RSS

Boot Camp

24 Feb

I survived my first week of training.  I mean, how could I not?  I was served a free hot breakfast each morning, and was catered to the whole time we were in “class”.  If the coffee I liked wasn’t there, they bought more.  My candy jar was kept full, my water was kept cold, and I was allowed so many bathroom breaks, I never really had to go.

This manager stuff is da bomb! …I thought.

One day into my hands-on training, and I’m singing a different tune.  My feet are throbbing, my back is aching, and I’m tired-er than all get out.

My day started at 7 AM.  Well, my workday started at 7.  I started at 4:00 AM with a workout. Ha!  Coulda totally skipped that.

housekeeping

By 8:00, I found myself in a guest room, scrubbing toilets and floors, stripping beds and remaking them with tight corners and no lines.  Dusting, vacuuming, and repeating the whole process… for 8 more hours?!  Oh, and make sure everything is done to standards.

Sheesh.  By lunch I was ready to call it a day.  Instead, I headed to the laundry room to see what they do all day.  Correction, what she does all day.  She was happy to show me how to fold the sheets, and for the next few hours that’s all I did.  Martha Stewart would have raved over my properly folded fitted sheet.

 

fitted sheets

Once the sheets were done, we began folding towels.  And folding, and folding, and folding.  It seemed never ending!  And she does this for 8 hours a day?!

I finished the day with the executive housekeeper, where I could finally sit.  Thank God!  By the time I got to my room, I was beat.  I started up my computer and fell asleep in my chair before it finished loading.

I’ve always known how hard our housekeepers work, but after today, I have a whole new respect.  I hung my Do Not Disturb sign on the door, made my bed, took out my own trash, and will reuse my towel in the morning.

And at my hotel, I’m staying on my housekeeping staff’s good side.  ‘Cause if they’re not happy, I may be doing all this work again…..

 

 

 
11 Comments

Posted by on February 24, 2015 in The Hotel

 

11 responses to “Boot Camp

  1. territerri

    February 25, 2015 at 2:50 am

    Learning by doing, huh? Or as my work-family is so fond of saying, “learning through pain.” It really is the best way to understand everything that happens in your work world, but I don’t envy what you have to do to get there. Hope you survive the week!

     
    • shadowrun300

      February 25, 2015 at 2:54 am

      I think it’s great they have us go through so much training. The company wants to make sure we’re doing things consistently from hotel to hotel, and wants to be sure their leaders are all on the same page.
      Tonight, I’m working the night audit shift. IHow am I possibly going to be able to stay awake until 4 AM?

       
  2. Abby

    February 26, 2015 at 3:06 am

    Oh yeah, those housekeepers are a tough bunch!
    I’ve got a story of MY own about being thrown into housekeeping duties after an INS raid in Denver *ahem*… And I still make my bed per the standards!
    Sounds like great training!

     
    • shadowrun300

      February 27, 2015 at 1:12 am

      After that day, I don’t think I’ll make my bed ever again! lol
      I figured you’d had some housekeeping experience yourself, but I don’t remember having heard the story before. Care to share?

       
  3. Rock Chef

    February 26, 2015 at 1:55 pm

    So I am hoping this is some sort of “appreciate the staff” session – this is not a normal day for a manager, surely?

     
    • shadowrun300

      February 27, 2015 at 1:13 am

      Yes, definitely an “appreciate the staff” and understand what’s expected of them. Not something I should have to do on a regular basis…. I hope.

       
  4. agg79

    February 27, 2015 at 11:22 am

    Nicely done. THAT’s the only way to learn the job right. Especially for a manager. Walk a mile (or make a few beds) in their shoes and you truly understand their limitations and headaches. On a few of my jobs, I started out on the line learning how to build, repair and ship product. That gives you a true appreciation for the hard work they do. And it also gives you some understanding of what needs to be done. In my opinion, being able to do what you ask your employees to do can makes you a better manager.

    BTW – the Army taught me how to make a bed and I am still doing square corners to this day.

     
    • shadowrun300

      February 28, 2015 at 1:15 am

      Yes, I was happy to walk a mile in their shoes, and needed to, to be able to fully understand what I will be asking them to do. And if we’re ever in a pinch, I’ll be able to help out.
      The only way I’ll make my bed using square corners, is if I’m practicing for work. Honestly, the square corners weren’t the hardest, it was the way each sheet and blanket had to be tucked and folded. I was SO slow at it, and they only have a short amount of time to fully clean a room. And some rooms have two beds in them! I’m so impressed with these girls!

       
  5. llcooljoe

    February 27, 2015 at 12:51 pm

    What as a manager you’ll be making beds and cleaning the loos??!

     
    • shadowrun300

      February 28, 2015 at 1:17 am

      I certainly hope I won’t have to, but if I do, I’ll know the proper way of making beds and cleaning loos – according to our hotel’s standards.
      Good to see you again! I hope this means you’re feeling better!

       
  6. llcooljoe

    March 5, 2015 at 4:39 pm

    I’m sure you knew the proper way to do that without training. 😉 Apart from a hacking cough I’m feeling a lot better, thanks. 🙂

     

Leave a comment