RSS

Fun in the sun

19 Jun

Holy smokes. These past couple of weeks have been a whirlwind. I can’t remember the last time I actually knew what day it was. Even today, I have to really think about it. All I know, is I’m off.

In fact, I’ve been off 5 days now, but only now do I actually feel like I can relax. Between running Mario back and forth to St. Louis for a concert, and cleaning the house, and packing for Florida it’s been kinda crazy.

But now I’m relaxed.  My dad bravely volunteered to put us all up for a few nights, in his cozy Florida home.  The kids, minus one, have taken over the living room – dormitory style.  Empty soda cans, crumpled bags of chips, dirty socks, and open suitcases all line the floor with a single path leading to each of the couches beds.

But we’re diggin’ it.  It’s warm.  There’s no rain.  I get lunch by the ocean and frozen yogurt each night.  What’s not to love!

We’ve been to the beach.  (Got sunburned like the good tourists we are.)  IMG_1729

IMG_1734

We’ve been to the pool.

Mario pool

Hubby pool

And we’ve been SUPn on the intracoastal.

SUPn

Reality will return soon, but until it does, I’m enjoyin’ the kids and my hubby and the sun.  Maybe a bit too much.

 

 

 
14 Comments

Posted by on June 19, 2015 in Family, Vacation

 

14 responses to “Fun in the sun

  1. Sandi

    June 19, 2015 at 1:52 am

    haha, the pool photos are hilarious!

     
    • shadowrun300

      June 19, 2015 at 1:55 am

      They had such fun! I was the photographer and had a ton of trouble getting it just right. But after many takes, they came out pretty well!

       
  2. Rock Chef

    June 19, 2015 at 12:57 pm

    Sounds perfect! Enjoy the sun, I am not sure it can be relied on in the north these days!

     
    • shadowrun300

      June 20, 2015 at 4:16 am

      Like many other areas, it has been raining non-stop in our home town, and flooding is becoming a problem. So yes, I am literally soaking in as much sun as I can.

       
  3. gabbylou

    June 19, 2015 at 8:11 pm

    Sounds like a perfect break – enjoy your family & soak up some sun for me! 😉

     
    • shadowrun300

      June 20, 2015 at 4:19 am

      My dad is praying for rain. His grass is parched. And as soon as I leave Florida, I’ll start praying he gets rain too. I got a lot of sun-soakin’ to do first.

       
  4. territerri

    June 20, 2015 at 1:36 pm

    Oh, that looks like SO much fun! I LOVE Florida. But of course, we think it’s fun because when we’re there, we’re on vacation. I guess if we lived there, like anywhere, we wouldn’t have that vacation feeling all the time, would we?

    So glad you got a chance to unwind with your family.

     
    • shadowrun300

      June 24, 2015 at 1:30 am

      Yes. We have to ask ourselves if we’re enjoying it because we’re on vacation, or are we enjoying it because it’s Florida. Guess we better figure that out before we move down there. 🙂

       
  5. lottajoy

    June 20, 2015 at 6:01 pm

    Ahhhhh, I can see it now. You’ll be leaving with sad faces, and your dad will try to hide his smile. “potato chip crumbs and empty soda cans” can do that to an old person. HINT: The Florida sun is unlike the sun up north. Fifteen minutes can burn you, so you can tan in a week if you limit it to JUST a quarter of an hour. My first year down here, I looked like one of the Supremes. If not for a lousy healthcare system in our area, I wouldn’t trade Florida for anywhere in the US.

     
    • shadowrun300

      June 24, 2015 at 1:33 am

      Your Florida sun is definitely HOT. And not a match for my fair skinned daughter, even with gobs of sunscreen on.
      My dad says he misses us now that we’re gone. I wanna believe him….

       
  6. Abby

    June 20, 2015 at 6:57 pm

    That’s what a vacation’s supposed to be! I’ve *hinted* about visiting Florida, but we’ve yet to make it there. Thanks for letting me live vicariously through you!

     
    • shadowrun300

      June 24, 2015 at 1:40 am

      You’ve never been to Florida? It’s completely different from Colorado, but just as beautiful in its own way. Try it sometime. 😉

       
  7. agg79

    August 1, 2015 at 7:21 pm

    Great looking vacation time. You guys have earned a little time in the sun.

     
    • shadowrun300

      August 2, 2015 at 1:18 am

      It was fun! Seems SO long ago. I’m ready for another….

       

Leave a Reply

 
