RSS

But can I be two for two?

28 Jan

We’re not even a month into the new year, and already I have met one of my resolutions.

If you remember, I only made two.  One was to run the Rock n Roll half-marathon in October.  The other was to push my way up in the chain of command at work.

Well, it’s not October yet… so that means….

I have succeeded in moving up at work!

I am now the Assistant General Manager of one of our sister hotels in the downtown area!

It’s been a whole three weeks coming.  A position opened up soon after I posted my resolution blog.  I applied for it immediately and found myself interviewing for it a few days later.  It was then that I posted   QUIII-EEE-T!   ’cause boy was my head swimming with uncertainties.  I wasn’t sure I had convinced him that I was perfect for the job.  Each day that passed without any word just added more uncertainty to my already anxious nerves.

I had no sooner given up on the idea, when my general manager pulled me in to her office.  She explained the GM I interviewed with had called her to apologize for not getting back to me sooner.  He wanted her to let me know I was still in the running and that he would be announcing his decision soon.  That news allowed me some relief, but the knots in my stomach didn’t loosen much.

Then yesterday, I back-handedly got the news that the offer was mine.  The knots loosened a little more, but without having received the phone call, I couldn’t completely relax.

I woke up Saturday morning and immediately wondered if the call would come today.  I took my nervousness out on the elliptical at the gym.  When the call didn’t come, I took my nervousness out on the kitchen floor.  Then the windows.  Then I drug Hubby out for a walk.  Still no call.

I’d given up on him by that point, and began getting ready for Hubby’s quiet birthday celebration with friends. We had no sooner gotten to their house, when my phone rang.

I raced outside where I could talk in private, and listened excitedly as he told me how much he’d love to have me on his team.   He would like to have me start as early as Feb. 2, but my current GM has asked him not to set an official date until she’s back in the office Monday.  “Apparently you have some responsibilities there that no one else knows how to do…”, he told me.

Yep.  My current hotel will be in a world of hurt without me, and my GM knows I can’t just leave without training someone on how to do these things.  The problem is we don’t have a someone.  Even the four assistant general managers above me, defer to me on many things.  When I’m gone, they’ll all be lost.

I feel bad for them, but I’ve told my GM multiple times that I want to move up, and I want to move up there.  I love the complexity of our hotel, have a great rapport with all the employees, and know my stuff.  I could easily step into an AGM role, and it would be welcomed by most, but she wanted to keep me under her thumb.

So I went looking elsewhere.

I’ll be happy with my new GM.  He manages by trusting the people below him to run the hotel as we know how.  My current GM has no trust at all and micromanages everyone.

I’m sad to be leaving the busyness of my hotel to go to one half the size and a bit further from the Arch and the stadium.  But my responsibilities will increase tenfold.  I’ll have a lot to learn, and perhaps when I’m no longer feeling challenged, I can transfer back to the more complex hotel that I love.

Either way, my future is bright, and I couldn’t be more excited to begin my new journey.

 

 
8 Comments

Posted by on January 28, 2015 in The Hotel

 

8 responses to “But can I be two for two?

  1. agg79

    January 28, 2015 at 11:54 am

    Congratulations! A well deserved promotion! I am sure you will absolutely shine in your new place/role. It is sad that you have to leave your current place, but sometimes you have to step outside of your comfort zone and take a chance to take the next rung on the ladder. People sometimes take you and your efforts for granted and I bet they will quickly regret not giving you the shot at your old hotel. Oh well, their loss.

    Good luck at the new place. I’d be interested in hearing how this one works out. I imagine changing from a downtown convention center place to something else will create all sorts of new opportunities/challenges. Is the commute longer/easier? Fewer headaches? It may be a sad time leaving the old place/family, but look at it this way, you won’t have to deal with the Baptist crowd again and Ms High Maintenance again.

     
    • shadowrun300

      January 29, 2015 at 2:25 am

      Ironically, the hotel I’m going to is next to our convention center, but because it’s smaller, and not quite in the heart of downtown, it does less business. As well, it’s only 7 blocks north of the hotel I’m in now, so we won’t be exempt from the church crowds. In fact, they’ll like us more since we’re so close to their convention. :/
      So the commute will stay the same, and some of the crowds will stay the same, but the upper management is all about team work, and the overall employee happiness seems to be much higher than my hotel. I can’t wait to start!

       
  2. Abby

    January 28, 2015 at 10:35 pm

    Congratulations! Let’s try it out… “Assistant GM ShadowRun”. Sounds good!
    I know you’ll miss *some aspects* of the current hotel, but think of the new fun – and blog material! – that awaits at the new place in your new position.
    “I feel bad for them, but I’ve told my GM multiple times that I want to move up…” Their loss, and DON’T feel bad for them!

     
    • shadowrun300

      January 29, 2015 at 2:34 am

      Actually, it sounds like a mouthful. 🙂
      And I DON’T feel bad for her, but I do feel bad for the front desk employees. Not one of them reacted with a smile when I told them the news. In fact, horror was the look I got most consistently. They’re so afraid of what’s going to happen since I am the only one who knows what’s going on. I let them know I have faith in them, though. And I do. They’ll step it up, and will be just fine without me.
      It’s nice to feel needed though, I must say…

       
  3. territerri

    January 29, 2015 at 12:34 am

    Oh, YAY YAY YAY for you! I KNEW you could do it! Congratulations! This should keep life interesting for a while, don’t you think? I’m so excited for you!

     
    • shadowrun300

      January 29, 2015 at 2:39 am

      YAY ME! I haven’t had this much excitement in my life in a long time. It’s so cool to wake up and think about the changes coming my way. I finally have things to look forward to!
      And thank you for being just as excited. It makes me even happier! 🙂

       
  4. llcooljoe

    January 29, 2015 at 10:45 pm

    Hey what great news!! Wow that didn’t take long! It seems it was only a couple of weeks ago I read your post where you said you wanted to be a manager, and now you will be!! Congratulations!!

     
    • shadowrun300

      January 30, 2015 at 2:19 am

      Thank you!! I’ve been looking for available positions within my company for a while now, but wasn’t real happy with their locations. When this position became available, I applied for it immediately and received an offer about 3 1/2 weeks later. It was crazy fast! (Yet the call seemed to take forever to come.)

       

Leave a Reply

 
