gonna try a couple of more days to sleep. If I fail, I’ll tell you my thoughts.

       
  4. agg79

    January 9, 2015 at 3:47 am

    I haven’t been to a gym in years as well. I am resisting the call (although our temps rarely get below the mid 30s down here)- I just hate running treadmills – it just doesn’t seem to get you anywhere. Sounds like the entire family is at least keeping to a healthy routine of exercise/activity.

    BTW – I have the same worries about work (cannot sleep).

     
    • shadowrun300

      January 9, 2015 at 6:23 am

      I’ve never liked the treadmill either, but these mornings have been brutally cold with wind chills making it feel like -12. I’m a diehard, but that’s just ridiculous. So… I hit the gym. I ran for an hour yesterday. It worked me more mentally than physically.
      My hubby often lays awake at night thinking, while I sleep so peacefully beside him. That has NOT been the case recently. Hopefully my thoughts will slow down soon. If not, I’ll let you know!

       
  5. lottajoy

    January 9, 2015 at 4:03 am

    ALL MY LIFE my brain has been like a hamster running in its wheel. Going faster and faster yet getting no where. That’s why I’m a professional insomniac. I can’t quiet my brain. And not that it’s doing anything productive. In fact, it’s usually zapping thoughts so fast I can’t keep track of what I’m thinking. I even tried herbal chamomile tea last week. Not only does it not work, it tastes like musty mildewed gym socks. Don’t ask me how I know. My brain told me so.

     
    • shadowrun300

      January 9, 2015 at 6:26 am

      These past few days have been so rough for me. I can’t imagine having my hamster wheel spinning this fast for that long. One week is plenty! And hopefully I can make it through without sipping on mildewed gym socks.

       
  6. llcooljoe

    January 11, 2015 at 11:11 am

    I have the same issue with sleeping, well the lack of it. I wake up and then my mind starts working over time and that’s it I’m wide awake. Then come about 4.00pm in the afternoon I just can’t keep awake. Dozing off in front of the computer like an old man!

    Now just be careful you don’t injure yourself in the gym!

     
    • shadowrun300

      January 12, 2015 at 3:10 am

      I feel lucky that I rarely have trouble sleeping, but for a few days there, it was awful! I think I’m over it now… finger’s crossed!
      Can you imagine how embarrassed I’d be if I fell on the treadmill or off the stationary bike! Wouldn’t surprise me though, based on my track record.

       

Leave a Reply

 
