RSS

Broke in

27 Mar

I’m loving my job, but boy is it cutting into my blog time!

I’m scheduled ten hours a day, and always in the tenth hour, something comes up that keeps me there another hour or two.  Add to that a two hour commute, and you can see now that I have a good excuse.

It’s been a great first week (and a half).  They’re breaking me in right.  Surprise site visit, chaotic happy hour, housekeeping drama, employee walk-off, a leaky roof, and a fire alarm going off were some of my experiences while flying solo.  My GM seems apologetic, but I’m happy to have it happening.  What better way to learn?  It all happens eventually, so best I figure out how to deal with it.

Besides being a bit EXHAUSTED, I’m loving it.  It’s exactly what I expected – maybe more.  The team has quickly accepted me, and already I feel like part of the family.

Probably my favorite day of the week, was when my old manager, M, came by to visit.  He was the one who spear-headed my promotion.  Without his initial phone calls to my new GM, exclaiming how awesome I am, I most likely would have been passed right over.  And when I received the offer, M was the first one to congratulate me.

I was devastated, when on my last day, M wasn’t working.  I had wanted to express my gratitude to him once again.  Worse, we’d had a little disagreement the day before on how we should run breakfast for a particular group.  And that’s how we’d parted ways.

I sent him a couple of long texts during my training days, and both of them went unanswered.  I found myself in tears, wondering if he was ignoring me.  I thought perhaps he was more upset than I realized over our minor disagreement.

On my first day in my new hotel, I sent him an email regarding hotel business.  I was thrilled when he answered with a personal touch.  He apologized for not reaching out to me sooner, and said he’d stop by soon.

That afternoon, he showed up in my office.  I have never been so relieved.  We hugged and tried to talk amongst the phones ringing, guests checking in, and employees needing help.  We finally gave in to the chaos and agreed to meet for lunch sometime in a quieter environment.

Before he left, he brought out a huge picture frame.  In it was a picture of me that he’d placed in front of a picture of my old hotel.  The matt around it was signed by most everyone there – letting me know they missed me, and wishing me the best.  Here, I thought he was mad at me, and instead, he was putting together a gift I will treasure forever.

IMG_1633[1]

My favorite was from the housekeeper who’d asked me to bake all those cakes for her daughter’s Quinceañera.  “Congrats ShadowRun! You need to come back to plaza.  I miss you.  I’m proud for you, but for real I miss you coffee cupcakes.”

Everybody had such nice things to say.  Even Salim, our favorite taxi driver, signed it.

I miss that hotel, and everyone there, more than they’ll know, but I am excited to go into work everyday at my new place.

Life is good.

 

 

 
5 Comments

Posted by on March 27, 2015 in The Hotel

 

5 responses to “Broke in

  1. Rock Chef

    March 27, 2015 at 11:20 am

    Good to hear you are enjoying the new challenges, it sounds totally consuming!
    Maybe, some time, you should drop a batch of cakes off at the old place…

     
  2. territerri

    March 27, 2015 at 11:40 am

    You’re the second blogger in a couple of days that I’ve seen mention the idea that difficult challenges are welcome opportunities to learn. I’m impressed! I feel like I’m just beginning to grasp that idea. Over the past few months, I’ve really become aware of this concept and am amazed at how just a simple change in perspective can be the difference between feeling beaten down and finding a sense of accomplishment. (Slow learner here! 🙂 )

    I’m so glad that you got to meet with M and that all is well. I know how hard it must have been to feel as if he would never forgive your argument. And what a thoughtful gift he gave you! Now if you’re ever feeling unappreciated, you just need to go read the messages in that picture frame!

    Did you really say ‘two hour commute?’ Every day???

     
  3. Abby

    March 28, 2015 at 12:20 am

    Well, they wouldn’t need you if there were no fires to put out, right? And what a thoughtful gift! I’ve a lump in my throat just thinking about it, and I don’t even know those people!

     
  4. agg79

    April 14, 2015 at 10:10 am

    A pretty awesome memento from your past job. Nice to know you are loved/missed. Starting a new job/gig is always stressful. Full of changes, challenges, new headaches. Hopefully, things will settle down soon and you can get into your rhythm.

    And two hour commute? I thought the new place was about the same drive as the old one.

     
    • shadowrun300

      April 15, 2015 at 1:58 am

      Did I really not reply to any of these comments? Shows just how busy I’ve been…
      I’m settling in to my new routine, but every day is about as unroutine as it gets. That’s what I love about my job.
      I was a little misleading about my commute. It’s 2 hours a day – one hour each way. So I’m away from home approximately 12-14 hours any time I work. L-o-o-o-n-g days.

       

Leave a Reply

 
