RSS

Happy (belated) New Year!

03 Jan

Having had the last week of 2015 off, I’ve learned quite a few things about myself.

First and foremost, I’m really good at being a sloth.  And when it comes to work, housework in particular, I have no problem letting it go.  I didn’t cook, or clean, or even bake the whole time I was off.

In my defense, the kids were all home, and with them comes lots of stuff.  And the kids were all home, so who wants to spend time cooking and cleaning?

Even when Link went back to Ohio, I slothed.  Maybe even more so because while he was here we bowled, and played games, and went to the movies, and after he left the other kids began spending time with their friends, so I no longer had things to keep me busy.  But since all their stuff remained in our itty, bitty house, cleaning was pretty useless.

Instead, I spent hours putting together a puzzle.  Which brings me to another thing I learned about myself.  I can spend hours putting together a puzzle.  Me.  One who normally can’t stand sitting still for any length of time.  But any chance I got, I’d sit on the floor and have to tear myself away an hour or two later.  Usually because things started to hurt.  I’m too old to sit on the floor for that long.

I also learned that I’m not in as good of shape as I thought.  At least not my left butt cheek.  See, when the family went bowling over the holidays, a little itch began to form inside me.  I’ve been pretty happy not bowling over the last few years, and instead, watching my daughter take all the glory.  But that day something sparked in me.  So on New Year’s Day, I convinced my hubby to watch me bowl in a high stakes tournament. I knew I wouldn’t win, but I felt the desire to bowl competitively.  I bowled 5 games, and two days later I’m still feeling it.  Oh well, small price to pay for a day of fun. And not that I needed it, but I have even more reason to be a sloth these next few days.

I return to work Monday after 10 days off.  I’m ready.  This has been a much needed break, and it’s been awesome to reconnect with my family, but I’m ready.

Before I go, I have to thank my hubby for allowing such slothness out of me.  He kept up with the necessary chores such as laundry and dishes and vacuuming, so that I could recharge.  I think he’s ready for me to get back to work as well.

Happy New Year to the best blog friends ever. Here’s wishing you all a happy and healthy 2016!  With a little bit of slothness mixed in…..

 

 

 

 
8 Comments

Posted by on January 3, 2016 in Bowling, Family, Holidays

 

8 responses to “Happy (belated) New Year!

  1. Tee

    January 3, 2016 at 2:53 pm

    After reading so many stories of your work adventures (and stresses) lately, I know this was a well-earned break! I’m so glad you got to spend time with the kids and just relax. I’m curious about your puzzle. Are you going to post a picture of the finished product? And way to go, bowling in a tournament! Any thoughts about getting back into league bowling again? Happy New Year!

     
  2. shadowrun300

    January 4, 2016 at 2:56 am

    The puzzle I just finished was of a beach scene. (Thought it might help me get through winter.) It was actually pretty tough because all the waves and splashes looked the same. Now, it’s sitting in pieces back in the box. I didn’t think to take a picture first. :/
    I’m working on a different one right now, and have a few lined up for future fun. Great way to pass some time and decompress!
    I don’t really have a desire to bowl in a league right now, although not having an average meant I had to bowl scratch in that tournament. If I get the urge again, I’d like to bowl with Mario in some tournaments. She’d love to beat me. šŸ™‚

     
  3. Abby

    January 4, 2016 at 3:25 am

    Yay for slothness! You don’t get nearly enough!
    I’m glad you were able to relax and also that you got into some competetive bowling, even if your left butt cheek is complaining. And I’m curious about your puzzle, too. It’s funny how obsessed we can become with those things!
    Enjoy getting back to work. Stay dry!

     
    • shadowrun300

      January 4, 2016 at 3:41 am

      We don’t really have room for puzzle making around here. Hubby cut a board that fits most puzzles, and I keep it on our living room floor. The cats walk on it, and the kids kick it, and I find pieces laying around the carpet, but I find it so relaxing that I fight through it all. (Including the pains I get from sitting/laying on the floor too long.)
      I haven’t said much about the flooding around here, because although it’s pretty bad, especially for some, I know it’s worse down south. It’s incredible to see our creeks as high as they are – the roads that are covered in water – and the fields that have turned into lakes. The interstates in Missouri that were shut down due to flooding was the most concerning. Do you need some water? I can bring you some….

       
  4. agg79

    January 11, 2016 at 3:19 am

    Hey, Happy New year ya old sloth! Just cause you got a few days off with the family, you wind up in slacker mode. Yeah, that happens around the holidays. Too much eggnog and figgy pudding I suppose.

    Nah, I expect you have earned some slothiness time given all that you’ve had on your plate. It is a wonder how the hotel survived with you being off so long. I would expect anarchy and cannibalizm at the hotel while you were not at the helm. Hopefully, the days back were not as traumatic or barbaric. Although, I imagine it is a wee bit chilly up there right now for any shenanigans.

    Winter is coming.

     
    • shadowrun300

      January 11, 2016 at 4:18 am

      I was a sloth, and proud of it! I’ve made up for it and more this weekend, however. It’s been a “fun” one at the hotel. Not.
      The other two managers were pretty happy to have me back. Being on that end myself, I know how hard it can be when all the responsibilities fall on you. I still feel like they owe me. šŸ˜‰
      Anyway, great to see you again! Hope you’re settling into a nice, quiet, new year…. It’s been a warmer start than ours, I’m sure.

       
  5. llcooljoe

    January 15, 2016 at 6:04 pm

    Oh damn I wanted to see your puzzle too! I’m glad I’m not the only one who sits on the floor to do a jigsaw rather than at a table, but I also find after an hour of bending over my knees and back have a habit of locking! The joys of old age, ha. And on that happy note I’ll wish you a belated Happy new Year!

     
    • shadowrun300

      January 16, 2016 at 3:21 am

      Any more, it’s difficult to sit ANY way for an hour. I try to keep moving around while I’m working on the puzzle so that I don’t get too stiff.
      I’ll try to remember to take pictures of my finished puzzles so we can compare. I really like the ones you received at Christmas. I’m working on kittens in birdhouses right now, which is a nice and easy compared to the beach scene I just finished.

       

Leave a Reply

 
