RSS

Let the Summer Begin!

02 Jun

It’s official.  The diploma is in hand, and the tassel has been turned.

I settled in and awaited the long a$$ ceremony I’ve come to expect.  I was pleasantly surprised, however, when the Bishop stopped his speech after only 20 minutes!  Oh, it was still unmotivating and depressing, but it was 15 minutes shorter than Link’s and Chip’s!

When awards time came, I held my breath as they announced the students who’ve earned the perfect attendance award.  Not only has Amp had perfect attendance this year, he has had perfect attendance for the four years he was in high school AND the eight years he was in grade school. That is thirteen years of never missing a day of school!   Impressive for someone who was a square peg in a round hole.  Hubby and I brought it to the administration’s attention before the big day, but I wasn’t sure they would say anything.  When it was announced, the crowd mumbled for a while and then cheered and clapped. I’m sure it was embarrassing for him, but it was well earned, and I am incredibly proud.  Deep down, he is too.

Now the long summer awaits.  Mario hopes to work at the same ice cream shop the boys have all worked.  Amp hopes to quit working there and find a job a little less fast paced.  Chip’s rackin’ up the hours and the money, to help cover the cost of the tech school he and Amp will be attending this fall.  Hopes are high for a productive summer.  I’m not holding my breath.

I, on the other hand, expect a very busy summer.  I’m still lovin’ my job, thank goodness, ’cause the days are long.  But I’m finding I’m able to take full advantage of my days off.  I love knowing I’ve earned the chance to relax and have fun.  Since Hubby works from home, he’ll often take the afternoon off, and we’ll either go to lunch, or to a nearby tavern to practice our billiard skills.  I used to play long ago, and it’s been great fun to pick it up again.  We have a teacher friend that likes to play too.  So throughout the week, you’ll find us at the bar, downing Dr. Peppers, and shootin’ away.

We have a few other plans for the summer, and then I’ll have to prep myself for the loss of the rest of my boys.  They’ll be attending a college in Missouri this fall.  *Sigh*  I can’t think about that right now.

Right now, I’ll think about the Cardinal game coming up on Wednesday, and the Florida trip coming up next week!  Good times ahead!

 

 
15 Comments

Posted by on June 2, 2015 in Family, Parenting

 

15 responses to “Let the Summer Begin!

  1. territerri

    June 3, 2015 at 12:40 am

    Congrats to Amp on finally reaching the big day and being free to move on into the real world. I was a good student, but hated high school, so I think I felt much the same as he must have. Now is his time to really spread his wings!

    And never missing a day of school? Impressive! I know my Jake did everything he could to look as sick as possible on way too many occasions when he didn’t want to go to school.

    Sounds like you’ve found a good balance with the new job and your free time. Nice that your hubby is coordinating some fun time with you!

     
    • shadowrun300

      June 5, 2015 at 4:22 am

      I hope Amp’s next steps are what he’s hoping for. We’ve all got our fingers crossed that the tech school will be a good fit. But as much as he disliked being in school, he disliked not being there even more. Even on his sickest days, he would suffer through. It got to the point where we wouldn’t dare suggest he stay home.
      As for me, I’m lovin’ life. It helps that my hubby takes care of many of the home responsibilities, so on my days off, I don’t feel like I have to do laundry, dishes, etc. I’ll clean a bathroom here or there, but other than that, we’re looking for something fun to do.

       
  2. Abby

    June 6, 2015 at 5:04 pm

    Congratulations once again to Amp! Nice to have THAT out of the way, eh? Perfect attendance, no less! Ugh – those unmotivating and depressing graduation speeches. Who even listens?

    And your summer sounds like it’s looking bright, with some fun downtime from work. Ah… Florida…

     
    • shadowrun300

      June 10, 2015 at 3:53 am

      No one is more thrilled than Amp that THAT’s over with. I hope this tech school is everything he’s hoping it will be.
      I need Florida. Bad. I love my job, but there really can be too much of a good thing.

       
  3. llcooljoe

    June 9, 2015 at 8:47 am

    Congratulations to Amp! And a sigh of relief from you too! My younger daughter finishes school on Thursday, and I have no idea what the future holds for her. I’m worried sick really.

     
    • shadowrun300

      June 10, 2015 at 3:58 am

      We’re worried too. It seems so many kids this age graduate high school and have no idea what path to take. Heck, I didn’t know at that age either. I changed my major halfway through college. And now I do something completely different. Amp’s attending a school that we think he’ll like, but until he graduates and gets a job, we’re going to worry.

       
  4. Rock Chef

    June 10, 2015 at 4:26 pm

    Not a missed day in 13 years???? How? Our youngest tries to have perfect attendance, but something always gets in the way, orthodontist or just plain feeling sick and not wanting to give it to the rest of his class!

     
    • shadowrun300

      June 12, 2015 at 5:34 am

      Luckily (?) Amp was only sick during Christmas vacation. (Every year, so it seemed) And he never had braces.

      And the longer he went without an absence, the more determined he was to make the 13 year milestone. Like I mentioned, not bad for a square peg in a round hole.

       
  5. lottajoy

    June 18, 2015 at 7:06 pm

    You could MOVE to our area in Florida. Hell, I’ll drive the streets and find a house for you. I’ll even buy you a welcome home box of candy, a potted plant, and a case of your preferred liquor. You’ll need it.

     
    • shadowrun300

      June 19, 2015 at 1:10 am

      I looked up your area while we were down there. A little too far from my dad’s house to pop in for a visit.
      Every time we go down to Florida, we look up a new area to determine living potential. So far, we’re still liking the southwest coast. We haven’t scouted out all of Florida, however……. I’ll be sure to keep you in the loop should we need a house scouter. And yes, from what I know about your area, we’ll need the liquor.

       
      • lottajoy

        June 19, 2015 at 3:40 am

        Honestly, you need to keep a list of things in mind. We live exactly 1 1/2 hours away from Tampa and Orlando for a reason. We can go there IF we want to, and not have the constant tourist crowds.
        Visit the area you prefer DURING spring break, or winter when the snowbirds hit. Then you will know why we’re rural. And keep hurricanes in mind. Plus crime rates. It’s been said “northern Florida is full of rednecks and Mexicans, mid Florida is inhabited by half of Boston during winter, and southern Florida is Cuban gangs versus black gangs.

         
  6. lottajoy

    June 19, 2015 at 3:44 am

    I’ve got it. OCALA! Good food. Great hospital. Tons of malls (and Hobby Lobby) And we are an hour away. Make dad move. Lol

     
    • shadowrun300

      June 20, 2015 at 4:13 am

      I love good food AND Hobby Lobby. But I also love the beach. Whatcha got down there that has all that plus the surf?

       
  7. agg79

    August 1, 2015 at 7:19 pm

    Belated congrats to Amp. Long time in coming and well deserved.m And, again, kudos to his support team (aka mom & dad). I’m sure that perfect attendance wasn’t all just his doing.

     
    • shadowrun300

      August 2, 2015 at 1:16 am

      Thanks Agg. We always made sure they didn’t “play” sick by not making it very much fun for them to stay home. After a while, he made it his mission to not miss any days. And he succeeded!

       

Leave a Reply

 
