RSS

The Return

24 Jan

Mario and I set foot in a bowling alley today for the first time since our emotionally stressful weekend.  But not to bowl.  Instead, she wanted to be there for her two teammates who had advanced to sectionals.  She quickly found out she’d rather bowl than be a spectator.  If you’ve never watched a tournament such as this, you’re missing out.  You get to stand shoulder to shoulder behind people with step stools and periscopes.  You’re forced to squeeze together in a 2 foot section in order to allow a path for people to walk to the restrooms or the snack bar or the fire exit.

You crane your neck to see a piece of the ball as it rolls down the lane, and you wait for the reaction of the team to determine if the bowler struck or not.  Some alleys have the score monitors hung from the ceiling, which is quite helpful for us short people.  We found it’s better to stand a few lanes down since that angle will allow you to look around the bowlers who stand in the pit in order to keep the energy pumping.

So it was almost as hard to spectate as it was for her not to bowl.  The good news is, she seems to be getting the itch to pick the ball up again.  Next week we plan to hit the lanes and practice her new release.  I’m still quite confident this change will allow her to improve exponentially.  If we thought she was good before, she’ll be even better now.

This weekend also marked the 51st birthday of my hubby.  We celebrated like old people do – a late lunch in the city, a few afternoon drinks at the bar next door, and home on the couch by 7.  Actually, it was so nice we may do it again on a non-birthday afternoon.  Only thing that would have made it better is 90 degree temps and a view of the ocean.   *sigh*   Someday.

And with that my weekend is over.  I’m thankful I don’t live on the east coast and will be able to travel quite easily to work in the morning.  Although a little part of me thinks it would be exciting to be buried in a couple feet of snow.  Safely of course.  With a fully functioning furnace.  And a freezer full of ice cream.  And not for too long ’cause I get antsy.  And I like to work.

Nevermind.  I’m thankful I don’t live on the east coast.  At least tonight.

 
10 Comments

Posted by on January 24, 2016 in Bowling, Family

 

10 responses to “The Return

  1. Tee

    January 24, 2016 at 1:34 pm

    I have never been to such a tournament. It sounds very intense!

    I’m glad to hear that Mario is feeling ready to tackle her bowling demons and move on. I knew it wouldn’t take long. Hearing about her makes me want to bowl better. I haven’t improved much in the past two years, and last night during leagues, I was so frustrated I wasn’t even having fun. I should probably look at getting some new equipment, and maybe participating in a clinic or something.

    Happy birthday to your hubby! I like the sounds of your celebration. Guess I’m an “old people” too.

    I had the same (fleeting) thoughts about being stuck home in a blizzard. And I also quickly realized I’d go a bit stir crazy being homebound. After a couple of weeks of below zero temps, we’re looking forward to a thirty degree day today!

     
    • shadowrun300

      January 25, 2016 at 4:46 am

      They are so crowded, and some teams have a LOUD following. They yell and cheer after every ball, so if you’re anywhere near them, it’s a little irritating. But I wouldn’t miss watching her bowl (or her friends) for anything.
      As for you, sometimes a little tweak is all that’s needed to make a difference. Just don’t change too much too suddenly. Mario will vouch for how frustrating that is!
      We hit 30 degrees today too! Balmy!

       
  2. agg79

    January 24, 2016 at 2:39 pm

    When you talk of spectating a bowling tournament, I keep thinking of the movie Kingpin. I haven’t been to a tournament, only watched a few on TV but I can bet the atmosphere was electric. I hope that Mario is able to hit the lanes soon and regain her form. I know she has the spark and will, time will improve the delivery.

    Happy Birthday to your hubby. No special cakes or pies for the birthday boy? Yea, getting up to that age changes your partying mantra. No more toga parties and tequila shots. More like a glass of wine (or beer) and a quiet dinner and in bed before 10 pm. Ah, we’re turning into our parents.

    I am watching the east coast on some webcams right now just keeping track of the snowmageddon. That’s why people tend to move down this direction. Slightly less chance of show/ice. Hurricanes and giant roaches, yes, but 3 feet snow drifts, not so much.

     
    • shadowrun300

      January 25, 2016 at 4:51 am

      No special cakes or pies for my hubby. Well, except for the one HE baked a couple of days before. I wish I’da thought to put a candle in the leftover pieces for him. 🙂
      We’re one of those people who will be moving your direction in a few years. If you wouldn’t mind, start moving the roaches north, would ya? I don’t want 3 feet of snow OR giant roaches. :/

       
  3. Abby

    January 24, 2016 at 6:54 pm

    Chaco bowled on the high school team, and I remember the tournaments being like you described. I’m glad Mario’s itching to get back up on that horse! I’m sure she’ll shine.

    Happy Birthday to your hubby, the old goat – ha ha! Wait… I’m 51… Glad you got out for an age appropriate celebration 🙂

     
    • shadowrun300

      January 25, 2016 at 4:58 am

      Unlike you, my hubby’s feeling his age. He tore his meniscus about a month ago and has been hobbling since. I remind him it’s a very “athletic” injury. I think it makes him feel better. (He actually tore it changing a tire on the side of a road.)
      This celebration was right up our alley! Even mine, and I’m a spry 46.

       
  4. Ms. CrankyPants

    January 25, 2016 at 2:58 pm

    Report from the trenches: my house is encased in about 30 inches of snow. My husband has a broken toe. He’s cranky. I regularly have to trot downstairs to fetch him coffee or water or beer (depending on the time of day). We’ve been stuck in the house together since Friday. Today, the heat pump wasn’t working, so Mr. Cranky waded through the drifts to shovel some snow away from the heat pump. We ran out of ice cream Saturday. I bought two of the same kind of frozen pizza that it turns out neither of us likes.

    The blizzard has officially stopped being fun! Looking forward to returning to work tomorrow! Who ever SAYS that???

     
    • shadowrun300

      January 28, 2016 at 2:20 am

      Ok. Not how I envisioned it. No cozying up by the fireplace with hot cocoa and a good book, huh?

      Hopefully by now you’ve dug out and have returned to some sense of normal. And hopefully Mr. Cranky is feeling better. Warm thoughts being sent your way!

       
  5. llcooljoe

    January 28, 2016 at 11:12 pm

    I think the novelty of being snowed in quickly goes when you are actually snowed in. 😀

    Happy Birthday to your hubby, it’s mine next Wednesday and I have the plumber coming in all day to fix the water that is coming through our dining room ceiling. Whoppee. I think next year I’m coming to your place to celebrate. 😀

     
    • shadowrun300

      January 29, 2016 at 5:06 am

      I’m sure you’re right about being snowed in. I quickly came to my senses.
      Happy early birthday to you! Having a leak free ceiling sounds like a pretty good birthday gift, but suffering through the process certainly doesn’t.
      How ’bout next year we go to Arizona for your birthdays. I like heat. 🙂

       

Leave a Reply

 
