RSS

Graduated

16 Mar

For the first time in four weeks, I am not living out of a suitcase!  I unpacked it completely today, and happily drug it down to the basement.  Ok, no I didn’t.  I left it at the top of the steps, hoping my hubby will bring it down.  Or better yet, Chip, who recently moved back home to save a bit of money before going off to college.  (Yeah, a lot has happened these past few weeks.)

As happy as I am to be settled back at home, I’m a little sad that the training’s over.  When you spend all day everyday with a really great group of people, you tend to develop a bond.  So saying goodbye Saturday afternoon was bittersweet.   After promising to keep in touch, we packed up our diplomas and headed to our prospective homes.  Some in Missouri, some in Illinois, and some in Tennessee, Alabama and New Mexico.  I miss ’em already!

I have two days off before I get to put my new skills to use.  And they’re expected to be the pick days of the week weather-wise.

Yesterday was sunny and 70 degrees.  I took advantage of the spring like day, and my spring cleaning mood, to clean up my house.  It actually didn’t look TOO bad considering I’ve been gone off and on for so long, but some areas needed attention.

I followed that up with a nice long car wash on the driveway.  After the rains of late, my car was in need of some attention as well.

Some quality shopping time with Mario, some quality lunch time with friends, some quality walk time with my hubby, and some quality reading time on the deck rounded out my weekend.

It’s been the perfect transition from leadership training to leadership-ing.  I can’t wait to go in tomorrow.

 

work

 
10 Comments

Posted by on March 16, 2015 in Everyday Living, The Hotel

 

10 responses to “Graduated

  1. territerri

    March 19, 2015 at 1:02 am

    Wow! That must have been some training if you’re missing your “classmates.” Your company really seems to know what they’re doing when it comes to preparing their employees for the job.

    Sounds like you had a great couple of days off, plenty of chances to recharge your batteries before you go conquer the world!

     
    • shadowrun300

      March 20, 2015 at 1:39 am

      My days off were fabulous! And my two days at work were pretty terrific too, although quite long. I was totally ready for a break today. Ten hours is a long shift. :/ But I loved it. I experienced a little bit of everything. They broke me in right! 🙂

       
  2. Rock Chef

    March 19, 2015 at 11:33 am

    Sounds like a great training course if it builds bonds like that. Could be good networking in the future?

     
    • shadowrun300

      March 20, 2015 at 1:40 am

      That’s what was so great about it! We got to know each other so well, along with the trainers and almost everyone in the corporate office. I have so many contacts out there, that it’ll be almost impossible to fail at my job! 🙂

       
  3. Abby

    March 21, 2015 at 10:52 pm

    Congraduation! Sounds like good training, but i can’t imagine what it would be like to leave my house to the menfolk for four weeks. And now you get to use your new skills for the reals!

     
    • shadowrun300

      March 22, 2015 at 2:20 am

      I’m impressed my house survived, though I know for a fact they all raced around like maniacs to “clean” it up as I was driving home. ‘Course I still needed to clean it, but I was proud of their effort.
      I think I’ve used every one of my new skills already, and I’ve been there four days! Breakin’ me in right!

       
  4. llcooljoe

    March 26, 2015 at 10:59 pm

    I’m glad the training course was so good and you made some new friends too, I hope you manage to keep in contact with them.

    I dread returning to our house in the UK when my eldest daughter has been here alone. I always pray she hasn’t left the door unlocked, or left her hair irons on.

     
    • shadowrun300

      March 27, 2015 at 2:31 am

      I hope we can continue to keep in touch as well. Tough when we all have busy lives.
      At least my hubby was home the whole time I was gone. We have left the older kids alone before, while on vacation, and I’m always nervous about that same kind of stuff. Luckily, they’ve never had any major problems… knock on wood.

       
  5. agg79

    April 14, 2015 at 10:02 am

    Congratulations! All that training and you are ready to jump in with both feet. Exciting times ahead. I know you will excel at your new digs. I’m sure the guys didn’t make too much of a mess at home. I find if you eat all your meals over the sink it is less to clean up.

     
    • shadowrun300

      April 15, 2015 at 1:51 am

      Whatever mess they made was somewhat cleaned up before I got home. It’s best I not know what it looked like.
      I need to teach my kids the “eat over the sink” method!

       

Leave a Reply

 
