RSS

One For the Team

29 Jan

I  took one for the team this morning.  The rest of the family, well Mario and Hubby, are sleeping peacefully.  I’m sipping coffee with a well-fed cat on my lap at 5:20 AM.

This on the day I was going to skip my workout and sleep in a little.

Oh well.  I’m still skipping my workout.

Gracie, don’t let the name fool you, is our force-adopted cat that Chip left behind when he went to school.  Maybe you remember, she’s the one who cries so pathetically when Chip isn’t around.  Now that it’s been a few months, she cries pathetically when my hubby is not around.  Or when he’s in our bedroom behind closed doors. Sleeping.  In fact, she just hopped off my lap and is now crying in front of our bedroom door again.  What am I? Chopped liver?!  Excuse me while I go get her….

We don’t let her in our bedroom because it’s Tiger’s only safe place.  Tiger, don’t let the name fool you, is bullied by Gracie who chases him through the house and occasionally catches him.  Tiger will run to our bedroom and cower in the corner until we realize what is happening.  We scold Gracie who looks at us innocently and pretends she doesn’t know what we’re talking about.

Anyway, when Gracie started crying a little after 5 this morning, I tried to get back to sleep.  No such luck.  And since my hubby was up even later than I last night, I gave in to her crying, fed her some breakfast, and started the coffee.

Now here I sit, trying to keep her quiet, while my family sleeps. Tomorrow, it’s back to being Hubby’s job.  This time of day is for the birds….  and cats.

Gracie

 

 

 
10 Comments

Posted by on January 29, 2016 in Uncategorized

 

10 responses to “One For the Team

  1. agg79

    January 30, 2016 at 12:56 pm

    Ah, such a catastrophe (I just HAD to say that). Cats can be such drama queens. One moment they are loving on you, the next moment, they go all Cujo on you. We have the same kind of drama with SIL’s cats. One’s the bully, one’s the joker, one’s the escape artist, one’s the Invisible man. Never a dull moment around that house. Almost like having the entire family under one roof. And it is funny how they can glom onto one person over another. Good for you to take one for team.

     
    • shadowrun300

      February 1, 2016 at 4:34 am

      Catastrophe! Wish I had thought of that! 🙂
      I can’t help but like our cats and their quirky personalities. My hubby works from home and is quite entertained by them, although it bothers him greatly that Gracie bullies Tiger. She knows she shouldn’t, but she can’t help herself. I think their antics have helped ease the pain of losing Chancie. She used to be his companion throughout the day.

       
  2. Abby

    January 30, 2016 at 7:07 pm

    Ha! “CATastrophe”! (sorry) But just look at how cute she is! Even so, taking one for the team is admirable of you.

    Napolion comes around crying at 5 a.m.-ish on occasion. But not because he necessarily misses anyone. He wants to be let outside to go kill something. I sometimes think about getting a second cat, but it would be ugly.

     
    • shadowrun300

      February 1, 2016 at 4:37 am

      She IS cute, the little brat. I suppose I feel lucky that she likes to eat store bought cat food and doesn’t feel the need to hunt wild game. (Wonder what Napolion thinks of antelope??)
      We’ll be happy to give Gracie back once Chip finishes school and gets his own place, but I have a feeling things will become quite boring around here.

       
  3. Tee

    January 31, 2016 at 1:59 pm

    My brother was complaining to me yesterday about the way his dogs stand on alert for any early morning movement by their people. Once they catch wind that someone may be awake, they don’t leave him alone. Now reading about your Gracie, I feel really fortunate that Lucy is a sleeper-inner. I’m often awake for a while before she surfaces from somewhere else in the house and lazily looks to me to feed her breakfast.

    p.s. I miss my cats on occasion, but reading this … maybe not so much anymore.

     
    • shadowrun300

      February 1, 2016 at 4:41 am

      Gracie just cries when she’s ready for my hubby to get up, whether he’s ready or not. Tiger, though, will sit by my face after my alarm clock goes off waiting for me to quit hitting snooze and get up.
      I’m kinda surprised to hear Lucy sleeps in! Lucky you!

      p.s. I’d miss my cats greatly if they weren’t here.

       
  4. Anita

    February 1, 2016 at 5:50 am

    I’m still up at 12:47 a.m. Way past my bed time! Maybe I should comment tomorrow when I’m fresh and can genuinely say, “Awwww… isn’t that a sweet story.” Right now, your cat darlings don’t seem to darling. 🙂

     
    • shadowrun300

      February 3, 2016 at 2:57 am

      Nothing is darling at that time of night!
      I work a lot of late hours which leads to late night comments on blog sites. I’m often afraid of them not making sense. Heck, sometimes I fall asleep in the middle of a sentence. Seriously.
      Hope you were able to get some sleep!

       
  5. llcooljoe

    February 12, 2016 at 9:22 am

    Excuse me for stating the obvious but couldn’t you just feed Gracie and pop her outside, or is she a house cat? She looks like a cutie. 😀

     
    • shadowrun300

      February 16, 2016 at 4:31 am

      She’s a house cat, so no. I couldn’t even feed her and go back to bed. What she really wants is my hubby, and only my hubby, to get up and keep her company. And she will cry at our door until he does. But yeah, she’s a cutie. 🙂

       

Leave a Reply

 
