RSS

My absence is excusable.

20 Feb

I am having the time of my life.  Seriously.  I absolutely love my job.  Never in a million years did I think I would be managing a hotel in downtown Midwest-ville.  I thought I was supposed to be a teacher, and take care of kids all day, including my own.  And while I wouldn’t trade those days for anything, I am much more suited for this job.

It’s been especially fun these last few months, which explains my absence from my blog.  My GM has been managing our hotel and my old hotel since December.  It was only supposed to be for a month, but it’s been going on for 3 months and will likely go on a while longer.  Since the other hotel is twice our size and twice as busy, he spends most of his time there.

So I have made it a point to make sure our hotel runs smoothly without him.  I’ve been making sure we keep up with our business goals as well as maintaining our customer service expectations.  I work with each department to make sure they are running properly and have everything they need.  And of course, I’m keeping up with my usual tasks that an assistant GM would normally do.   I am busy, busy, busy, and it is fun!

This past weekend was my biggest challenge yet, and I accepted that challenge with a vengeance.  The state volleyball championships were being held in the convention center next door, and hundreds of girls and their families  were planning to spend the long weekend with us.  It’s not unusual for us to have 450 people in the hotel, but we are upgrading one of our elevators and therefore only have one available. On top of that, our stairs are for emergency exit only making it difficult to take the stairs up.

I knew this was going to be a huge inconvenience for our guests, and so I made it a point to wow them in every other area.  I walked the stairs with them, I hung out in the atrium with them, and I constantly thanked them for their patience and understanding.  We laughed about how out of shape we are, even if we thought we weren’t.  At 10 pm, when I had to close the atrium for our quiet time, I offered up meeting room space so they could continue to party it up.  All weekend long I heard an abundance of compliments about our hotel and our staff.

The true test, though, are the surveys. They came pouring in soon after our guests checked out.  One after another, our guests told us we exceeded their expectations.  Oh, we had a few who were a little upset about the elevator, but overall, the surveys returned were very complimentary.  I felt such pride in our hotel, our staff, and dare I say, me.

I’ve had a few quiet days at the hotel since then, as well a few days off.  Which is a good thing.  We’re all gearing up for our next big group this coming weekend.  Monster Jam fans, young and old alike, will be taking over our hotel.  I’m gonna bet they’re not in as good of shape as the volleyball players and will balk a little more about the stairs.

But I’m ready for the challenge.  I’ll try not to wait another month to tell you all about it.

 

 
6 Comments

Posted by on February 20, 2016 in The Hotel

 

6 responses to “My absence is excusable.

  1. Abby

    February 20, 2016 at 8:08 pm

    Okay, what the heck… I thought I left a comment here. Let me speak to the manager!

    Well, maybe I’ll just try again. What a lot of people don’t think about is that hotels are open 24/7/365. There’s no real downtime for maintenance tasks, so these things just have to happen during operating hours, with hopefully the least amount of inconvenience to guests. I’m glad the volleyballers appreciated your extra efforts to compensate for the elevator and voiced them in the surveys. Now, on to Monster Jam!

    …although, I don’t know what Monster Jam is. You talkin’ trucks? Wrestling? Whaaat??

     
    • shadowrun300

      February 21, 2016 at 7:00 am

      What the heck? I had to moderate your comments for some reason. So you’re not going crazy. You did leave two comments. I only approved one. 🙂
      You’re right, guests don’t understand. And sometimes these things take time. So while we picked our slowest season to update the elevators, there are still some busy weekends here and there. It’s a 3 month project. Someone’s gonna suffer.
      Yes, Monster Jam is trucks. Big trucks. That’s all I know about that.

       
  2. Tee

    February 25, 2016 at 1:15 am

    Welcome back, Stranger! I was kind of wondering where you’d gone off to. I guess this is a pretty good excuse. I’m so glad that things are going so well for you. I have a friend who says that work is a necessary evil, so we might as well enjoy what we do. I think you’ve got that covered.

     
    • shadowrun300

      February 25, 2016 at 3:46 pm

      I feel pretty lucky that I love my job so much, and that my hubby supports it. I work long hours. Add to that the hour commute each way, and I’m gone from home 12-14 hours usually.
      When I’m off, I make sure to make time for him and my daughter. So it’s my blog that suffers. I still enjoy it though, so I’m trying not to wait too long between posts. 🙂

       
  3. Anita

    April 14, 2016 at 9:56 pm

    I’m impressed with your story – how you handled things pleasantly and efficiently, but gotta say that I’m even more impressed with your statement of absolutely loving your job! How blessed/lucky you are! When I hit the pavement again, I’d love to be able to say the same.:)

     
  4. shadowrun300

    April 16, 2016 at 5:23 am

    It’s after midnight here, and I just got home from my second 12 hour shift in a row. My feet hurt, I’m totally exhausted, but it was a great day. I know how blessed I am to love my job. And how lucky I am to have a husband who supports what I do. I hope you find something just as fulfilling when you’re ready to hit the pavement again!

     

Leave a Reply

 
