RSS

Just tell it like it is

04 Apr

Working in a hotel in downtown St. Louis, I see all kinds.  The low maintenance business traveler, the high maintenance business traveler.  The very appreciative families, the extremely picky moms.  The rule breakers.  And as you’ll soon see, the liars.

Saturday evening I took a call from a guest we had just checked in.  They had been assigned one of our unconventional loft suites.  “This room isn’t satisfactory”, she began.  “For one, it’s not big enough.   I’m traveling with a companion who is not my husband, and I will need something with more space.  We’re uncomfortable in here.”  I read through the flag on her account.  She’d called a few days before her arrival to ask to be changed to a suite.  She had booked a king bed since that was all that was available at the time, and gave the desk agent the same story she told me.  “I’m traveling with a companion who is not my husband, and I will need a suite.”  She was told by our desk agent that this loft room was all we had available and explained the setup to her.  She seemed fine at the time.

Fast forward to the day of arrival, and she’s no longer fine.  Still sold out, I looked through the remaining arrivals to see who I could boot from their suite to accommodate this guest.  I asked her to meet me at the new room to verify it would be sufficient.  She took her male companion with her.

I stayed back while they looked over the layout of the room.  She seemed ok with the new room, only informing me she would need more towels.  “Four sets won’t be enough?” I questioned.   She stumbled over her response, and I agreed to bring her more towels.

She insisted on transferring their luggage from the old room to the new by themselves.  What she didn’t count on was that I was heading to the room right next to their old room to assist a guest.

And that’s when I saw the real story.  Out of the loft room walked two other adults.

For the life of me, I cannot figure out why she would make up such an elaborate story in order to get a bigger room.  JUST TELL ME YOU HAVE 4 PEOPLE IN THE ROOM!  I wanted to shout.

Instead, I wished them a good night, and asked them to reach out to me if they needed anything more.

I’m still shaking my head.

Moral of the story – Tell us the truth so we can accommodate you from the beginning.   Of course if everyone does that, I may miss out on some good head-shaking fun.

 
9 Comments

Posted by on April 4, 2016 in The Hotel

 

9 responses to “Just tell it like it is

  1. Abby

    April 5, 2016 at 1:59 am

    Geez, you’d think if she was gonna lie about it, she’d do a better job of hiding all of her other companions who are not her husband!
    Do you feel like you’re back teaching elementary kids?

     
  2. shadowrun300

    April 5, 2016 at 2:30 am

    It cracks me up that people think they need to make up some elaborate story to hide something that we don’t really care about. Now if you had 15 kids, 10 pizzas and a dozen balloons, you better hope I don’t find out. But two other guests? JUST TELL US!
    And yes. I often times think I have to use the same tactics when running the hotel that I did when teaching. Gotta love it.

     
  3. Tee

    April 5, 2016 at 10:39 pm

    Okay, I have to admit, I was hoping for a much juicier ending than that! I really thought with all of that build-up, she’d have been hiding something crazier than a couple of extra guests!

     
    • shadowrun300

      April 6, 2016 at 2:22 am

      Exactly! Why go through that much trouble to hide 2 extra guests? Save that kind of story for something, like you said, juicy. Hmmm…. Maybe they’re ALL traveling with companions who aren’t their spouses…..

       
      • Tee

        April 6, 2016 at 2:23 am

        Now THAT would be a story!!!

         
  4. Anita

    April 6, 2016 at 5:56 pm

    Did she think that 4 people would cost more? Other than that, I can’t imagine why the big lie either. Give yourself a pat on the back for your coolness in handling it!

     
    • shadowrun300

      April 8, 2016 at 2:04 am

      It’s likely that’s what she thought, so I can see sneaking them in. But to make up such an elaborate story… I’m still shaking my head. What she may not know is that we wouldn’t have cared. We’re pretty nice that way.

       
  5. llcooljoe

    April 27, 2016 at 6:37 pm

    I was expecting a more juicy ending too. Mind you you didn’t say whether the other two guests were male too. Maybe she was an up-market call girl and they were her clients for the evening. 😀

     
    • shadowrun300

      April 29, 2016 at 5:06 am

      I hate to spoil your juicier ending, but the other two were male and female. We can still say they were her clients, though. In fact, let’s do. It makes for a much better story. 🙂

       

Leave a Reply

 
