RSS

Chef ShadowRun

07 Oct

What doesn’t kill you makes you stronger.  If this keeps up, Ima be Hercules.

First, I’m on a long stretch of work because I asked for Sunday off.

In the midst of my long stretch, my one cook went to her Grandpa’s funeral in Minnesota.  Understandable.  My second cook’s carpal tunnel flared up and she was told to not work for a week.  Doctor’s orders.

My backup cook is in school and declined to come in on her day off.

So I cooked.

I.  Don’t.  Cook.

Really, all I have to do is stick stuff in the microwave or oven.  I have very clear directions printed out.  I have a proofer to keep things warm while I wait to serve.  Piece of cake.

Ha.

“I don’t even cook for my family!”  I told my front desk agent who volunteered to do dishes.

By the end of the third night, I was the first person in line at our bar.  I needed vodka.  My front desk agent had called off as well, so I was short a cook AND a checker-inner.

He wouldn’t serve me.

It’s a good thing, I suppose.  My cook will come back eventually, and I’d like to keep my job.  My front office supe worked a double to cover the desk, and I managed to make it through one more night of cooking while still managing the hotel.

Never a dull moment.

In somewhat exciting news (?), I’ll be working at my old hotel on Friday, the day the Cards come home for their first game of the play off series!  I’m a bit torn.  I love the idea of going back to the crazy busy hotel that I loved – as a manager.  But the idea that the GM there feels she needs help from other hotels since she’s short an Assistant GM and has only 4 now, drives me insane.  Why she expects us to run with only one AGM so she can have 5, is beyond me.  And she’s not afraid to show her displeasure when we “less important” hotels tell her we aren’t able to help.

So we’re playing nice.  I am looking forward to it.  Mainly because she’s usually off on Fridays, and I’ll get to see all my old friends.  And deep down, I feel a little satisfaction knowing her hotel is struggling with service scores, and she’s desperate to improve them.  Perhaps someday she’ll realize it all stems from her management skills.   Or lack there of.

And maybe she won’t.  Which is cool by me.  Makes my hotel look even better…

 

 
6 Comments

Posted by on October 7, 2015 in The Hotel

 

6 responses to “Chef ShadowRun

  1. Abby

    October 9, 2015 at 1:47 am

    Hey Good Lookin’, whatcha got cookin’?! …ok sorry, couldn’t resist. I guess it’s good you didn’t get bartending duty?
    Have fun at the old stomping grounds!

     
    • shadowrun300

      October 11, 2015 at 1:10 am

      Today I had my cook cookin’! I’ll settle for just good lookin’. 😉
      I actually love bartending duty. Not near as stressful. The pouring of liquor can be quite soothing.
      And I had a great time at my old stomping grounds. Felt right at home!

       
  2. agg79

    October 11, 2015 at 3:19 pm

    What doesn’t kill us, makes us stronger. Yea. Keep repeating that mantra. I’ve always felt it was better to be busy than be bored, but there is a limit to everything. I applaud your stamina and flexibility. We used to have a saying in the Army – you are are the ringmaster, chief cook and bottle washer for the entire show.

    Sorry that your Cards dropped the game on Friday. The ‘Stros did the same in KC. I bet it was fun to be back working the old homestead, even if you had some dour fans to appease.

     
    • shadowrun300

      October 12, 2015 at 1:48 am

      I’m beginning to see I have limits. My job definitely makes me appreciate time away.
      No one is more sorry to see the Cards lose that game than I. Especially since we’re playing the Cubs! I haven’t given up hope, however. We got this!
      Your ‘Stros are hanging in there! Nice to see ya’ll playing in October! 🙂

       
  3. llcooljoe

    October 16, 2015 at 9:21 pm

    Wow that must be tough, so you were cooking all these posh meals for your hotel guests??

     
    • shadowrun300

      October 17, 2015 at 4:25 am

      Posh? Maybe to some.
      What we serve is precooked and then reheated by us. To me, that IS cooking. And I don’t like it.
      If I could serve homemade cookies and cupcakes, I’d be all over it!

       

Leave a Reply

 
