RSS

Happy Mother’s Day!

12 May

So I’m a little late… But I mean it just the same.  My mom didn’t seem to mind that I called her 3 days late, so I figured my mom blog friends would be okay with it too.  I blame it on my life as a hotel manager.

So yeah, I worked Mother’s Day, but it was still my favorite Mother’s Day to date.

I told my kids all I wanted was to go out to breakfast with everyone before I went to work.  Their present to me was to wake up early that morning and be dressed and ready to go by 8 AM.

After we ordered our meal, my daughter insisted I open my card.  The boys continued their conversations as I began reading and tears began rolling down my cheeks.   Mario’s “Aww, Mom…”  made them turn my way.

Chip, Amp, Mario and my hubby had all written little blurbs of how much I mean to them, and I was touched beyond belief.  As I wiped my tears, Chip and Amp embellished on what they had written, saying they feel so lucky to have us as parents.

I could barely speak.  I think I told them how proud I was of them, and how grateful I was that even though I work ALL THE TIME, they still feel like they can come to me for help or advice.  I always worry that I’m not giving them enough, but that day I found out that they think I am, and they seemed genuinely appreciative.

I brought the card with me to work that afternoon, and read through it multiple times.  My heart swelling more and more each time.  In fact, I’m still carrying the card around and sneak a peak whenever I need an uplifting moment.

The only thing that would have made that day better is if Link had been here too. But he called on my way in to work, and he, too, told me how much I mean to him.  I didn’t think my heart could take much more.

I’ve got great kids.  I don’t know how I did it, but I’ve got great kids.  And I couldn’t be happier or more relieved that they think I’m a great mom.  Not sure how or what, but I must be doing something right.  So I’ll just keep on keeping on – loving them, accepting them, and making time whenever I can.

 

 
13 Comments

Posted by on May 12, 2016 in Family, Parenting

 

13 responses to “Happy Mother’s Day!

  1. Abby

    May 12, 2016 at 10:55 pm

    Happy belated Mother’s Day! and GO YOU! What a great gift from your kids – and well deserved, I know. Plus… up and dressed by 8 am on a Sunday?!? You’ve got skillz!
    Well, you can cherish that card and the memory of it forever. I recently read (again) that moms are only as happy as their least happy child. Stay happy!

     
    • shadowrun300

      May 13, 2016 at 1:45 am

      Not sure about the well deserved part, but it was definitely a great gift. And yes, 8 am on a Sunday! They either really love me, or really love food.
      And I believe that line about happy moms. It’s amazing how their happiness can affect mine.

       
  2. llcooljoe

    May 13, 2016 at 8:18 pm

    We had mother’s day months ago in the UK, but I’m glad you had such wonderful cards and messages from your kids. You are obviously loved very much, especially to be washed and dressed at 8.00am on a Sunday!

     
    • shadowrun300

      May 14, 2016 at 4:05 am

      Well, they have a mom who doesn’t cook at all for them, so if a meal is involved, they’ll make sure to be there. But maybe a little love was involved. 🙂

       
  3. Tee

    May 15, 2016 at 12:45 pm

    Aw, what an awesome Mothers Day gift. Gifts from the heart are always better than anything material, aren’t they?

    You DO have great kids, and it IS because you’re doing things right. There isn’t a cookie cutter mold for life and how we do it. Everyone has to figure out how to make things work inside of their own circumstances. It’s obvious you and your hubby have figured that out.

    Happy (belated) Mothers Day!

     
    • shadowrun300

      May 25, 2016 at 12:50 am

      There’s certainly a lot of things I’d do differently if I knew then what I know now. But one thing’s for sure. I love them and fully support them, and will help in any way I can.
      Happy (belated) Mother’s Day to you too! 🙂

       
  4. Ramzu Zahini

    May 24, 2016 at 4:36 am

    I don’t celebrate mother’s day even though my mom lives five minutes away from me. My sisters celebrated the day with her, with their own children.
    I am a loner by nature.

     
    • shadowrun300

      May 25, 2016 at 12:55 am

      Thanks for visiting Ramzu! I see you over at Abby’s quite often, but don’t know you’re story yet. I’ll have to come visit you. 🙂

       
  5. Rock Chef

    May 24, 2016 at 3:54 pm

    Great kids don’t just happen, they need great parents, ESPECIALLY a great mother…

     
    • shadowrun300

      May 25, 2016 at 1:01 am

      I was just thinking about you RC! Great to see you back again! You and Mrs. RC seem to be fantastic parents and have raised some great kids yourself. Very inspirational to me.

       
  6. lottajoy

    May 30, 2016 at 6:39 pm

    Huge congratulations on having great kids and a good mother’s day. Remember, they’re the ones who will choose your nursing home.

     
    • shadowrun300

      May 31, 2016 at 3:04 am

      Well thank you, but I have a hard time believing I’m the reason they turned out to be great kids.
      As of now, I think I’m on my way to a pretty good home. Just gotta stay on their good side….

       
  7. lottajoy

    May 30, 2016 at 6:39 pm

    Huge congratulations on having great kids and a good mother’s day. Remember, they’re the ones who will choose your nursing home.

     

Leave a Reply

 
