RSS

Merry Christmas to All

26 Dec

It’s the day after Christmas and my holidays have just begun.

Having worked 8 days straight leading up to the big day, I didn’t really have the chance to appreciate the season.  I’d get up early to wrap a few gifts before beginning my long commute in.  Then I’d pick up another gift or two on my way.  I’d work 10-12 hours, come home and crash, and do it all again the next day.

No time to bake.  No time to enjoy Chip and Amp.  No time.

I finished my final shift at 9pm on Christmas Eve, and arrived home to find Link in my kitchen!  He, too, had worked that day, but his boss had let everyone go home early.  So he got off to an earlier start than expected and arrived “home” a short while before I did. So at 10:00pm on Christmas Eve, our holidays began.

We opened our gifts to each other, saving only the “Santa” gifts for Christmas morning.  Our much smaller living room was stuffed with people, presents and crumpled wrapping paper.  But it was also filled with laughter, chatter, and love.

Link is only home for a few days, so we all took off work to spend time with each other.  We’re planning to bowl and see Star Wars, and just be together.

In fact, I am off work until January 4th.  Hard to believe, I know!  So I will spend the time baking and shopping and singing Christmas songs, and finally getting to enjoy the season.

Merry Christmas to you all from the ShadowRuns!

Charlie Brown Christmas

 
9 Comments

Posted by on December 26, 2015 in Family, Holidays

 

9 responses to “Merry Christmas to All

  1. Abby

    December 27, 2015 at 3:22 am

    Merry Christmas! I’m glad you’ve got this stretch of time off to enjoy the whole fam! I totally agree with Snoopy… or Charlie. Enjoy!

     
    • shadowrun300

      December 28, 2015 at 3:37 am

      It’s been a great few days but it’s gone way too quickly. Link leaves in the morning. But it’s been wonderful having him around our Christmas tree!

       
  2. Tee

    December 27, 2015 at 2:29 pm

    I know you’ll enjoy all this time off from work. You deserve it! So glad you got to celebrate Christmas ON Christmas with all of your family around. I know as well as you do, that once the kids start leaving the nest, those times when you’re all together are the most precious.

     
    • shadowrun300

      December 28, 2015 at 3:39 am

      It’s definitely been a much needed break from the hotel. Our days have been busy with Link in town, but by the end of the week I’m guessing I’ll be bored and ready to go back. Which is the way it should be. 🙂

       
  3. agg79

    December 27, 2015 at 3:34 pm

    Merry Christmas to you as well! After all that hard work, you deserve the time off with the family. Hard to imagine you being off for the entire week. How ever will the hotel survive without you to guide them? Enjoy your down time and May The Force Be with You!

     
    • shadowrun300

      December 28, 2015 at 3:41 am

      The hotel is completely full this week, so I’m feeling a little guilty about not being there. Actually, that feeling only lasted a short while. Right now, I’m pretty happy to be at home.
      Just saw The Force Awakens today. Fantastic movie! 🙂

       
      • agg79

        December 29, 2015 at 3:33 pm

        I know. Pretty darned good movie. My son and I saw it on Saturday (his 2nd time) and that started an hour long debate over the plot lines and characters.

         
  4. llcooljoe

    December 30, 2015 at 4:15 pm

    I hope you are enjoying your time off work and had a great Christmas. Happy New Year to you and the family!

     
    • shadowrun300

      December 31, 2015 at 2:29 am

      I really am enjoying my time off, and have only thought of the hotel occasionally. Hard to believe I still have 4 more days to go!
      Happy New Year to your family as well! Sure hope 2016 is a great year for you. You deserve it!

       

Leave a Reply

 
