RSS

On my own

01 Jul

So…  I got a little bit going on these days.

My hubby left for Utah 8 days ago and left me with the kids.  And the house.  And the laundry.

I’ve had to make my own coffee, and clean up my own dishes.

And all the while I’ve been working 11 hour days in a sold out, crazy busy hotel.

Gotta give him credit, though, for helping out long distance.  When Mario blew a tire while I was working 60 miles away, she called him.  He helped her change the tire, and she went on her way 5 feet before the spare blew.  So he worked with her to contact Amp since she was perilously low on phone battery life, and finally managed to get her home safely.

Luckily, the tire blew right near an auto body shop.  This is where I was able to assist.  I called the shop, arranged for them to put on a new tire, and gave ’em my credit card.  Then I went in to work.

Today’s the day my hubby comes home, and I happen to be on a three day well deserved “weekend”.  I’ve spent the day cleaning and doing laundry and directing the kids to mow the lawns so that we can spend the next few days having fun.  IF he gets home that is.  His flight was scheduled in at midnight, but with severe weather in Utah, he’s been delayed.  Fingers crossed it doesn’t cause him to miss his connecting flight in Denver.  *sigh*  He’s never gonna get here.

In other, not so surprising news, I fell again while running.  I cut across a patch of grass which happened to be, unbeknownst to me, very muddy right along the sidewalk.  As I was making the turn, my right foot slipped in the mud and down I went.

So once again, I’m scraped up and a bit sore.  And wondering when my next fall will occur.

But it doesn’t hurt as bad as just finding out my hubby missed his connecting flight. He doesn’t even know yet.  I “watched” it leave on the website.

*SIGH*

Guess I gotta make it one more day without him.

Not to mention, make my own coffee again in the morning.

 

 

 

 

 

 
9 Comments

Posted by on July 1, 2015 in Uncategorized

 

9 responses to “On my own

  1. Rock Chef

    July 1, 2015 at 8:01 am

    Aw, hope hubby gets home soon to make coffee and massage the bruises!

     
    • shadowrun300

      July 3, 2015 at 12:52 am

      He finally made it home! But after the night he had, I let him sleep in… and I made coffee.
      He DID, however, do laundry today. Fair trade, I’d say. 🙂

       
  2. territerri

    July 2, 2015 at 1:04 am

    That’s the kind of situation that makes you really appreciate the technology we have today. So glad that Mario was able to get home safely.

    8 + days without your hubby is a long time! I’ll bet he’ll be just as glad to get home as you will be to have him back.

    Oh, and I have just one word for your coffee issues: Keurig! Couldn’t live without mine.

     
    • shadowrun300

      July 3, 2015 at 12:58 am

      I was so proud of Mario for changing the tire, even if the spare was a dud. Hubby did a good job of taking her through it, but thankfully, he’d shown her a while back how to change one. Back in our day, there’d be no calling dad for help. How’d we ever do it?
      A Keurig machine is a great idea! So easy to use. But as long as my hubby stays around, I’ll be fine. 🙂

       
  3. Abby

    July 3, 2015 at 3:48 pm

    Changing a tire on one’s own is a major milestone – Go Mario (even if just for 5 feet…)
    Glad your hubby made it home if not via the best schedule. (Heck, I was “stranded” in Utah for 4 years!) Playtime now, right??
    Except for the mud landing! Wolfgang did a similar thing in Mouse Town recently, I think it was a mouse booby trap. Maybe your mishap was something similar – not your fault at all!

     
  4. shadowrun300

    July 4, 2015 at 1:39 am

    Ya know? I’m not sure I’ve ever changed a tire on my own, so yeah!, it’s impressive!
    Hubby came home with quite some stories about Utah – and he was only there 8 days! I can’t imagine being stranded there for 4 years! 🙂
    Isn’t it funny, we ran 3 miles through mud and didn’t fall down once, but this one little swatch took me down faster than I could blink. I’m happy to blame the mice.

     
  5. agg79

    August 1, 2015 at 7:33 pm

    Yea, I had some of them weather delays last month while up north. That’s one reason I prefer to take direct flights when possible. And the advent of the flight tracking systems does make it easier to figure out if you are going to get where you need to be on time (or at all).

    Flat tires – i joined AAA many moons ago just for that exact reason. When junior went off to college, he blew a tire out coming home one night somewhere west of Sealy (halfway between here and Austin). He was able to get AAA out to help repair the whole deal and get back on teh road without too much turmoil. A few $$ for some peace of mind.

    Another running boo-boo? I thought you and Abby were experienced mud runners. Hope it doesn’t slow you up too much. Then again, that which does not kill us….

     
    • shadowrun300

      August 2, 2015 at 1:25 am

      I thought I had mud running down pat too. Not so much. Perhaps I should get more practice.
      Hubby wanted to save money on his flight, so booked one of those late night flights with a layover. Didn’t work out in his favor. 🙂
      We’ve never had AAA, but I know it’s got some great benefits. I should look into it….

       
      • agg79

        August 2, 2015 at 12:20 pm

        Yea, sometimes those cheaper flights can cost you more in the end. I look at the total travel time as a trade off. I’m not too fond of spending 5-6 hours sitting in an airport. If I gotta get a connecting flight, I try to get a layover in a place I wouldn’t mind getting stuck in (like Honolulu or Paris).
        Check out the AAA deals. $170 per year covers the family AND trailer for things like flat tires, dead batteries, out of gas, towing, etc. It works for you regardless of what vehicle you drive (aka rentals) but I ain’t sure about motorcycles, tho.

         

Leave a Reply

 
