RSS

Return to normal

24 Jun

Not even sure how this can be, but Chip turned 21 today.

We celebrated by tying up loose ends at the college he’ll be attending this fall, then dropping my Hubby off at the airport for his week long business trip to Utah.

There was some fun, though.  We ate lunch at a great BBQ joint, and he ordered his first <legal> beer.   I have a feeling he’ll like liquor a little better.  Hoo boy….

As great of parents as he’s got, I think he’ll have more fun tomorrow when he goes out with his friends.  As it should be I suppose.

In other news, we’ve settled back into our daily routines after slummin’ it in Florida for a week.  My dad’s house seems much larger and much quieter, I’m sure.  I miss my daily lunches near the water, but at least I still have the hot, humid early morning runs.  Sheesh!  There’s some moisture here in Illinois.

I enjoyed my vacation, but believe it or not, I looked forward to going back to work.  I’m coming up on my 3 month anniversary as a manager.  I’m loving it as much today as I did my first day.  Maybe even more so.  My current general manager is so great to work for.  He’s a regional manager in training and he talks me up to the big guys all the time.  Quite different from being beat down constantly by my formal general manager.

And I’m enjoying the perks of being a salaried employee.  No longer do I have to worry about losing pay if I take a day off.  It’s true I’m working 50+ hours a week, but to say, “You know, I think I’ll go to a game on Wednesday” is a luxury I haven’t had before.

  Fredbird

 

IMG_1706

We were the first ones there.

 

I gotta say, managing a hotel is pretty darn fun.

 

 
 

10 responses to “Return to normal

  1. Abby

    June 24, 2015 at 11:36 pm

    Well Happy Birthday to Chip! Chaco went to L.A. for his 21st. The first beer he bought was an overpriced one at the airport… because he could. Now, he brings beer over sometimes when he comes to the house because he has preferences. Not sure if that’s a good thing…?
    And three months at the new job already? Isn’t it nice having a job you love without having a tyrant for a boss? Hope you had fun at the game!

     
    • shadowrun300

      June 25, 2015 at 1:28 am

      I remember Chaco’s trip! Chip just had a few friends over last night and stocked the fridge with beer. There was still some left this morning. Thankfully.
      I didn’t realize how much a tyrant my old GM really was until I left. I think she’s gotten worse!
      And the game was a blast. We’re already planning another. It helps that the Cards are doing so well. They’re fun to watch.

       
  2. lottajoy

    June 29, 2015 at 2:54 am

    I just left a comment and it disappeared. Anyway, congratulations on being salaried. I said a lot more, but my computer crashed before I could hit “post comment”.

     
    • shadowrun300

      July 1, 2015 at 1:34 am

      You have such rotten luck with comments. :/
      Thanks for giving it a second shot. 🙂

       
  3. Rock Chef

    June 30, 2015 at 2:31 pm

    Good to hear that you are settling into the new way of things at work. Yeah, go to the ball game, why not?!

    Our elder boy turned 21 recently – amazing isn’t it? I look at how young he is and then I realise that I was that age when I started dating Mrs RC! I guess 21 seems grown up when it is you but not when it is your kids! 🙂

     
    • shadowrun300

      July 1, 2015 at 1:36 am

      I feel the same way! When I was Link’s age (22) I was pregnant with him, and yet I see him as being so young.
      I also think back to when my parents were my age, and I thought they were old. Now I realize they weren’t. lol

       
  4. territerri

    July 2, 2015 at 12:52 am

    Your kids are growing up! I know it seems like it’s all happening so fast.

    You know it’s a good sign when you look forward to going back to work. I’m so happy for you that you’re doing something fulfilling and you have higher-ups who support you and encourage you to grow and advance!

     
    • shadowrun300

      July 3, 2015 at 1:25 am

      I’m in a really good place right now. It’s a great feeling. 🙂

       
  5. agg79

    August 1, 2015 at 7:25 pm

    Happy belated birthday to Chip. He’s all growed up now and street legal.

    Nice that you are loving the job. Life can be miserable when you are not truly happy at what you do. And being salaried is a blessing and a curse. Sure, you don’t have to sweat the off days, but then again, you also don’t get paid any more when you work extra hours. And the headaches are different. But, as we say down here in the trenches: “That’s what you get paid the big for”.

     
    • shadowrun300

      August 2, 2015 at 1:20 am

      Yeah, my headaches are bigger, but I’ll still take salary over hourly. Big bucks? Hardly. But still, it’s a fun gig.

       

Leave a Reply

 
