RSS

The Cats are Gone

30 Jul

This was a popular week for vacationing it seems.  Not only are most of our guests on vacation, but most of our lead employees are as well.

The GM is in Florida. The other assistant GM is in Georgia.  The housekeeping exec is in Kansas.  And the lead maintenance guy is in Tennessee.

That leaves me.  I’m in…. the hotel.  Without any other eyes, I’ve been watching over every department for the past five days in a row.  And each department has had their struggles.

And with a full hotel, well, things have been just a little busy for me.

I came to work every day in my usual good mood, and I left every night, exhausted and sweaty, but still in a good mood.  My employees and I worked together to keep the hotel afloat, and our guests had nothing but good things to say.  When I left the hotel last night, after a 12 1/2 hour day, I was a bit relieved to know the other assistant GM would be back the next day, but a bit nervous.  I’d spent so many hours taking care of the guests and the employees and the hotel, and I was just leaving it all to him.  Granted, I sent him a 1000 word memo on what the past week entailed, but still.  I felt like I was abandoning ship.

That feeling didn’t last long.  I slept in til 7am on my first day off, and actually went to bed at nine o’clock that night, boasting how I was finally going to bed in the same day that I woke up in.  First time all week!

I spent some of my time baking cupcakes for my crew.  When I look back on the last week, I am so proud of how hard everyone worked.  Despite a late night pull of the fire alarms, multiple a/c calls, a few housekeeping and laundry call-offs causing extra work for others, our guests have returned awesome surveys expressing how impressed they were with our staff and hotel.

The staff were amazing. Those in the dining area were helpful, cleared away trash quickly, pitched in to help others, etc. The maids on the day I left were very friendly and respectful and all staff wished me a good day, etc. including what I presumed to be a maintenance man on his way in to work). You should be proud of your staff!

I am proud of them.  And because the mice didn’t play while the cats were away….

I dusted off my cupcake pans.  I think they’ll be thrilled.

IMG_1784[1]

Chocolate cupcakes with coffee buttercream

IMG_1785[1]

Strawberry cupcakes with strawberry buttercream

 

 

 

 
14 Comments

Posted by on July 30, 2015 in The Hotel

 

14 responses to “The Cats are Gone

  1. lottajoy

    August 1, 2015 at 2:12 am

    No good deed goes unpunished. Will the supervisors see the recommendations?? I’m sure THEY don’t work their butts off like you did, and I fully know how much this meant to you. Here’s hoping the powers that be give you the appreciation you have earned. You deserve it.

     
    • shadowrun300

      August 2, 2015 at 1:41 am

      I’m one of three managers, and we have 2 department heads. The other two managers were gone along with both department heads, so the employees could easily have slacked off with only my eyes. The fact that they didn’t, makes me so proud. And I definitely will be letting their leads know!
      As for me, I’ll get some kudos, but no one will ever really know what we accomplished. Had we blown it all, everyone would know.

       
  2. territerri

    August 1, 2015 at 12:50 pm

    It’s a good thing you love your job, because you sure work hard at it! Your cupcakes look amazing and I’m sure your crew will love them!

     
    • shadowrun300

      August 2, 2015 at 1:45 am

      It’s definitely hard work, and it borders on sick that I love it. But I do.
      The employees work even harder than I, so it was a pleasure to bring treats in for them. I think they’d rather I would clean bathrooms and make beds though. 🙂

       
  3. Abby

    August 1, 2015 at 4:11 pm

    Those cupcakes look MARVELOUS! Almost too pretty to eat! And at least one cat wasn’t away. I’m glad the mice didn’t get the better of you, but not surprised!

     
    • shadowrun300

      August 2, 2015 at 1:49 am

      I was the head cat. And the mice were SO well behaved! Even better, our guests loved us. Means we got a pretty good crew at the hotel.
      Even so, I’ll be a bit relieved when the other cats return early next week.

       
  4. agg79

    August 1, 2015 at 5:16 pm

    I’ve always said: When the going gets tough, the tough get going (usually to the bar or spa). There is something therapeutic or rewarding taking over for others and pulling off a good job despite all of the headaches/challenges. I hope you are duly recognized for your outstanding leadership while the big dogs were off playing. You definitely earned a few extra gold stars on your record. Nice cupcakes. A nice, personal way to express your gratitude for the team pulling together.

     
    • shadowrun300

      August 2, 2015 at 1:51 am

      You summed it up perfectly! The best part? They all know I held down the fort while they were gone, so for a little while, I’ll be able to do whatever I want. Not that I would take advantage of that…..

       
  5. gabbylou

    August 4, 2015 at 7:26 am

    Holy moly – sounds like a crazy week!! Sounds like you are a hard worker, but also great teammate & leader. So sweet of you (literally!!) to thank your crew with those yummy looking cupcakes!! Hope all has been going well since then. 🙂

     
    • shadowrun300

      August 8, 2015 at 3:32 am

      Thanks Gabby! My crew loved the cakes, and the cats are back, so things are *normal*? Whatever that means…..

       
  6. Rock Chef

    August 4, 2015 at 1:09 pm

    I am sure they will love the cakes!
    Don’t worry about leaving things for the other person to deal with, I am sure they can manage. Not as well as you, obviously, but they will manage.

     
    • shadowrun300

      August 8, 2015 at 3:33 am

      They managed just fine, in fact. I really gotta get better at letting other people work occasionally. 🙂

       
  7. llcooljoe

    August 7, 2015 at 3:17 pm

    Oh boy those cupcakes look good! I’m not a great fan of chocolate so I’ll just have the strawberry ones please, because you did make them just for me right?

     
    • shadowrun300

      August 8, 2015 at 3:35 am

      Ummm, yeah…. I made them just for you. But my employees didn’t really care, and ate them all. They’re like that. 😉

       

Leave a Reply

 
