RSS

Easter Rebellion

10 Apr

I have a confession.  Easter has never been one of my favorite holidays.  NOT because of what it represents, but because the traditions weren’t all that fun for me.

Oh, I enjoyed helping the kids dye eggs, and I loved buying “spring” toys for the upcoming warm weather – sidewalk chalk, bubbles, water balloons, Frisbees….

But with four young kids, the day itself was stressful for me.  Get up early, hide all the eggs and candy.  Drag the kids out of bed so they could hurry up and find it all before having to clean them up for church.  Wrangle everyone into their good Easter clothes, and try to keep them away from the chocolates before heading to church.

Then began the chore of keeping them still for the extra long Easter mass, then standing outside in the wind, or the rain, or the cold, or a mix of the three, until the church Easter egg hunt began.

Inevitably one would win the prize, so we’d have to wait around some more to collect the “big winner” prize.

I know it sounds like I should have enjoyed it.  After all, they did.  I just couldn’t get into the traditions that Easter brings.

Which is what made this year so fun!

I worked my normal 10 hour shift, getting home around 6pm.  While I worked, my hubby and the kids grilled pork steaks, made baked potatoes, baked beans, and green beans, and baked cookies and a cake.

I came home to some pretty awesome smells, grabbed a plate and enjoyed a wonderful meal with my shrunken family.  (Oh, how I miss Link.)

After we’d stuffed ourselves, we all grabbed our phones and sat in front of the TV for a night of games, courtesy of jackbox.tv.  We played Drawful, Fibbage, Word Spud, and You Don’t Know Jack, laughing the entire night.  Such fun!  I have to say I enjoyed it quite a bit more than the Easter egg hunts.

So maybe not the traditional Easter celebration, but if it helps me appreciate the specialness of the day, then I’m all for it.

 
8 Comments

Posted by on April 10, 2015 in Family, Holidays

 

8 responses to “Easter Rebellion

  1. Abby

    April 11, 2015 at 2:44 am

    Glad you got some nice family time in for a more agreeable Easter despite missing Link. :(.
    I’ve never heard of jackbox.tv . Do l need another diversion?

     
    • shadowrun300

      April 12, 2015 at 12:44 am

      I’ll get you more detailed info if you’d like, but it cost a few bucks, and Chip downloaded it onto his Xbox?? Or something like that… It’s great for family game night! Drawful was my favorite – even though I suck at drawing. lol

       
  2. territerri

    April 11, 2015 at 12:29 pm

    In the end, it’s all about being thankful for the blessings in our lives and loving our loved ones. If tossing aside tradition and doing something completely different is what makes you feel it, then you’re doing something right!

    I have to say, I totally get how you felt about all of the traditions. I remember feeling that same stress on all of the major holidays. Sometimes it’s just so hard to live up to those kinds of expectations.

     
    • shadowrun300

      April 12, 2015 at 12:50 am

      Yes! And during those years, I was always so concerned about things being perfect, yet there was NO way they were going to be. So that stressed me out, and standing outside in the cold and rain and wind and seemingly every type of weather OTHER than warmth and sun didn’t help my stress.

      Today I’m the exact opposite. If I don’t want to, I don’t. And if things don’t turn out the way I’d planned, I change my plans. 🙂

       
  3. agg79

    April 14, 2015 at 10:19 am

    We never really got into all of the Easter hoopla/traditions. When junior was younger, we did do our fair share of egg hunts and over-the-top chocolate feasts. Usually accompanied but a huge lunch/dinner of way too much food. With junior off on his own, things are a wee bit calmer/simpler now, but we still had a big lunch at my brothers with his entire tribe. Some traditions are hard to let go.

     
    • shadowrun300

      April 15, 2015 at 2:03 am

      I don’t mind the big family lunches, but now that both in-laws are gone, we don’t get together anymore. They were the hub….
      But it’s nice to make new traditions with my kids. And I feel we all appreciate our time together – and have great fun as well.

       
  4. lotta joy

    April 20, 2015 at 7:58 pm

    Here’s a thought: MAKE YOUR OWN TRADITIONS instead of forcing yourself to obey the traditions of others. They might not like them either, but they’re too cowardly to admit it.

    I’m making my blog private and by invitation only. If you want access to it, send me your email and I’ll enter it.

     
    • shadowrun300

      April 21, 2015 at 10:26 pm

      As a young mom in a small community that thrived around these traditions, it never even occurred to me to NOT do what everyone else was doing. I just did it, and swallowed my complaints. Now that I’m older, I’m much more confident in following our own traditions. The last few years we’ve celebrated all of our holidays the way WE wanted to. And it’s been so fun!
      And I’m sending you an email now….

       

Leave a Reply

 
