RSS

Bon Voyage?

09 Jun

As happens every year, this summer is flying by, and I don’t seem to have much to show for it.

We’ve had a lot going on at the hotel.  Obviously some families are starting their summers off with a bang.  I love to see it, but it’s a good reminder I’ve got nothing going on.  And neither do the two college boys who have taken up camp in our house this summer.

So this past “weekend”, I drug the boys outa bed.  “We’re going on a field trip,” I told ’em. First stop was Sugarfire BBQ, a new restaurant right down the street from my hotel.  Figured I better test it out myself since I send people there all the time.  I had a great lunch of brisket and pulled pork with a side of fries and green beans.  The boys tested out the baked beans and the potato salad.  And we all came to the same conclusion. Delish!

From there, we made our way to Grafton, IL, a small town along the Mississippi River.  Grafton has been the home of the Nina and Pinta replicas for the past few weeks and they were only going to be there a few days longer.


image

image

image

image

image

image

image

The ships were very interesting to see, and the crew had some great stories of Columbus’s adventures along with their own.  Both boys mentioned they’d love to be apart of the crew.   Hubby and I jumped at the chance to send them off to sea, and grabbed a crew member immediately.   We asked tons of questions and figured out what they needed to do to join.

Chip is still showing interest in joining and has filled out an application.  Although the ships have left our area, if he’s asked to join, he can pick it up where ever they’re docked.

All that’s left to do now is sit and wait.  Chip has lots of practice with that.  Amp too for that matter.

Is it too early to be ready for school to start back up?

 
9 Comments

Posted by on June 9, 2016 in Everyday Living, Family

 

9 responses to “Bon Voyage?

  1. Abby

    June 10, 2016 at 2:29 pm

    Wow, great idea for a field trip! I would love to see replicas of the Nina and Pinta (No Santa Maria?), so thanks for the photos. A job as a crew member sounds like a fun summer gig too – nowadays anyway. In Columbus’ time, maybe not so much.

     
    • shadowrun300

      June 12, 2016 at 4:36 am

      When we asked the guide what the hardest part of his job was, he said answering the same questions over and over again. Like, “No Santa Maria?” Apparently, Columbus didn’t like the Santa Maria, or something like that….
      It was fun to see the ships and think about what it may have been like to explore in them. Yeah, probably much nicer nowadays. We took a peak at their cabins below, and I’m quite sure they’re a bit more updated than they were way back then.

       
  2. Tee

    June 11, 2016 at 1:19 pm

    How cool to be able to tour the replicas of the Nina and the Pinta. AND that your boys had an opportunity to consider being a member of the crew. What a great life experience that would be. I hope they get the chance.

    And don’t worry … school will be in session again before you know it! 🙂

     
    • shadowrun300

      June 12, 2016 at 4:42 am

      It’s certainly exciting to think about them having that opportunity. I think my hubby would jump at the chance to do it as well. They all spend so much time at home. I have my own adventures every day. It’d be great if they had that chance as well. 🙂

       
  3. llcooljoe

    June 16, 2016 at 12:54 pm

    What a great opportunity that would be for your sons, I hope it happens. My younger daughter finishes college next week and doesn’t start her new college until September. Oh happy days ahead!

     
    • shadowrun300

      June 18, 2016 at 12:06 am

      If it doesn’t happen this summer, we’ll push for it again next summer. I know Chip especially would love the experience!
      Enjoy the next few months with your daughter! Hopefully she’ll be better at keeping herself busy than my boys are. 🙂

       
  4. Ramzu Zahini

    June 23, 2016 at 2:41 am

    I love meat. But I still cannot comprehend why people roast / smoke meat for HOURS, even days. I like my meat a bit raw and cannot bring myself to like this fork-tender mushy meat.
    That’s just me 🙂

     
    • shadowrun300

      June 24, 2016 at 2:21 am

      Wait, what? Meat smoked for hours to be fork-tender mushy is the BEST way to eat it. But that’s just me. 😉

       
      • Ramzu Zahini

        June 30, 2016 at 2:14 am

        I might be a carnivore / dragon in my past life 🙂 I like to bit and chew my meat. I always have meat in the fridge 🙂

         

Leave a Reply

 
