RSS

We’re THIS close

22 May

This week marked the end of quite a few chapters.

The first being the sale of my Shadow.  I came to terms with idea of not riding anymore at the end of last summer, but a little part of me never really believed it would happen.  We placed the ads a few months ago, and got no response.  I went from not wanting it to sell to thinking, Sheesh!  What if this thing never sells?

But mine did.  To a guy who was kind enough not to shoot us when he came to get it.  (Did you hear about that? The kid was from our home town.) I was sad to see it go, but the memories will remain forever.  What a rush it was to ride.  Exhilarating.

Me and My  Shadow

The other chapter to close, is Amp’s high school years.

Hallelujah!

It has been a LONG 13 years, but he has managed to pass his classes and will be walking up to get his diploma this Friday.  In true Amp fashion, he texted me on his last day of school.  “Turns out all my school books are missing.”

I breathed a heavy sigh and typed back, “How does that happen?”

“Dunno.  Thought they were at home in my bag, but I checked last night and they aren’t there.  Thought they might be in my locker, but seems someone threw all my stuff out of my locker and took it for themselves.”

Another heavy sigh.

“I would think hard about where you had them last.  Then check your car, your room, talk to your friends, etc.”

“Right… well… I haven’t used any of them all semester.”

Friday can NOT get here fast enough.  I won’t believe he actually made it through until the diploma is in his hands.

The week leading up to graduation was almost as torturous to him as school itself.  Mandatory senior mass, mandatory senior breakfast, mandatory senior banquet.  The only thing he really looked forward to was the breakfast honoring the 8 students who received the Illinois State Scholar award.  He and his good buddy were 2 of the 8, and neither of them earned it because of their GPA.  So they got a kick out of going to the banquet with all the “smart” kids.  Secretly, I got a kick out of it too.  I’ve always known he was smart.

I’m thrilled this chapter is ending.  I’m proud of Amp for sticking it through, and for giving it a good effort until the end. And I’m incredibly proud of my hubby for staying by his side.  Not an easy job.  For. Sure.

But they did it.  They made it through.  And Friday will be one celebratory night.

I'm free!

 
10 Comments

Posted by on May 22, 2015 in Family, My Shadow

 

10 responses to “We’re THIS close

  1. territerri

    May 23, 2015 at 1:02 pm

    Oh, that Amp! I’ve got a little soft spot in my heart for your boy. He so reminds me of my Jake. Your feelings at this point in his high school career remind me so much of mine when Jake was nearing graduation. He’s blossomed in the time since high school, and I know Amp will too. He’ll be free now to be who he is and learn the way he likes to learn, not the way the educational system says he has to learn. Congratulations, Amp!

    (Oh, and – I’m sorry and congratulations – on selling your Shadow!)

     
    • shadowrun300

      May 25, 2015 at 4:27 am

      I feel the same way about your Jake, and I sincerely hope Amp will be just as happy and content as Jake is now. I have a good feeling about it, since he’s a great kid. Somehow he’ll find a place he can fit in.
      I’m happy and sad about my Shadow. With 8000 used bikes on the market, (maybe a slight exaggeration) I feel pretty lucky mine sold. Luckily I didn’t have to be there to watch the guy ride off into the sunset with it. (Literally)

       
  2. agg79

    May 23, 2015 at 1:03 pm

    Kind of a happy/sad time. One one hand it is sad to bid goodbye to your Shadow. Lots of good times/memories on the open road. (Does that mean you’ll be changing your handle to “Run300” now?). What about your hubby’s ride? Is he selling his as well?

    On the other hand it is exciting to have Amp reach this this milestone. A long time coming. Congratulations to Amp on making it across the finish line. Congrats as well to his support group (aka parents) for supporting him along the journey. Definitely a time to celebrate!

     
    • shadowrun300

      May 25, 2015 at 4:31 am

      Funny, I’ve been thinking of my handle too. I don’t ride or bowl any more, so technically I’m just “Run”. And when I’m too old for that? Well, I guess it means I have to wrap things up here.
      Or not.
      I got my hubby a “congratulations” card for all his hard work with Amp. He deserves just as much credit as the graduate. 🙂

       
  3. Abby

    May 23, 2015 at 9:18 pm

    I’ve had good results from Craigslist, but you can’t be too careful – some grisly stories out there! Glad the sale of your Shadow was not “shady”, although I’m sure it was hard to let go. Maybe you’ll see her on the road?

    Congratulations to Amp! He must be relieved to have that chapter behind him. The future’s bright! Chaco was not a particular fan of high school, and he’s been a happy guy ever since graduation.

     
    • shadowrun300

      May 25, 2015 at 4:34 am

      When we first put the ad in, I warned my hubby about the dangers of inviting them to our house, or going out to meet potential buyers somewhere. He blew me off, but then a few weeks later, this kid from our hometown is killed while trying to sell his car. Suddenly I didn’t seem such a fool for suggesting caution.
      But obviously not everyone is bad. It’s just a shame there’s a few bad eggs…

       
  4. llcooljoe

    May 24, 2015 at 6:19 pm

    I remember the sad moment when I got rid of my bike. I read all about the bikers killing one another. Do you remember that story I told about being in the States and taking my younger daughter, by mistake, to a bar/restaurant, and it turned out to be like a hillbilly version of Hooters, called “Twin Peaks”? Well apparently the massive shoot out between the biker gangs was in a Twin Peaks too!

     
    • shadowrun300

      May 25, 2015 at 4:36 am

      I do remember that story. Biker gangs scare me a bit. I preferred riding alone or with my hubby. Occasionally we’d go out with another couple, but things change when a group of people are riding together. And not always for the good.

       
  5. Rock Chef

    May 27, 2015 at 10:39 am

    Sad to hear that Shadow has gone. Will you remain ShadowRun? Maybe you need to start playing a game that I have been playing recently:

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Shadowrun

    The end of school comes as a real relief to some. My sons sailed/are sailing through, but our daughter was glad to see the end of it. She is much more practical than the boys and is now doing great at work. Everyone has their place.

     
    • shadowrun300

      June 13, 2015 at 3:21 am

      I had no idea there was a game with my name! I look nothing like her…..
      Funny, it’s my daughter who loves school, and my boys who couldn’t wait to see the end of it.

       

Leave a Reply

 
