RSS

Linked Up

15 Sep

Our visit to Link couldn’t have come at a better time.  (Unless you ask Mario.  Anytime would have been better than her birthday weekend.)

Once again, Link has been having troubles with his eyes.  His contacts were irritating him to the point he finally made a doctor’s appointment.  They suggested he go a few days without them.  On his return visit, they suggested a week more.  For Link, that means no work.  And no work means no pay.

He used a few of his vacation days that he’d been saving for his birthday, which will help his paycheck.  But using them for this reason isn’t fun.   With no contacts, he can’t see.  And the fun things he likes to do on his days off require sight.

This all occurred the week before we were due to arrive.  I’d talked to him multiple times, and each time he remained positive about it all.  I, on the other hand, worried greatly about him.

So on Saturday, when I saw him on the steps leading up to his apartment, I breathed a huge sigh of relief. There was my little boy, all 6 foot 3, 300 pounds of him, with a big smile on his face, seemingly as happy to see us as we were him.

His contacts were back in, and he explained that as long as he didn’t leave them in for extended periods of time, he could wear them.

We spent the first few hours of our visit in his apartment.  He showed off his editing work, and expressed his thoughts on how he could possibly make money on his abridged videos.

My business savvy husband listened intently and with great pride as Link described his plans.  “I know you’ve been telling me all along I should find a way to get paid for what I like to do.  And now I’m starting to get it.”

Once we were caught up, we dragged his buddies out of bed for lunch.  I’d met his friends briefly when I visited with Amp, but this time around, I wanted to spend quality time with them.   Link was a little concerned about us treating 4 grown men to lunch.  “We can eat,” he explained.  “And we’re more than happy to feed you,” I responded.

As we ate, I enjoyed the banter between Link and his friends.  They kiddingly ribbed each other, but underneath it all, I could see how much they cared.  We laughed at their work stories and about the fact that they keep lists of customers’ names they find funny.

After we’d worn out our welcome at the restaurant, we went back to their apartment.  We waited in Link’s apartment while Chad and John scrambled to get their upstairs apartment clean.  Then we gathered together in their living room, all in mismatched chairs, and played online games.

As the afternoon went on, my worries about Link began to subside.  He’s doing well.  He’s got great friends.  A decent job.  He’s making good decisions, and he’s growing up.  I still worry about his eyes, and the high medical bills, and the possibility things may get worse for him, but overall, he’s happy and in a good place.

The day was over all too fast.  We said our goodbyes and let his friends know they’re always welcome in our home.  (Don’t know where we’ll put ’em, but that’s no matter.)  Link walked us out, and I hugged him long enough to last me til Christmas.

It was a quiet ride back to the hotel.  I tried to keep my spirits up by looking forward to the next day – my first Cardinals away game! It didn’t take long for the little girl in me to become quite excited about watching my guys play in Cincinnati.

More on that to come….

 

 
8 Comments

Posted by on September 15, 2015 in Family, Parenting

 

8 responses to “Linked Up

  1. Abby

    September 15, 2015 at 2:51 pm

    Aw, I’m glad you had a good day with Link and his buddies. That was nice of you to take all the guys out for lunch, and I’m sure you enjoyed getting to know them better. Sorry about Link’s eye troubles. Reminds me again how much we take for granted.

     
    • shadowrun300

      September 17, 2015 at 3:56 am

      They appreciated a free meal, and I loved getting to know them better. Win/win.
      I’m so impressed with how Link handles his eye troubles. I think of him whenever I take my contacts out and then put on a pair of glasses. He’s not that lucky. But he doesn’t sit and pout about it. I totally would be!

       
  2. agg79

    September 16, 2015 at 11:12 am

    Even though they grow up and set out on their own, they are still your babies. We did the same run when we sent Junior off to College in Austin. First two years were on campus in the dorms and the latter years were in various houses/apartments. Really interesting decorating style they had. Not everyone can make arrange a row of tequila bottles and make it look trendy & look chic. Takes me bake to my younger (and stupid) days in college. I am sure Link will do fine but secretly will miss his mom.

     
    • shadowrun300

      September 17, 2015 at 3:59 am

      It was fun seeing their decorating style, or lack of it. They give each other gag gifts for their birthdays and Christmas, and most of them have ended up on their walls and shelves. Too funny.
      Every once in a while I’ll get a call or a text, and I know he’s thinking of me. Gives me a warm fuzzy every time. 🙂

       
  3. territerri

    September 26, 2015 at 2:10 pm

    No matter how big they get, they’ll still always be our babies and we’ll always worry about them. I’m so glad you got some quality time with Link and a chance to see that he’s holding his own. I know exactly how you feel!

     
    • shadowrun300

      September 27, 2015 at 5:23 am

      It’s when I haven’t seen him for a while that I start to worry. But just like the last time, after we spent the day together, I was able to see that he’s just fine. Even handling his eye issue very maturely. When I was that age, I would be all “woe is me!”

       
  4. llcooljoe

    October 4, 2015 at 6:45 am

    You never stop worrying about your kids, wherever they are, or whatever they are doing. I’m glad you had a chance to see Link and his buddies. My daughters both have health issues and yet they just get on with it, it’s amazing how tough these kids are.

     
    • shadowrun300

      October 5, 2015 at 4:05 am

      Link has had to handle all the doctor’s appointments and all the medical bills, and he’s keeping himself informed of his options. I’m sad and worried, yet extremely proud.

       

Leave a Reply

 
