RSS

You did what?

14 Oct

I threw away her shoes, okay?

I’ve already been berated by Mario over and over again, and anyone who hears the story is happy to remind me how wrong I was.

But here’s the deal.  Maybe you’ll understand?

Mario, as you know, is a mess.  And for the past few months I’ve asked her to clean up her room, and with each passing month it’s gotten more and more cluttered.

She’s been busy.  I get it.  In fact, I might even say she’s busier than I.  Between school and work and band and plays and bowling and homecoming, she’s got a lot going on.

So I was going to help her.  I didn’t mean to be vengeful.

As I began decluttering her room, I dedicated a pile to what I knew was trash, and one that I hoped would be trash, but wanted her to go through first.  When I came across a pair of shoes in her closet that I knew were too small, I put them in the known trash pile.  Then I came across a pair of shoes with the soles hanging off.  I put them in the known trash pile.

What I didn’t know, was that particular day was pajama day at school.  She had worn slippers, leaving her only pair(s) of tennis shoes at home.  Before the trash guy came, I ran the “definitely trash” pile out to the curb, and completed straightening and vacuuming her room.

After school that day, Mario and I were going shopping for jeans and a new pair of shoes.  At this point, neither of us realized I’d thrown her only tennis shoes away.  She changed from slippers to flip flops, thanked me for cleaning her room, and off we went.

As with anything we shop for, it wasn’t easy.  Finding “cute” jeans and “cute” shoes is almost impossible when you’re 5’10 and wear size 11 shoes.

In the end, we skipped the jeans and ordered the shoes to be delivered to our house. They were due to arrive in 7-10 business days.

The next morning I received a call while I was mingling with our guests during breakfast.

“MOM! I don’t have any shoes!”

And so began the berating.  From her.  From my coworkers.  From my hubby.  And from her again.

I couldn’t express how sorry I was.   As I pitched the shoes, I didn’t realize they were her only ones.  And part of me knew we were shopping for shoes that night, although I didn’t count on NOT finding any for her.  And even then, it didn’t click that she had none at all now.

She bawled while she was on the phone with me.  Because she’s not allowed to wear flip flops to school, she was forced to wear her boots.  And it was jeans day, and now she wouldn’t look cute.  And for a 17 year old, it was the worst thing ever.

Luckily, a friend of hers had a size 9 in her locker that Mario could squeeze her feet into.

Her shoes have since arrived, and all is good now.  I think she has finally forgiven me, but I still hear about it at work.  I guess I didn’t realize how wrong it is to throw your daughter’s things away  Even if you’re just trying to help.

Her room is a mess once again, but you can bet I won’t be going in there anytime soon.

clean room

 
13 Comments

Posted by on October 14, 2015 in Uncategorized

 

13 responses to “You did what?

  1. Anita

    October 16, 2015 at 2:24 am

    Lately, I’ve been tempted to do the same, but after reading this post, hmmm… maybe I’ll give it some thought. Problem is – if you ask if you can throw away “known” junk/trash, most of the time, the answer will be, “No, I need that!” I guess she really did need those shoes, though.

     
    • shadowrun300

      October 17, 2015 at 4:17 am

      DON”T DO IT! (just sayin’…..)

       
      • shadowrun300

        October 17, 2015 at 4:17 am

        P.S. Great to see you again! 🙂

         
      • Anita

        October 19, 2015 at 6:09 pm

        OKAAAY!
        I’m convinced.
        haha

         
      • Anita

        October 19, 2015 at 6:15 pm

        thanks! I hope I can keep it up.
        btw, in response to your comment: You’re relieved?… what a horror that would be! lol
        I thought of changing the title when I realized what readers would think, but then laughed when I imagined the looks on the faces.

         
  2. llcooljoe

    October 16, 2015 at 9:17 pm

    I’m shocked! Never throw any of the kids stuff away without asking them first! 😀 You’d be amazed the old crap they keep. Anyway I think Mario should be allowed to go into your room and throw one of your old pairs of shoes away. 😀 Sorry, I’m good at making you feel worse aren’t I? 😀

     
    • shadowrun300

      October 17, 2015 at 4:16 am

      You’re always so supportive of my parenting skills. 🙂
      I suppose you’re right, she should get to throw away something of mine. Although, it’s not like it was her favorite pair – they were just her ONLY pair.
      Yet again, I have more making up to do….

       
  3. Abby

    October 17, 2015 at 7:32 pm

    Okay, I admit that I’ve thrown away shoes and clothes that I KNOW no longer fit, but that’s where I draw the line. When I get the declutter bug bad enough to actually go into their bedroom, I pile everything into a (big) box and tell them they have one week to go through it. Having all boys, though, clothes and shoes are usually small priorities.
    I do remember being a 17-year-old girl, though. I’m kinda liking Joey’s shoe-for-a-shoe punishment 🙂

     
    • shadowrun300

      October 19, 2015 at 4:06 am

      I piled SOME things for her to go through. Just not the right things I suppose. I’ve learned my lesson. (Does she still have to throw away one of my pairs? What if she picks my favorite running shoes? Can’t I just promise not to do it again?)

       
      • Abby

        October 20, 2015 at 2:57 am

        (hide the fave running shoes)

         
  4. llcooljoe

    October 31, 2015 at 6:20 pm

    No sorry I’m waiting to read the post about your missing shoes now. 😉 It’s only fair after all. I do love to stir things up don’t I? 😀

     
  5. agg79

    December 5, 2015 at 1:07 am

    Not gonna do it. I figure you got enough flak from your daughter and family, so I ain’t one to pile on. Besides, we’ve kinda done the same thing down here. Seems like it part of the “joys” of parenthood they forget to tell you about. At least Mario got some new shoes out of the deal. Just don’t let that fool you into thinking you won’t have to revisit this episode at some point in the future.

     
    • shadowrun300

      December 8, 2015 at 1:05 am

      Thanks Agg! You’re right, I got plenty of flack. In fact, it still gets brought up at work.
      Great to see you again! Hope all is well….

       

Leave a Reply

 
