RSS

From Pandemonium to Peace

11 May

“That’s never going to happen to me.”

I said those words multiple times during my leadership training, anytime someone mentioned a catastrophe that had taken place at their hotel.

I was kidding of course.  Having worked at the busiest of our hotels, I KNEW what could happen.  But at the time, I wasn’t in charge.  So by saying those words, I was willing the catastrophes away…

Ha.

Turns out, I was beckoning them.

I was in charge when the elevators went down late one evening while guests were returning from a Cardinal’s game.

I was in charge when the key machine quit working, and we couldn’t give our guests access to their rooms.

I was in charge when the two housekeepers called off, and we had a whole hotel to turn around.

I was in charge when the guest from 592 had a heart attack and died later at the hospital.

And I was in charge when our newest employee picked a fight with just about everyone he came in contact with.  And I was the one who was going to have to let him go.  (Luckily, he quit first.)

One of my front desk employees asked me, “Why is it that whenever we work together, something crazy happens?  I’m a nice girl.  You’re a nice girl.  So why?”

I had to laugh ’cause it was true!  I told her, somebody up above wants me to learn how to handle any situation thrown at me.

She responded, “But I don’t want to learn ANYTHING.  I just want to check people in, then go home.”

Poor girl.  I’m sure she’s hoping to never work with me again.

But I meant what I said.  I don’t mind at all that I’ve been the one to have to handle these situations.  I’ve learned so much these past few months, and I’ve gained a huge amount of confidence in myself and my abilities.

That being said, I’m quite happy to have four days off in a row following nine consecutive days of “learning”.

I was able to be appropriately spoiled this Mother’s Day.  I had breakfast in bed courtesy of Chip.  The best fried eggs, toast, and coffee I think I’ve ever had.

Then it was out to lunch with the fam (minus one).  I enjoy these times – seeing the kids loosen up, listening to the banter back and forth.  Not to mention eating a fabulous meal followed by the. best. dessert. ever.

The day ended with a few games of pool with some good friends, and a night on the couch with more dessert.

I can’t imagine what I’m going to do with the next coupla days, but I’m hoping it includes more family time.  Most definitely, the best part of being a mom is my kids.  And it’s likely that once work starts back up again, it’ll be a while before we’re all together again.

Happy Mother’s Day to all of you moms!  Here’s hoping your day was as good as mine.

 

 
13 Comments

Posted by on May 11, 2015 in Blunders, Family, The Hotel

 

13 responses to “From Pandemonium to Peace

  1. agg79

    May 11, 2015 at 5:24 pm

    Happy Mother’s Day to you! You’ve earner that extra time off and a chance to relax raising that crew and playing house mom to the hotel and all of those needy guests. Hectic times for sure, but you gotta admit it ain’t boring. Keep smiling and keep your wits about you and remember, if it was easy, any trained monkey could do it.

     
    • shadowrun300

      May 12, 2015 at 1:49 am

      “Playing house mom to the hotel” – you got THAT right.
      What I love most about my job is I never know what the day will bring. Just when I think it’ll be a peaceful evening at work, something always comes up – at least on MY shift.
      I like knowing I can do something a trained monkey can’t.

       
  2. Sandi

    May 11, 2015 at 9:22 pm

    Lord, that does sound like a series of calamaties indeed !!!!

     
    • shadowrun300

      May 12, 2015 at 1:50 am

      I can only laugh at it all. It’s an ongoing joke with the other managers. THEIR shifts are quite “normal”. Mine? There’s always somethin’……

       
  3. llcooljoe

    May 11, 2015 at 9:33 pm

    We’ve already had Mother’s day here in the UK back in March. I’m glad you had a nice family day.

    How sad about the guest who had the heart attack and died. That must have been traumatic.

     
    • shadowrun300

      May 12, 2015 at 1:56 am

      He was still alive when he rode off in the ambulance, but the family came back a few hours later to let me know he didn’t make it. He and his wife were celebrating their anniversary, and many of the family members were staying in the hotel as well. Definitely a sad day.
      But Mother’s Day was great! My job definitely helps me appreciate my life outside of work along with quality family time.

       
  4. Abby

    May 12, 2015 at 3:21 am

    Sounds like they’re breakin’ you in good! Wow – heart attack guy. How sad.
    Your Mother’s Day sounds great, though. The kids really are the best part of being a mom. Happy day-after to you. Enjoy the rest of your break until you’re back at the front lines!

     
    • shadowrun300

      May 15, 2015 at 4:28 am

      It was a nice four days off, but by day four, I was ready to go back to work. I’ve been back for a few days now, and so far nothing crazy has happened! It’s kinda scary….. I hope nothing’s building up. Then again, there may not be anything left for me to “learn”.

       
  5. Rock Chef

    May 14, 2015 at 8:05 am

    It is a sign of a strong character that you hung in there with all that going on! A lot of others would have run screaming!

     
    • shadowrun300

      May 15, 2015 at 4:33 am

      I don’t know that I have a strong character, but I definitely thrive when things are chaotic. One of the things I love most about my job, is that I never know what the day will bring. Between the employees and the guests, there’s always something.

       
  6. lottajoy

    May 16, 2015 at 9:56 pm

    Okay. I want to know what you did with the rest of your time off, and when you went back to work did the pool explode?

     
    • shadowrun300

      May 17, 2015 at 2:27 am

      Oh my gosh. Don’t wish that on me. With my luck, it would happen.
      I didn’t do much else with my time off, which is a rarity. I did have a “kid” event to go to one night – National Honor Society up at the school. That was enough for me.

       
      • lottajoy

        May 17, 2015 at 12:54 pm

        Not wishing bad luck, just imagining the possibilities.lol

         

Leave a Reply

 
