RSS

Girls Day Out

23 Aug

Wow.  It’s been 15 days since I’ve last been here?

Lots has happened, that’s for sure.  I’ve worked 13 of the last 15, so that’s somethin’.  During that time we had a full day without internet, and a full day without water.  Luckily, the day without internet, very few guests in our sold out hotel were around.  They were at the game or at their awards banquet.  But the next morning, they were all just getting up and showering when the water main broke.  Some guests told stories of sending their spouse out for pool water to rinse off with.  Others used bottled water that we were passing out.  Thankfully, most were understanding that it wasn’t our fault necessarily, but we still comped close to 30 rooms for the inconvenience.  Being a Sunday, most of the guests checked out, so it was only the employees who had to suffer without water and A/C and bathroom usage until 4 that afternoon.  Our poor housekeepers were cleaning all our rooms with bottled water.  Another fun experience under my belt.

But it’s those kind of days that make me truly appreciate my days off.  I used one of them to catch up with Mario.  She’s been almost as busy as I, and I was missing her badly.  We’d been talking about going to a Cardinals’ game together for a long time, and so we finally set a date.

Boy was it fun!  Before the game, we did some shopping, ate some lunch, and got our nails done.

IMG_1805[1]

 

IMG_1807[1]

Since I work near the stadium, we parked at the hotel, and walked.  Good thing we were early.  Her free honor roll seats were a long way up.  But the view was good.

IMG_1808[1]

We were laughing about being in the nosebleed section, when a little girl sat down next to us with her dad.  “See Daddy?” she said.  “I told you they’d be great seats!”  And suddenly, we thought they were too.

We treated ourselves to some nachos, and some ice cream, and enjoyed the game with the beautiful night sky in the background.

IMG_1814[1]

A Cardinals win made it the perfect ending to a perfect day.

Girls day out

 
9 Comments

Posted by on August 23, 2015 in Family

 

9 responses to “Girls Day Out

  1. territerri

    August 23, 2015 at 12:16 pm

    I’ve been wondering where you’ve been! But I figured work was just keeping you on your toes again. You have such a great attitude about the various crises that occur. I would imagine your positivity is contagious and that’s why employees and guests alike just seem to take it all in stride.

    So glad you got to spend a day with your girl. Sounds like so much fun! Great pictures of the two of you!

     
    • shadowrun300

      August 24, 2015 at 1:55 am

      Yes, work has had me on my toes. As difficult as it may be sometimes, staying positive is the only way to get through a crisis. And I like to think it’s contagious. We’ve made it through some pretty rough times with great comments from our guests. If they don’t see us stressing out, then they don’t feel stressed out. And my employees feel the same way. And honestly, smiling through a crisis makes it not seem quite so bad.
      Our girls’ day was so fun and much needed! But we’re back to our regularly scheduled programs of only seeing each other coming and going.

       
  2. Abby

    August 23, 2015 at 5:50 pm

    Hey, welcome back! Ugh, no water!? Shoulda brought in the Water Buffaloes (hubba hubba!).

    What a great day out with Mario! You know I wouldn’t trade any of my boys, but when I read posts like this from you or Terri, I get all “what if?” I don’t think anyone around here cares to shop and get manicures with me :/

     
    • shadowrun300

      August 24, 2015 at 1:57 am

      How did I not remember the Water Buffaloes?! Ugh . I probably could have avoided comping a few rooms…. (hubba hubba)
      So maybe not manicures, but your boys love to visit a good reptile show. That’s something. Right?

       
  3. Rock Chef

    August 25, 2015 at 4:59 pm

    It is great to have time like that with the kids, isn’t it?

    I must admit that if I went to a ball game, I would want to sit somewhere like that! Great view!

     
    • shadowrun300

      August 26, 2015 at 3:46 am

      It was so long overdue, and it may be a while before we have another girls’ day. I’m treasuring the memories.
      Like you said, the view was great! I’d have just liked a little closer view of the guys. I mean, game.

       
      • Rock Chef

        August 26, 2015 at 3:21 pm

        Tut tut 🙂

        Some people say that they like kids best when they are X years old. I am loving it at all ages, seeing them develop into adults with their own lives, goals, etc is amazing. Naturally, this involves us a little less than when they were younger, so we do have to make the most of the time we get.

         
  4. agg79

    September 1, 2015 at 3:16 pm

    Seems like many of us have been off the grid for a bit this summer. Sorry to hear about the water woes at the hotel. Been there, done that two years ago in Anaheim. Of course, they had to break the main right about the same time I just finished a good 5k run around Angels Stadium. I fully emphasized with the staff and took the pool route. When life hands you lemons….

    Nice seats. Glad to see you got to spend your day off and with Mario.

     
    • shadowrun300

      September 2, 2015 at 2:10 am

      I remember your water woes story in Anaheim, and even thought of you amidst our chaos. 🙂

       

Leave a Reply

 
