RSS

I haven’t let go yet

01 May

When you let something go for as long as I have, it’s easy to just keep letting it go. I suppose I’m not quite ready to quit blogging though, so I’m forcing myself to sit down and write.

It’s not like nothing’s happened here in the last few weeks.  It’s just that it’s all been about the hotel, and how many blog posts can be about that?

At least one more, I guess.

We now have 2 working elevators.  It was a long time coming – four months in fact – and with a hotel full of 500+ robotics kids and their families, it’s quite a relief not to worry about it this weekend.

I love this robotics convention.  The kids are so well behaved and respectful.  They spend their time strategizing and planning, not running around the hotel while their parents sit in the dining area with coolers.

Not only that, they stay for 4-5 nights which makes for very easy days once they’re checked in.  Easy for the housekeepers, easy for the desk, easy for me.  And they LOVE us, which always makes hosting them a pleasurable experience.

Really, the entire city benefits from them.  Every hotel is booked up with these competitors and their families, and they all go out in groups to patronize the restaurants.

So it’s a little disappointing that next year will be their last.  They’ve come for at least 6 years in a row, and for a reason I’m not privy to, they’re splitting their convention between Detroit and Houston.

It’ll be a huge loss for us.  In many ways.

In other news, I’m enjoying having a Saturday off.  A rare feat in this industry, but a necessity, as it’s Mario’s Junior prom night.  I wanted to be here for her to, you know, write the check for the hair and makeup, and zip up the dress, and soothe her when her shoe broke….

As I was helping her dress, I couldn’t help think how wedding day-ish prom can be.   Good practice I suppose.

image

 
7 Comments

Posted by on May 1, 2016 in Family, Parenting, The Hotel

 

7 responses to “I haven’t let go yet

  1. Abby

    May 1, 2016 at 5:38 pm

    I would say that the typical robotics kids/parents I know are not ones to trash a hotel! Glad you hosted them as long as you did. And happy working elevators.

    Mario looks beautiful! I’m glad you were there to keep everything under control, and I hope she had a wonderful time. Feel free to continue not letting go 🙂

     
    • shadowrun300

      May 2, 2016 at 4:20 am

      Soccer kids need to take a lesson from the robotics kids. And soccer moms should too. (At least the ones that stay at my hotel…)
      Mario had a grand time, but by the end of the night her feet were killing her. I’m thinking tennis shoes are a better idea for next year. You wouldn’t see them anyway. 🙂

       
  2. Tee

    May 3, 2016 at 2:25 am

    Welcome back! (And trust me, I know how easy it would be to let blogging go. I’ve tossed it around a time or two myself. But I’ve just decided to write when I can and not write when I can’t.)

    What? Mario is NOT a junior already!?! Oh my gosh, she looks just beautiful! I hope she had a fantastic time. Two of my kids went to proms in high school and really had the time of their lives.

    So glad to hear the elevators are in working order again. And it’s awesome to hear about a group of kids and their families who are so respectful and polite. Wish more kids were like that.

     
    • shadowrun300

      May 3, 2016 at 2:32 am

      Mario DID have a fantastic time! I remember my prom as only being ok, but she just raved about how fun hers was. Then again, she’s much more outgoing and social than I ever was.
      I wish all our groups were this respectful, young and old alike. Hard to blame the kids for misbehaving and causing a ruckus when the parents are allowing them to run wild so they can be left alone for a while. Yep, these guys were a fresh of breath air. 🙂

       
  3. llcooljoe

    May 8, 2016 at 8:37 pm

    I’m battling with my blog too but don’t feel ready to stop, I’m glad you don’t either!

    Mario looks beautiful.

    I was thinking of you when I was in Palma because I realised how much the hotel staff did to make our time in the hotel as enjoyable as possible. They hired a car for us for the day, they suggested and booked restaurants for us that weren’t even connected to the hotel, so in fact they were losing business by us not eating in the hotel. They extended our leaving time in the suite on the last day so we had it until we had to leave to get to the airport. So as I left I said the lady on the desk thank you for a lovely time. I think she was touched. I wouldn’t have done that before, but after reading your blog I realised how much you all do to make our stay as wonderful as possible.

     
    • shadowrun300

      May 9, 2016 at 2:59 am

      Well, I’M touched by what you said, so I’m quite sure she was as well. The hotel you stayed at sounds like they’re as concerned as we are about you enjoying your stay. A lot of time, effort and patience goes into creating a “lovely” experience for our guests, so when someone notices it, and takes the time to mention it, it makes all the effort worth while.
      I’m happy you’re not ready to stop blogging. It’s one of my favorite places to visit after a long day at work. 🙂

       
      • llcooljoe

        May 13, 2016 at 8:19 pm

        Aww thanks, that’s made my evening. 🙂

         

Leave a Reply

 
