RSS

whataweek

16 Feb

Throughout the week, I taught C everything I know, and I have to say my teacher skills have paid off.  I feel quite good that he’ll be able to carry on without me.

Without me.  *sigh*

I began saying my goodbyes on Friday, because I knew Saturday, Mardi Gras/Valentine’s Day/Volleyball Conference, was going to be a crazy day.

I pulled all the newest desk agents aside, and let them know how proud I was of them.  They’ve come such a long way in just under a year.  And although they’re worried the place won’t run without me, I have way more confidence that it will.  I encouraged them to stay the course, and let ’em each know “You GOT this.”

Saturday was the whirlwind I totally expected it to be.  Already, at 6 AM, the lines were long – people checking out, people checking in, and stayovers needing their wristbands.  The madness continued throughout the day.  By 3 PM, the Mardi Gras partiers were on their way back, drunk, wristbandless, and unable to comprehend anything we were telling them.  I stuck around til 7, partly because I hated to leave everyone with the madness, and partly because I hated to leave.

I grabbed as many hugs as I could, (including from my GM who surprisingly told me she was proud of me) and managed to hold back the tears until I waved my final goodbye.

Before heading home, I stopped by my new hotel, to help out with some billing questions they had.  The greeting I received from the team there was so warm and welcoming, that my sadness immediately disappeared.  I was exhausted and beat by the time I headed home, but totally ready for my new beginning.

Thank goodness, because it starts Monday.  Four weeks of training, three of them away from home, and then I’ll finally be boss!

boss

 

 
6 Comments

Posted by on February 16, 2015 in The Hotel

 

6 responses to “whataweek

  1. agg79

    February 16, 2015 at 10:59 am

    A bittersweet ending of one chapter and the beginning of a whole new one. No matter how exciting and challenging the new assignment will be, it is hard to say goodbye to all your friends and coworkers after such a long time. Perhaps it is fitting that the final day goes out with a bang as you ride off into the sunset (or to the new hotel).

    Good luck today. May the force be with you.

     
    • shadowrun300

      February 17, 2015 at 2:20 am

      It’s been MY hotel for so long, that it was definitely hard to say goodbye. And because I had trained many of the agents, I felt like I was leaving my kids, and they would be forced to fend for themselves. So yeah, bittersweet.
      I had a great first day of training! Very motivating and inspirational and I can’t wait for more.

       
  2. Abby

    February 18, 2015 at 5:55 pm

    Well, the tough part’s over, right? One door closes, another one opens!

     
    • shadowrun300

      February 19, 2015 at 2:49 am

      That WAS the hardest part! At least so far. Training is going well, though. Next week I’ll get hands on training in a real, live hotel. PLUS, I’m hoping I can see Link during that time since I’ll only be an hour away! Life is good!

       
  3. territerri

    February 22, 2015 at 4:24 pm

    You did all you can to leave your old place in good hands. Now it’s time to focus on you and preparing yourself for your new role. Way to go! You have a great attitude so you’re sure to succeed.

     
    • shadowrun300

      February 23, 2015 at 1:20 am

      I’ve been gone a week now, and have not looked back. My first week of training kept me so busy I haven’t had time to miss it. I’m keeping in touch with a select few of my co-workers, but I am definitely looking forward to the future. 🙂

       

Leave a Reply

 
