RSS

Cray cray

10 Feb

I don’t know about you, but these last few weeks have been a little crazy for me.  The week following my promotion announcement was a busy one.  The hotel was busier than usual, and K and I were scrambling to find someone who would be qualified enough to do my job.  With no real answers, the decision making was pushed off until the next week.

Actually, K (the assistant GM over the front desk) and I knew exactly who the responsibilities should go to, however, we new our cynical GM would oppose.  C is the other supervisor at the front desk and has worked for the company for over ten years.  He transferred to our location and was promoted to a supe before I was.  Ever since then, our GM has been all over him.  Nothing he does is right in her eyes.  And she let him know it.  I was promoted to a supe a year later, and began taking over the admin responsibilities, while he continued to stay stagnate.  I felt guilty, but he never harbored any resentment towards me.  In fact, we’ve become great friends.

K and I know C has a ton to offer our hotel, and would love for him to take over.  In fact, he’s the only one currently at the hotel I would trust to handle the job.  So when the next week came, and we needed to make the decision, I spoke up.  She rolled her eyes when I mentioned his name, but she didn’t say no.  The decision was made!

So this past week I spent every free minute showing C what I do.  It’s not been easy.  The hotel was full due to a convention in the city, and a pre-Mardi Gras party south of town.  It’s difficult to train and run a completely full hotel in the process.  I came home exhausted at night, only to rise early and do it all again.

The pressure is easing a little, however.  Next week, my final week, C and I are scheduled together every shift with plenty of coverage at the front desk.  We should easily get everything covered and have him prepared to take over.  Just the thought helps me to rest easy.

Even better, I had Sunday off, and it was an absolutely beautiful day.  Sun shining and a high of 68 degrees!  After a nice outside run, and a hearty pancake breakfast, I headed out to wash my salty car.  I plugged in the hose, turned on the water, and noticed yet another leak.  That makes five. The lawn would get a nice sprinkling while I washed.

Halfway into it, I tugged the hose a little too hard, pulling it right out of the spigot.  That was that.  My poor little hose was done for.  I washed the rest of the car by splashing a bucket of water over it.  It worked well, but I ran to W*lmart soon after for a shiny new hose replacement.

It may very well be spring before I have a chance to wash my car again.  I’ve got one last busy week at this hotel before I begin 4 extensive weeks of leadership training.  I’ll be away from home most of the time, which in itself causes stress, but thankfully my hubby will be around to rule the roost.

And when I return, things will still be a little cray cray, I’m sure.  Just in a completely different hotel.  I can’t wait!

 

 
6 Comments

Posted by on February 10, 2015 in Blunders, The Hotel

 

6 responses to “Cray cray

  1. Abby

    February 13, 2015 at 12:47 am

    Well, I’m glad the stress is easing up somewhat, and that you got out for some playtime (washing the car counts)! I’m sure there’ll be stress with the transition to the new place, but good stress!

     
    • shadowrun300

      February 13, 2015 at 4:21 am

      I’m glad I was able to get out and “play” on Sunday, because right now… it’s FLIPPIN’ COLD! Crazy how we can be 70 one day, and 20s the next.
      I only have two more days at my current hotel, and then I can switch gears to my new role – after 4 weeks of leadership training… in OHIO! Further NORTH! But when I get back it’ll be closer to spring! 🙂

       
  2. agg79

    February 13, 2015 at 12:06 pm

    I can only imagine how hectic and crazy these last few days are getting. Wrapping up the old job and getting ready to jump into a whole new world of excitement would definitely add to the stress level. I hope that you are able to wrap things up this week and make the move with a few shreds of sanity intact. Good luck on the promotion and the new job.

    I find that washing the cars can be therapeutic at times. Just like with running, it is is a great way to relieve stress and take you away from your problems for a while. Someone once told me that running is a cheap form of therapy. Whenever faced with a problem that seems overwhelming, he would go for a run and, somehow, the problem didn’t seem as big at the end.

     
    • shadowrun300

      February 23, 2015 at 1:24 am

      When I’m feeling stressed, I have to do something physical… washing my car and running are my usual stress relievers.
      I’m not feeling a whole lot of stress at the moment, just anxious to finish training and get started in my new hotel. Three more weeks! But it’s a good thing, and I’m enjoying it. 🙂

       
  3. territerri

    February 22, 2015 at 4:16 pm

    I’m glad you’re getting away from the toxic work environment that K obviously creates. I feel sorry for C and the rest of the crew, but they’ll have to make their own way to greener pastures, just as you have.

    Your day off probably provided some much-needed down-time. Sounds like you’ll be busy in the coming weeks, but your work life should be way more fulfilling when it’s all said and done.

     
    • shadowrun300

      February 23, 2015 at 1:30 am

      It really is a toxic work environment. And now that I’m seeing another side, it’s even more obvious. I’m guessing you’re right – my coworkers will make their way to greener pastures. I’ve probably got them thinking about doing it sooner.
      Being away from home for so long is the hardest to cope with, but I’ll be so busy I’m sure the time will fly.

       

Leave a Reply

 
