RSS

Wait’ll you hear this…

02 Jun

Memorial Day weekend at the hotel is usually a zoo, and this past weekend was no different.

Families from all over came to spend the weekend with us.  When everything works right, this is a great thing.  But of course, not everything works right.

We had troubles with the key making machines, with the super microwave, with the proofer, with the A/Cs.  In the midst of all this we had to close the pool for “unexpected maintenance” (read kid pooped in the pool).  Add to that all the guest requests for extra pillows, blankets, towels and we were running silly all night.

Perfect night for someone to take advantage of us.  As our front desk agent was counting off her drawer that evening, she notified me that she was short $180.  I asked her to check all the normal shortage possibilities, as I continued to try and keep a handle on the rest of the hotel.  When she couldn’t find the cause, I let her know we would try to find it in the morning when things weren’t so chaotic.

The next day, I put my detective skills to work.  Having recorded the times of all the cash payments from the night before, I went through the camera footage.  Minutes into it, I found the culprit.  He had pulled one over on our desk agent, and with the busyness  of the day, she didn’t catch it.  He signed that he’d given us cash, but never actually handed it over.  The footage shows him putting it up on the counter, then taking it away when she looked away.

I brought the other manager in to take a look.  “That’s my guy!” He exclaimed.

Huh?

Turns out, that guy had come down early Sunday morning to get his money back from the night before.  Said his A/C wasn’t working, and we weren’t able to fix it.  J, the other manager, had tried to offer him a free night certificate to come back, but the guest wanted his money back.  So J gave it back to him.

So now, not only did he not pay us the night before, but we gave him money back that he’d never given us!  We had paid HIM to stay.

Knowing he was there a second night, I kept my eyes open for him.  When I got the chance, I approached him.

“Mr. Guest,” I began.  “I know you didn’t pay us for the room Saturday night.  I also know you came down Sunday to get money back you never actually gave us.  I’m asking you to do the right thing and return that money to us.”  I explained we’d still honor the comped night, but we wanted the money he wasn’t owed, back.

He mumbled on and on about how he signed that he gave us cash, and that it was her fault.  I didn’t disagree, but reminded him I’d seen video footage and know he didn’t actually give it to her.  He kept mumbling.  I kept asking him to do the right thing.  He finally caved and came down with me to return the money.

It ain’t over yet.

The next morning he came down once again asking for his money back from the second night.  Said he didn’t enjoy his stay at all, and didn’t feel he should have to pay.

The same desk agent was working the desk, and our General Manager who knew the whole story was there too.

“Not a chance,” he said.

I can’t believe the nerve of some people.  I’ve run into some doozies in my years at the hotel, but have never come across a guy like this.

Never a dull moment.

 
10 Comments

Posted by on June 2, 2016 in The Hotel

 

10 responses to “Wait’ll you hear this…

  1. Ramzu Zahini

    June 3, 2016 at 2:34 pm

    🙂 And I told students of mine to be careful if they wanted a life of crime.
    Cameras are now everywhere and technology can always get you.
    I am right in this, hahaha.

     
    • shadowrun300

      June 4, 2016 at 4:28 am

      Exactly right. In this day and age, it’s difficult to get away with anything. But this guy was gonna keep trying. Even after he knew we had him on camera!

       
  2. Tee

    June 4, 2016 at 1:14 pm

    Unbelievable! Except it’s not. Some people are so sketchy. How sad that someone would do such a thing and not feel guilt about it. In fact, had he gotten away with it, I’ll bet he would have bragged to all his friends about it. Hopefully since you called him out on his actions face to face, he’ll never darken your doors again.

     
    • shadowrun300

      June 7, 2016 at 1:53 pm

      There’s was no remorse at all, so I was a bit shocked that he came down with me to return the money. And since he dared to ask the same front desk agent for his money back again, I’m thinking he’d dare to darken our doors again. Let him try… 🙂

       
  3. lottajoy

    June 4, 2016 at 11:17 pm

    To me, the main thing is that YOU had to confront HIM. “In this day and age”, the thing is to never approach anyone for doing wrong or you might get shot. You’re my new hero.

     
    • shadowrun300

      June 7, 2016 at 1:55 pm

      Believe me. I was a little nervous about approaching him. But very proud of myself afterwards! I tend to shy away from confrontation, so he brought out a whole new me!

       
  4. Abby

    June 5, 2016 at 9:15 pm

    Yeah. They’re out there. Sadly, I’ve seen it. Doncha just LOVE cameras, though!?
    Whatta jerk.

     
    • shadowrun300

      June 7, 2016 at 1:57 pm

      Cameras are a necessity this day and age! They’re what gave me confidence to approach him, and likely why he didn’t fight me for too long. He knew he was caught.

       
  5. llcooljoe

    June 7, 2016 at 6:47 pm

    Well done for approaching him about it, very brave.

    My older daughter got told off at her job for apparently letting a young child go out to play in the garden when he shouldn’t. She works in a nursery. My daughter was adamant that she didn’t let the child out and that he only got as far as the door. They didn’t believe her, until the watched the CTV footage and found out she did the right thing after all and the boy wasn’t in the garden. Thank goodness for the camera!

     
    • shadowrun300

      June 9, 2016 at 4:45 pm

      I’m becoming a bigger and bigger fan of cameras. Especially now that I’ve heard your daughter’s story.
      I still don’t like confrontation, but I’m finding it gets easier each time. Unfortunately, I’ve had much practice at it as a manager.

       

Leave a Reply

 
