RSS

Time out

22 Apr

Hubby and I took a much needed break this weekend, and drove down to Nashville, our favorite get-away destination.

I have to admit, it was difficult for me to take some time off.  I love my job, and enjoy spending hours on end there.  But it’s the type of job that can be all consuming if I don’t keep it in check.

The day before we left was the perfect example.  Two housekeepers called off on a day we had a complete hotel turn around – meaning almost everyone was checking out and a whole new set of guests were checking in.  All rooms needed to be cleaned, and we only had about four hours to do it in.

I arrived at work at 1:00 PM to find this out.  I immediately began stripping beds, dumping linens, and picking up trash in all the vacant rooms.  Exhausting work, and quite hot and sweaty in a suit… but I wasn’t about to complain.  My housekeepers went above and beyond to clean their own rooms as quickly as they could, and then stayed after to make up for the rooms the two sick housekeepers were supposed to do.   I was so proud to see them pitching in and doing what they needed to do in order to be able to check our guests in.

Unfortunately, it seemed every one of our guests arrived at the same time to check in.  As hard as we were working, we weren’t able to get the clean rooms in fast enough.  Luckily our guests were patient, and our front desk agents were patient, but deep down we were all exhausted and ready for the day to be over.

We finally finished the last room around 6:30pm, and I ran upstairs to schmooz with the guests for the last half hour of our happy hour.  It was jam packed!  The line to the bar was long, so I hopped back there to help our bartender get caught up.  He too was exhausted.  I helped him get the line down, and get restocked, and then headed out to the floor to chat with a few guests.  I needed to get an idea of how their experience was, praying our stresses weren’t impacting their stay at the hotel.

When I finally sat down at my desk, I was beat.  I wolfed down my lunch (it was 7:30 PM!), and then I forced myself to stand back up to check on my employees.  Before I left for the night, I helped a drunk guy to his room, and called the elevator guys to fix an elevator door that wouldn’t close.

Walking out the door at 11:00 that night, I knew I had earned my trip to Nashville.

And it was awesome.  For one, I got to catch up with the guy I sleep next to every night, and find out what he’s been up to.  We also toured the Carter House, where a huge Civil War battle occurred.  And after a fabulous meal at my favorite Greek restaurant, we headed to Bluebird Café.

It only holds about 100 people.

It only holds about 100 people.

We arrived early to ensure we got a seat.  We stood in line for over an hour getting to know the other songwriters in line, all excited about the possibility of playing on stage.

Half the line

Half the line

Waiting in line

Waiting in line

My rock star hubby was number 19.  I listened proudly as he played one of my favorite songs of his – The Chain.  And it was great fun listening to the songs of the others we got to know while standing in line.

So a pretty productive trip.  Checked another item off Hubby’s bucket list, and we spent some much needed quality time together.

Now I’m ready for the rat race that awaits me back at the office…

 

 
10 Comments

Posted by on April 22, 2015 in The Hotel, Vacation

 

10 responses to “Time out

  1. Abby

    April 22, 2015 at 8:06 pm

    Nice getaway with the RockStar! Sounds like good timing too. If you were closer, you know you could’ve rallied me in to help prep those rooms. I’ve got skillz AND proper documentation!

     
    • shadowrun300

      April 23, 2015 at 5:27 am

      I was totally thinking of you that day. At least we only had two housekeepers not show up. I don’t even want to think about none of them showing up. I’da flown you in myself!

       
  2. territerri

    April 23, 2015 at 1:54 am

    So glad that you had a chance to take a break. Your job sounds exhausting. I know you love it, but take care not to burn out!

     
    • shadowrun300

      April 23, 2015 at 5:30 am

      It’s exhausting sometimes, but it’s fun all the time. I do have to keep it in check though, and make sure I’m taking time off to be with my family. There are days I see them only for a minute or two!

       
  3. lottajoy

    April 23, 2015 at 3:28 am

    I swear that every time I leave a hotel, the room is cleaner than when I arrived. I wish you had more guests like me and Joe – of course the heavy smell of Lysol might make the housekeepers ill.

     
    • shadowrun300

      April 23, 2015 at 5:32 am

      Heck! I coulda used you that day too!
      Thankfully, the guests checking out that day weren’t too messy, but still. Cleaning a room takes time, and we had tons of room and little time. It worked though – thanks to everyone pitching in. I was so proud!

       
  4. agg79

    April 25, 2015 at 5:06 pm

    Man, with all you had to get done on that one day alone, you definitely earned that break time. I am sorta like Lottajoy – I try to keep the room as clean as when I arrived. I even remake the bed somewhat (not anywhere to your standards). Sounds and looks like the Nashville trip was a blast and just what you needed.

     
    • shadowrun300

      April 28, 2015 at 1:52 am

      Knowing what our housekeepers go through, I leave the hotel room pretty clean as well. And we certainly appreciate the guests that are conscientious too!
      Nashville was a great get-away. I’ve worked 6 consecutive days of 11-12 hour shifts since then and am SO ready for some more time off!

       
  5. Rock Chef

    April 27, 2015 at 3:54 pm

    All that going on in the back ground and I bet most of the guests just swanned in, booked in and headed for the bar!

    I haven’t played on stage in years – used to love it, the best part of being in a band, IMO! Glad you both had fun!

     
    • shadowrun300

      April 28, 2015 at 2:04 am

      My hope is that they didn’t see the craziness going on in the background. If so, we achieved success.
      My hubby still plays an occasional gig at the wineries, but he prefers to play alone. He’s done the bands before, but most times, not everyone was on the same page.
      He enjoyed being able to showcase one of his songs on a pretty popular stage while in Nashville. I was a wee bit proud. 🙂

       

Leave a Reply

 
