RSS

A Sense of Normalcy

02 Sep

I almost felt like this was a normal Saturday.  (I mean, other than the fact that it’s Tuesday.)

After a full 8 hours of sleep, I enjoyed a nice run this morning  Then, I fixed myself some oatmeal pancakes, and leisurely read a few chapters in the book I’ve been working on forever.

When I had my fill, I set about doing some chores.  Not fun, but normal.  I’ve been wanting to get things cleaned up now that we’ve got two less people living here, but I haven’t had the chance.

When the inside chores were done, I headed outside and mowed the lawn.  I haven’t mowed the lawn since we moved in a year ago.  It felt so normal!

And that’s not all!

I actually cooked this afternoon.  Cooked!  Such a normal thing to do, yet I can’t remember the last time I cooked something.  I even enjoyed it a little.  (Don’t tell anyone.)

Then this evening, Hubby and I took a walk along the dam.

Dam walk 1

Not quite a Florida beach.  But beautiful just the same.

This is what I remember Saturdays being like.  Back when I had a normal job.  And Saturdays actually fell on a Saturday.

 

 
8 Comments

Posted by on September 2, 2015 in Everyday Living

 

8 responses to “A Sense of Normalcy

  1. llcooljoe

    September 3, 2015 at 1:35 am

    You haven’t cut the lawn for a year!! Was it up to your waist!!

    Your walk looks very beautiful, especially the nice short grass. ha! 😀

     
    • shadowrun300

      September 3, 2015 at 1:59 am

      Ha! It did sound like that, didn’t it? The rest of my family have all had turns mowing it. I just finally got my turn. 🙂
      Not sure why we don’t walk that route more often. It IS beautiful. And the grass is always mowed.

       
  2. territerri

    September 3, 2015 at 1:39 am

    I think you needed that! Sometimes it just feels good to catch up and do those normal things, doesn’t it? Even if they’re not exactly fun. The walk seems like a nice way to wrap up the day. Pretty view!

     
    • shadowrun300

      September 3, 2015 at 2:02 am

      For a Tuesday and Wednesday, it felt just like a Saturday and Sunday! I almost felt a bit bored this afternoon. Almost. I just needed to remind myself I’ll be working the next 8 days in a row. Suddenly sitting on the deck doing nothing sounded very good.

       
  3. Abby

    September 3, 2015 at 1:47 am

    I remember a busy friend telling me how good it felt to wash the shower curtain. She’s right!
    I’m glad you got some normal time and had a nice dam walk.

     
    • shadowrun300

      September 3, 2015 at 2:06 am

      Not sure why we don’t take that dam walk more often. It was good for the soul.
      Crazy that chores I normally loathe, felt really good to do! Who knew I could take having the time to clean bathrooms for granted.

       
  4. agg79

    September 3, 2015 at 1:56 am

    You mowed the lawn? Are you available to do mine? I’ll even let you use the Honda.

    Like Terri said, it feels good to do some of the normal stuff after you have been dealing with the daily stresses and strains. I hate to say it but once the kiddos are out of the nest, things are pretty different. You actually have time for each other, spare change, even leftovers. As much as you might not want to admit it, there are some benefits to sending the kids off to college (even if you miss them).

     
    • shadowrun300

      September 3, 2015 at 2:10 am

      I could have fit yours in this afternoon. Too late now. I’m on an 8 day stretch starting tomorrow.
      These past couple of days gave us a hint to what things will be like when the last one leaves the nest. You’re exactly right about the leftovers! haha We actually have food in the fridge still! 🙂

       

Leave a Reply

 
