RSS

Mixed Emotions

02 Feb

Reactions to my promotion have been very wide spread, and quite different from what I had hoped for and expected.

After receiving the offer on Saturday, I was forced to keep quiet until Monday when my GM would be back to work.  She wasn’t in yet when I arrived, so I kept my excitement in, only speaking with people who were already in the know.

When she finally showed, I was giving a crash course to my immediate manager, K,  so he would have some idea of what I do.  She walked up to us and asked if I’d received an offer.  I smiled, and proudly told her yes.

“And you accepted?!” she almost yelled.  “I told him to tell you to call me first!  You only have one chance to negotiate, and now you’ve missed it!”

“Him” was my other manager, M. – the one who has been extremely supportive of all this.  I was acutely aware of the others in the room, as I was being talked down to.  She obviously was not.  Or didn’t care.

“Well,” I muttered meekly.  “I suppose I was happy with the offer, so I accepted it.”

She smiled condescendingly, shook her head at how dumb I was, and walked back to her office.

Yeah.  Not quite the reaction I had hoped to get.  My voice waivered a little, but I went right back to teaching K.  He admitted later he had a hard time concentrating because he couldn’t believe what had just happened.  I was proud when he praised me for my ability to keep going.  Deep down, I had wanted to run away and cry.

Later, when M found out her reaction, he was ticked.  “How dare she take this away from you!  This is supposed to be a very happy day for you!  We should be celebrating! I am SO sorry.”  I felt better just having him on my side.

So Monday wasn’t quite the day I had hoped for.  To add to the miserableness, my current GM and my new GM, never agreed upon a start date.  I was going to have to wait another day before I could announce it to the rest of my team.

By Tuesday afternoon, the date was set.  Before anything was posted, I personally informed the two desk agents who were on duty at the time. Their mouths dropped in horror.  “No!  You can’t leave!”  I was flattered, but again, I had hoped for some praise and congratulations.  “We’re happy for you,” they admitted.  “We’re just not happy that you’re leaving.  No one else knows what to do.”

I continued to get that same reaction from the rest of the front desk agents, and even from people in housekeeping.  “What are we going to do without you?” was a common concern.  “Take me with you” was a popular response as well.

I was feeling better and better, and had almost gotten over my GM’s response, when Salim came to the desk.  If you remember, Salim is our favorite taxi driver, and we have become great friends.  He’s the most unselfish person I know, and cares more about others’ well being than his own.  I had figured his reaction would be much the same as the rest, so I was nervous about telling him.

But as soon as he realized what I was saying, he yelled out, “Girl!  Girl!  Come here girl!”  and he waved me around.  I stepped out into the lobby, and he picked me up in a great big hug.  “I am so happy for you!  I have been praying for this!  I have been praying for you to be manager!  You have a good brain.  You shouldn’t be here.  I am so happy!”

When he finally let me go, I was beaming.  Now THAT was the reaction I should have received from everyone.  Some of our long term guests saw the commotion and came up later to find out what it was all about.  They, too, were just as happy for me.  “Well deserved,” they gushed.  “We’ll miss you, but we wish you the best of luck!”

I still feel a tug at my heart when I think of how my GM ruined what should have been a great day for me, but the good news is, she made it easier for me to leave.  She doesn’t deserve what I have to offer… the hotel does, my co-workers do, and our guests do…. but she does not.

February 15th is my last day, and it can’t come soon enough.

 
15 Comments

Posted by on February 2, 2015 in The Hotel

 

15 responses to “Mixed Emotions

  1. Sandi

    February 2, 2015 at 2:16 am

    Congratulations! I’m really pleased for you, and proud of your resilience!

     
    • shadowrun300

      February 2, 2015 at 3:15 am

      Yay! Praise and congratulations! That’s more like it! 🙂
      It’s a really exciting time for me, and I am SO looking forward to the changes and challenges coming my way. Thanks Sandy!

       
  2. Abby

    February 2, 2015 at 3:44 pm

    Well, now I’m pissed at that jerk, K. Seriously.
    But at the same time, it seems even more apparent to me that this is a great opportunity for you. A step up in your career, plus you’ll be free from K’s condescending, manipulative attitude. No one should have to put up with that.
    ” You have a good brain. You shouldn’t be here.”, Salim knows what’s what, and don’t you forget it!

     
    • Abby

      February 2, 2015 at 6:13 pm

      Okay, not “K”, but your GM, you know whom I meant…
      And I’m still mad at her. You can tell her I said so.

       
      • shadowrun300

        February 3, 2015 at 3:44 am

        I knew you meant my GM. K was almost as devastated as I was.
        You definitely have to be able to let things roll off your back around there. And I’m pretty good at it… unless it’s a real zinger. And that was.

         
  3. agg79

    February 2, 2015 at 6:44 pm

    Congratulations! You deserve it and definitely earned it. Relish the accomplishment and recognition of your hard work. I know you will kick butt in the new role.

    I can imagine some people will sorely miss you. As for Miss K, bless her little heart. Who is she to rain on your parade/good news? Pretty petty, if you ask me. With that kind of management style, it is a wonder you stuck with her this long. I find is funny how karma starts with “K” as I am sure it will come back to bite her at some point.

     
    • shadowrun300

      February 3, 2015 at 3:47 am

      You have no idea of the stories I could tell about her management style. I just finished watching a harassment video – how to recognize it and what to do about it. She certainly qualifies. My new GM will be much easier to work for.

       
  4. Anita

    February 3, 2015 at 2:26 am

    I’ll be looking forward to hearing the adventures of your new job. Congratulations!

    Some people… humph!

     
    • shadowrun300

      February 3, 2015 at 3:49 am

      Thank you, Anita! I am SO looking forward to my new adventure! 🙂

       
  5. Rock Chef

    February 3, 2015 at 11:28 am

    What a horrible reaction! Glad you had others to give the right one, especially the huge hug!

    Take me with you? I can see that too, they will never replace you!

     
    • shadowrun300

      February 4, 2015 at 2:40 am

      Other than my hubby and manager M, Salim’s reaction was my favorite. I’m going to miss him.
      And as my time there nears an end, they’re really starting to feel the crunch. Me too, actually. Not sure how I can educate everyone in such a short amount of time.

       
  6. territerri

    February 7, 2015 at 1:25 pm

    Ugh! I want to punch HER in the head for doing that to you! But I suppose that type of response is one of the big reasons for you to go somewhere you will be appreciated and encouraged! I’m SO glad Salim gave you the reaction he did. He sounds like an amazing guy.

     
    • shadowrun300

      February 8, 2015 at 3:29 am

      Stand in line! There’s many of us who wanted to punch her. I shouldn’t have expected anything more, though. She’s never been one to appreciate and/or encourage. Salim made up for her reaction in a BIG way. I’m gonna miss him.

       
  7. llcooljoe

    February 7, 2015 at 11:18 pm

    Charming, there’s always one isn’t there? The killjoy. But I’m so glad everyone else was so happy for you, but it’s also good they don’t want you to go. Can you imagine how you would have felt if everyone said “Thank God you are leaving”. 😀

     
    • shadowrun300

      February 8, 2015 at 3:33 am

      Killjoy. A perfect description!
      And yes, I would have been devastated if everyone was happy to see me leaving. I think deep down, even my GM doesn’t want me to go. She just has a funny way of showing it.

       

Leave a Reply

 
