RSS

Giving Thanks

05 Dec

So I’m a little late… par for the course when you run a hotel.  Especially one next to  a convention center that is hosting the local high school football championships the day after Thanksgiving.  The players and their friends and family all arrived to check in on Thanksgiving Day.

While the front desk agents checked in our entire hotel, I was in our dining area preparing to serve what would turn out to be Thanksgiving Dinner for all 500 of our guests.

Other than the other 2 managers, our entire staff worked that day.  And work we did.  We all went home that night and crashed, only to come back on Friday and do it all again.  By Saturday, my entire body hurt.  Hosting that many people three nights in a row is physically and mentally demanding.  Add to that, missing family time on one of my favorite holidays of the year, and I was d-o-n-e, done.

I’ve since made up for it, however.  On Sunday, we finally were able to have Thanksgiving dinner as a family.  We were missing Link, so we sat down together to Skype him.  He’ll be home for Christmas, and we’re all looking forward to that.

Since then I’ve also made time to watch Mario bowl.  Once again, she’s on the boys’ high school bowling team, and has proven herself enough to be anchor on the Varsity team.  As a Junior and a girl, this is huge.  The anchor is typically the best bowler on the team and is matched up against the best bowler (a boy) on the other team.  And she is up for the challenge.

She’s averaged 200 since the beginning of season, and has easily kept up with the boys.  She loves the look on their faces when she steps up in the anchor position.  And I love the whispers from the others when they realize how good she is.

She’s taking up where I left off, and it has been fun to watch.  I can’t wait to see where she’ll go from here.

So although I’m late, I’m very thankful.  I’m thankful I have a job I love.  I’m thankful I could find a day to share a meal with my family.  I’m thankful my boys are still in school (I’ve had my doubts…), and I’m thankful my daughter is pursuing her dream of bowling competitively and that I can arrange my off days to watch.

I’m also thankful I’ll have Christmas off.  Everyone will be home on that day.  Ain’t nothin’ better than that.

 

 
10 Comments

Posted by on December 5, 2015 in Bowling, Family, Holidays, The Hotel

 

10 responses to “Giving Thanks

  1. Tee

    December 5, 2015 at 3:47 pm

    I know how much you love your job, but I’m not sure how you manage to handle the mental and physical demands while still staying upbeat. You’re inspiring!

    I’m so happy for Mario that she earned the anchor position on the BOYS varsity bowling team! Way to go! And what a thrill it must be for you to see her succeed so well. I see a college scholarship in her near future!

    And I’m very happy for you that you got to have Thanksgiving dinner, however belated it was, and that you’ll be surrounded by your entire family on Christmas!

     
    • shadowrun300

      December 6, 2015 at 5:52 am

      Thanksgiving Day was probably the busiest I have seen our “happy hour”. With no places open outside the hotel, all our guests stayed in. I couldn’t get out from behind the bar, so I just prayed the girls were keeping up with the food, the trash was being taken out, and our guests were happy. We received 3 surveys back from that time period – all 100s – with rave reviews of our hotel and staff. Just proof that if you remain upbeat, with a smile on your face, you can make the guests feel like it’s the best hotel ever. THAT is my motivation.
      On Monday, we are taking Mario to visit a nearby private college with a tremendous bowling program. We’ll meet with the coach, and hopefully come out of there armed with scholarship info. I wanna get the ball rolling as soon as possible. 🙂

       
  2. Abby

    December 5, 2015 at 7:03 pm

    I remember hostessing a banquet for a championship high school football team. Those guys can EAT!! I can imagine what it was like having them stay at the hotel for the weekend with their families.

    And sounds like you got in some nice family time for Thanksgiving too, if a bit late. I like how your kids’ blog names make for phrases such as “Missing Link” (kinda sad) and “Mario Bowl” And how ’bout that Mario! Anchoring like a boss! Onward to Christmas!

     
    • shadowrun300

      December 6, 2015 at 5:59 am

      I caught “missing Link”, but not “Mario bowl”. How fun is that?
      I know now how much football players eat, and how much their parents drink. It’s a LOT, lemme tell ya.
      Christmas is going to be here before I know it. I can’t wait to see Link, but I need the days to slow down a bit.

       
  3. llcooljoe

    December 8, 2015 at 8:31 am

    You know I’m sure I left a comment here the other day! I had to grin at missing link too. I’m glad you enjoy your job so much because it does sound stressful!

    Christmas is coming way too fast for my liking too!! So much to do, and so little time. I’ll be thankful when it’s all over. 😀

     
    • shadowrun300

      December 9, 2015 at 2:38 am

      I wonder sometimes why I like my job. I think it’s the every day challenge that I love. And of course helping people. It’s only stressful occasionally. 🙂
      What is it about Christmas that makes time fly by? Suddenly it’s over and all we have left is winter. ugh.

       
  4. agg79

    December 10, 2015 at 1:09 pm

    Sounds like Mario is a chip off the old block and has some of your talent on the alleys. Pretty neat that she is “keeping up” with the guys. Admit it – you’re kinda proud, ain’t ya?

    I always imagined it is hard to work the hotels during the holidays. Trying to maintain your holiday cheer while taking care of the hordes is challenging. Especially if you are turning out a Thanksgiving dinner for 500. I guess I cannot complain anymore about having to cook turkey for 15 people. Hopefully, your Christmas is a bit calmer.

     
    • shadowrun300

      December 11, 2015 at 3:06 am

      Mario is totally taking up where I left off, and has surpassed me in many ways. And she’s only 17! I am beyond proud.
      At least being busy over Thanksgiving kept me from wallowing in any self pity I may have had over working that day and being apart from my family. Christmas will absolutely be a ton calmer. 🙂

       
  5. Rock Chef

    December 15, 2015 at 4:31 pm

    Sounds like a real busy time at work, but I guess that is better than no guests…

    Ah, a good family Christmas with everyone at home – just like us! Can’t be beaten!

    And I love that Mario is doing so well in the bowling – there are a lot of things where women are still expected to be worse than men, and bowling seems to be one of them – at least it does in my limited exposure to it which is mainly TV!

     
    • shadowrun300

      December 16, 2015 at 3:29 am

      I’d much rather have a full hotel than an empty one. So no complaints here.
      I’ll probably write a bragging blog post in the near future about her. She’s got the bowling technique down pat, it’s her composure and focus that impresses me right now. She’s come a long way this past year. Maybe someday you’ll see HER on TV. 🙂

       

Leave a Reply

 
