RSS

No Blog November

23 Nov

I almost made it to the end of November without blogging.  Sheesh!  Where has the time gone?

I thought the hotel was going to slow down once summer vacations and the Cardinals’ ball games had ended.  And while it has somewhat slowed, we’ve been down a manager all month, so even more responsibilities have fallen on me.  Totally cool with me, but it sucks for blogging. ‘Cause I’m tired.  Ti – erd.

This week especially has been rough.  It started with a bus group that came in and totally took advantage of our free bar and free drinks.  We knew they were coming, but I guess we didn’t realize how hungry and thirsty they would be.  We ran our butts off trying to keep up, but we failed miserably.  I don’t like to be caught unprepared, so it was a tough night for me, physically and mentally.

The next night, my breakfast cook called to tell me she wouldn’t be able to come in the next morning.  Something about lotsa vomiting and the runs.  SO?!  GET YOUR BUTT IN HERE AND COOK!  was what ran through my head.  Instead, I sympathetically told her to rest up and get better, while I texted every employee I could think of who knew how to cook.

On a Friday night, no one answered.  Surprise.

So I left the hotel in the hands of the manager in training, and high-tailed it home to try and get some sleep before coming back in the morning.

I arrived back at 4:30am, and walked in the door with a few Grateful Dead concert goers just coming in from their night out.  They looked much happier about being awake at that time of day than I did.  Found out later that an hour earlier they had jumped our pool fence and were swimming naked in the pool.  What can you do but laugh.

I got to work with the help of my early morning houseperson, making biscuits and gravy, sausages, scrambled eggs, breakfast potatoes and oatmeal for 200 of my closest friends. By the time we opened, more employees had arrived.  I stayed in my cooking groove while they kept the line stocked and schmoozed all our guests.

Our once naked Grateful Dead guests showed up, dressed thankfully, just as we were closing, to devour what was left.  I cleaned up the dishes and the kitchen, and collapsed in my desk chair just when I should have been arriving for the day.  I tied up a few loose ends from my office, kicked a guest who was smoking pot out of the hotel, and then once again, left the place in the hands of our MIT.

I was tired.

My three day weekend couldn’t have come at a better time.  You read that right.  THREE days in a row.  I’m not even gonna think about having to work over Thanksgiving.  For now, I’m thankful I get to spend some lazy days with my hubby, I get to watch Mario kick some boys’ butts in her high school bowling match, and I get to go shopping for things I want, not just things I need.

Oh yeah.  And I get to catch up on some bloggin’.

 
9 Comments

Posted by on November 23, 2015 in Everyday Living, Family, The Hotel

 

9 responses to “No Blog November

  1. Abby

    November 24, 2015 at 4:39 pm

    Hmmm, all I’m picturing now are Grateful Dead fans that I know of – none of whom should be seen naked.
    But hey! Three days in a row! Sounds like you’ve got a good plan for them, too. And you managed a post for No Blog November after all. I’ll take what I can get 🙂

     
    • shadowrun300

      November 25, 2015 at 1:58 am

      I’m not sorry I missed the naked Grateful Dead fans. Seeing them clothed was enough. 😉
      My three days in a row were awesome! I did everything I had planned. But by far, the highlight was watching Mario bowl. She really did kick the boys’ butts. SO proud of her.

       
  2. Tee

    November 28, 2015 at 7:19 pm

    I was getting worried about you! But I figured it was work that was keeping you away from blogging. Glad to hear you’re keeping everything under control, in spite of everything they seem to be throwing at you.

    I was thinking the same thing as Abby … that any Grateful Dead fans I can picture should NOT be out in public NAKED!

    I hope you’re able to squeeze in a family Thanksgiving dinner, even though it won’t be on the actual day.

    p.s. This comment should link you to my new place! 🙂

     
    • shadowrun300

      November 30, 2015 at 1:54 am

      Work has been exhausting as of late. While I’ve slacked on my own blogging, I’ve still kept up with everyone else’s. So much easier to read than to create/write my own. Some nights, I even have trouble commenting. Keep that in mind if ever my comments don’t make sense. 🙂

       
      • Tee

        November 30, 2015 at 1:59 am

        Believe me, I get it. It seems our entire blog community is struggling to write as much as we typically do. I’m enjoying lots of writing and commenting during this holiday break, but by tomorrow, might be back to usual and lucky to write and comment once a week!

        And don’t worry … your comments always make me smile, and always make sense! 🙂

         
  3. llcooljoe

    November 28, 2015 at 9:29 pm

    I hope you are enjoying your 3 day break. It sounds like you need it. Naked Grateful dead fans and weed, what more could we ask for in a post? Now tell me about the shopping.

     
    • shadowrun300

      November 30, 2015 at 1:57 am

      My 3 day weekend is long over, but it was FANTASTIC.
      Sorry to say, however, that the Grateful Dead and the weed story were may more interesting than my shopping story. I got one thing. A new jacket for work – with no cap or watch to match. 😉

       
  4. agg79

    December 5, 2015 at 1:50 am

    A naked Grateful Dead concert and I missed it? Damn. I coulda so been there. I keep missing out on all those events. It sounds like you were certainly having some kind of “fun”. Just keep my motto in mind: What does not kill us, makes us stronger (or, at least want to kill someone else). A good long run helps keep one sane (that, and copious amounts of vodka).

    I hate to one up you, but I think I got your November hiatus beat. I seem to have taken a sabbatical myself and I am well beyond the 30 day window. I am working through my own challenges and hope to post an update soon.

    Hope things have calmed down a bit for you.

     
    • shadowrun300

      December 8, 2015 at 1:16 am

      I must be getting stronger every day, ’cause this job hasn’t killed me yet.
      Heck, I think you had me beat in October AND November. We’re supposed to be competing the other way.
      Looking forward to an update post from you soon. Again, hope all is well!

       

Leave a Reply

 
