RSS

The Greenhouse Effect

24 Jul

When one bridge opens….

another bridge closes.

*sigh*

I think I’ve figured out why they spent so much time and money on the new bridge crossing the Mississippi.  Because the old bridges are constantly needing work.  I have yet to experience all three bridges open to traffic at the same time.

Not that I have reason to complain.  With my odd hotel hours, I rarely hit traffic.  But sometimes I forget the bridge is closed til I get there.  And then I have to take a round-a-bout way to get to the other bridge.  And the next day, I forget again.  And the next day…  well, you get the picture.

Anyway….  It’s been a hot one around here lately.  Temps reaching into the upper 90s with heat indexes well over 100.  Not atypical for this time of year, so when the AC began acting up at the hotel, I knew we were in trouble.

We have a beautiful atrium on our upper floor, with skylights making up most of the roof line.  The atrium is where we serve our breakfast and dinner.  It’s also where our heated pool and kitchen are.

Get where I’m going with this?

Throughout the day, the sun beats into the atrium, warms up the pool, and soon, we all feel like we’re in a greenhouse.  Add to that two of the AC units not working, and we got some HOT guests and employees.

The warm hotel, also seemed to make the rooms warmer.  So their individual AC units were trying desperately to keep up.

‘Course this happens on the hottest weekend of the year.  With a hotel full of multi-night guests.  And with both other managers on vacation.

Our maintenance team worked non-stop.  One on the roof fixing the main units, and one going with me into over 20 rooms trying to keep our aggravated guests cool.

I kept my smile on… and brought fans and water and even ice cream to them.  I explained their units are working fine, and it won’t be TOO much longer before the room feels cooler.  Then I comped their night and went on to the next room.

Day two wasn’t much better.  The rooms were cooling but the atrium was still hot.  I tended bar with sweat dripping down my back, and a big smile on my face.  Our guests noticed the warmth, but didn’t really complain.  In fact, just like the night before, they hung out for hours past our “dinner”, talking and laughing and having a good time.

By day three, we had all the main units working, and the atrium was incredibly cooler.  The guests that had been with us all weekend were experiencing the cool the day before they were set to check out.

That night, I heard over and over again what a great hotel experience they’d had.  Compliments were being thrown at me left and right.  I was SO relieved that this big group was leaving on a high note.  It could have been a total catastrophe, and yet, our employees kept it together enough, that our guests had had a great time.

And as the sole manager that weekend, I’m taking the credit.  Even better, my GM is giving me lotsa kudos too.  My hard work and sweat (literally) paid off.

And that maintenance guy that spent hours on the roof fixing the things.  Ha.  That was nothin’.

 

 
10 Comments

Posted by on July 24, 2015 in Commute, The Hotel

 

10 responses to “The Greenhouse Effect

  1. llcooljoe

    July 24, 2015 at 7:25 am

    Here in the UK houses don’t have A/C, that shows you that we rarely get days hot enough to need it, but our house in AZ is the complete opposite. The last time we were thee the A/C went wrong when it was about 110 outside. Fortunately the unit for the upstairs still worked but the downstairs was like an oven. It was 2 days before it was fixed but that was long enough.

    You did a good job to keep your guests calm, I bet it was the ice cream that did the job. 😀

     
    • shadowrun300

      July 25, 2015 at 5:44 am

      Yikes. 2 days without AC in Arizona is 2 days too long!
      Our temps over this particular weekend were in the upper 90s. Not a good time for the AC to go out.
      Ice cream is the cure-all for whatever ails ya. I can vouch for that. 🙂

       
  2. Meleah Rebeccah

    July 25, 2015 at 5:14 pm

    “That night, I heard over and over again what a great hotel experience they’d had. Compliments were being thrown at me left and right. I was SO relieved that this big group was leaving on a high note. It could have been a total catastrophe, and yet, our employees kept it together enough, that our guests had had a great time. And as the sole manager that weekend, I’m taking the credit. Even better, my GM is giving me lotsa kudos too. My hard work and sweat (literally) paid off.””

    That IS awesome!!

    It’s been so long since I’ve had the time to read your blog – I am PSYCHED to see you’re doing so well!

     
    • shadowrun300

      July 27, 2015 at 4:41 am

      A lot has happened since you’ve been gone. 🙂
      Welcome back! It seems you’ve had a great year too!

       
  3. Abby

    July 26, 2015 at 1:01 am

    Atriums (atria?) are such a nice touch to any building. Except when the A/C isn’t working 😛
    Hopefully that’s the end of that!

     
    • shadowrun300

      July 27, 2015 at 4:44 am

      I hope so too. Suit jackets do not go well with warm atria.

       
  4. territerri

    July 29, 2015 at 2:05 pm

    You SHOULD take the credit. You were in charge and you set the example with your attitude. Glad you made it through and were able to get the A/C back in working order in time for the hot guests to cool down!

     
    • shadowrun300

      July 30, 2015 at 1:48 am

      It was such a relief to not have my clothes sticking to me! Made it so much easier to keep my attitude in check.

       
  5. agg79

    August 1, 2015 at 7:46 pm

    Yea, those pesky A/C units always tend to break down just when it is least convenient. And to have a glass atrium without A/C. I am trying to picture the ant/magnifying glass scenario. Tough to maintain a professional demeanor when your slowly roasting. Nice job!

     
    • shadowrun300

      August 2, 2015 at 1:34 am

      I was medium-well to well-done by the time the a/c was fixed. Things are better now, but it’s still fairly warm in that part of the hotel.

       

Leave a Reply

 
