RSS

The Universe Happens

13 Jul

We watched Forrest Gump as a family the other day.  I’d forgotten what a great movie it is.  Turns out, the following day was the 20th anniversary of its release.  Seriously?  Where does 20 years go?

It’s amazing to me how many great quotes came from that movie.  “Life is like a box of chocolates…”,  “Stupid is as stupid does”,  “Run Forrest!  Run!”.  “Me and Jenny goes together like peas and carrots.”

Anyway, I thought of the movie again when Mario made cupcakes for her theater cast party.  She made the cakes herself, including the icing.  I was at lunch with friends when she called to tell me the icing was too thick.  She worked to thin it out enough to pipe it on the cupcakes.  Then she used melted chocolate to make Chinese symbols.  And when they were done, they looked pretty good.

IMG_1774[1]

About 9:30 pm I receive a text.  “The cupcakes died.”

IMG_1773[1]

I was so sad for her.  “What happened?” I replied.

“The Universe”, was her response.  Better than “Sh*t” I suppose.  I encouraged her to shrug her shoulders and try to have a good time anyway.

Today I helped her make more cupcakes for a friend of hers.  This time we used one of my recipes, so I knew the butter to sugar ratio would be right.  Since she was in a hurry, I iced the cupcakes while she prepped <whatever that character is> for the topping.  Between the heat of the day, the lack of real A/C in the car, and the still-a-bit-warm cupcakes, the icing and toppings were melted by the time she got there.

IMG_1772[1]

The universe was at work again.

I couldn’t help but laugh.  I hope she was able to laugh too. Sometimes the universe DOES happen, and all you can do is roll with it.

And that’s all I have to say about that.

 
11 Comments

Posted by on July 13, 2015 in Family, Parenting, Uncategorized

 

11 responses to “The Universe Happens

  1. Rock Chef

    July 13, 2015 at 11:00 am

    Run, icing, run!

    Poor Mario, I can imagine lots of stomping around – my daughter would not have been amused buy the universe happening to her cakes!

     
    • shadowrun300

      July 14, 2015 at 1:37 am

      It’s tough when you spend so much time and effort on something and then the universe happens. I’ve been there myself.
      The universe is continuing today. She dropped her cell phone and the screen shattered. I think she’d rather have had more melted cupcakes…..

       
      • Rock Chef

        July 14, 2015 at 10:09 am

        Now that is just plain unfair! I will tell the Universe to leave her alone for a while!

         
  2. Abby

    July 13, 2015 at 2:35 pm

    Good for Mario for just accepting the universe! And looks like she’s following nicely in your cupcake footsteps 🙂

     
    • shadowrun300

      July 14, 2015 at 1:38 am

      She’s having fun with it! And she shrugs off imperfection much better than I do.
      I clean up better than she does though…..

       
  3. gabbylou

    July 15, 2015 at 6:23 am

    Oh no!! Dang heat wave. Love both cupcake ideas – too cute!! More cupcakes for you guys I guess. 😉 Pies are great for the summer & DON’T MELT!!!

     
    • shadowrun300

      July 16, 2015 at 4:41 am

      I’ve never been good at pies. At least not the pie crusts. So while I love to eat a good pie, I rarely make ’em. Of course they couldn’t turn out much worse than these cupcakes did. 🙂

       
  4. territerri

    July 18, 2015 at 1:44 pm

    Awww! Such a bummer that the cupcakes didn’t cooperate. But I know for a fact that no matter what they looked like … they probably tasted amazing!

     
    • shadowrun300

      July 19, 2015 at 5:36 am

      It didn’t take long for them to disappear. 🙂

       
  5. agg79

    August 1, 2015 at 7:37 pm

    Another budding baker in the family? They say the nut doesn’t fall very far from the tree…
    Still, good try. And nice recovery. Good to hear she did not get discouraged over the Universe.

    We have been watching Back to the Future down here – 30th anniversary since that came out. I’m starting to feel old.

     
    • shadowrun300

      August 2, 2015 at 1:28 am

      Back to the Future! We haven’t seen that one as a family yet. How could I have forgotten that classic?
      Mario does a pretty good job of rolling with whatever happens. But even still, I know she was disappointed that she couldn’t show off her hard work to her friends and cast mates.

       

Leave a Reply

 
