RSS

One step closer

10 Mar

Well I’ve been quite happy lettin’ you all entertain me these last few weeks  It’s been easy to be complacent considering all I’ve got goin’ on right now.

I enjoyed my ten day stint in Ohio, training under some of the best team members in our company.  In fact, I didn’t want to leave.  I’m anxious now to get to my hotel, and see if I can run it in a similar fashion.  But I have another week of classroom training first.

It’s a big week for us trainees this week.  We’re meeting with the CEO of the company and are required to have 2-3 questions prepared to ask him.  I’m a little nervous about it, but I’m confident with my questions.  I know not to ask him “Boxers or briefs?”.  Seriously.  Somebody did.  So now we all have to submit our questions ahead of time…

We’ve also been asked to present what we learned at our training hotel to the class.  THAT I was nervous about.  I can talk to anyone from my chair, with the table as my security blanket, but put me in front of the class to just talk?!  No thank you. Our trainer took volunteers to go first on Monday.  I was just about to pass, when I found myself raising my hand.  I had to get it over with, or my week would be miserable.

I had nothing to worry about, of course.  They’re a great group of people, and very supportive.  I talked about how I learned the things I expected to learn, like how to make a bed to standards, how to cook the eggs for breakfast,  how to read the chemicals in the pool, how to balance the budget… But the most important thing I took from my experience was the culture of the hotel.  Their GM was the head of the “family”.  She was never at her desk.  Instead, she was with her team, on the floors, in the kitchen, at the front desk.  She was there for them.  And in return, they worked for her.  Coming from a GM who NEVER did that, I was enlightened. That will be what I take with me to my hotel.

My presentation probably didn’t come across that cohesive, but it wasn’t bad, if I say so myself.  Most important – IT’S OVER!  I can relax the rest of the week, and enjoy my serve safe course today, my talk with the CEO Thursday, my trip to the call center on Friday (I can’t wait to meet the people I talk with on the phone everyday but never see!), and my last day of class on Saturday.

It’s been a long, but a necessary four weeks.  This is how our company tries to keep all managers on the same page, so that all hotels are consistent and working towards the same goal…. Taking care of our guests.

I am more excited than ever to be a part of it.

 
8 Comments

Posted by on March 10, 2015 in The Hotel

 

8 responses to “One step closer

  1. Abby

    March 11, 2015 at 2:58 am

    Glad you got to experience a good GM. Makes all the difference.
    Boxers or briefs?? SERIOUSLY?!

     
    • shadowrun300

      March 12, 2015 at 1:50 am

      I LOVED that GM. My new one will be closer to her than my previous one. So that’s good.
      And yeah…. boxers or briefs. The CEO responded, “You get one question to ask the CEO of a company, and you choose THAT?” Ever since then, the questions have been screened. Not sure whatever happened to that guy…..

       
  2. territerri

    March 11, 2015 at 10:30 pm

    Immersion training – that sounds like an amazing way to really learn what the company is all about! I had a somewhat similar experience when I joined my company over ten years ago. We spent weeks just working alongside the most experienced employees, and when we were ready to fly on our own, we got to make that call ourselves.

    I’m so glad you got to experience a really good GM. That’s how it should be, and I know you’ll mimic that style in your new position. I’m excited for you! Good luck!

     
    • shadowrun300

      March 12, 2015 at 1:55 am

      I certainly hope I can mimic her. The other Asst. GM and the GM seem like they’re on the same page as me, so that’ll help.
      I love how much time is spent training. I really feel like I can go into my job with some confidence. Not too many places devote so much time to training. It’s a great thing! Unfortunately, not everyone chooses to act upon what is taught…. ahem…. my old GM….

       
  3. llcooljoe

    March 14, 2015 at 7:43 am

    It sounds like you are getting excellent training. I would have passed out having to talk to a group of people like that. 😀 I’m okay behind my decks with the music going but sometimes I have to talk on the mic at Weddings etc. I find it really hard!

    The chemicals in the swimming pool can be quite complicated can’t they? Or you do what my partner does and just chuck a few in the pool and hope for the best!

     
    • shadowrun300

      March 16, 2015 at 1:52 am

      I’m so proud I didn’t pass out during my presentation. And I think all my words came out coherently.
      We’ve never had a pool, so I didn’t know much about pool readings. I’m trusting my maintenance guys know what they’re doing….

       
  4. agg79

    April 14, 2015 at 9:36 am

    Having a boss that you like and can really respect can make all of the difference in a job. sounds like your new GM is a real winner. Good strategy about going first for your presentation. In those cases, it is sometimes better to take point and get it over with and it doesn’t turn out as bad as you imagine. I used to hate to talk in front of a group (still do to some degree) but I enrolled in Toastmasters back when I was getting my MBA and it really opened things up for me. I am still a bit nervous about speaking in front of a large audience, but not petrified.

     
    • shadowrun300

      April 15, 2015 at 1:50 am

      I’m much better about speaking in front of a group than I used to be, but it still makes me SO nervous. I worry everyone can see my heart pounding and my knees shaking. It was such a relief to get it over with and not have to worry about it for the rest of the week!

       

Leave a Reply

 
