RSS

I saw him with my own eyes!

28 Jun

Link’s been battling a few issues these last few months, and although he tells me he’s handling it ok, I know deep down it’s bothering him.

And since it’s bothering him, it’s bothering me.  After a while, texts and phone calls aren’t enough, and I just gotta see with my own eyes that he’s ok.

So last week I rounded up all the boys – my hubby, Chip and Amp – and we took off for Columbus.

We crammed a lot into the two days we were there.  An eye doctor visit to determine if his keratoconus is worsening (maybe a little), a walk down a beautiful wooded trail near his house, a stroll along the riverfront followed by a fantastic meal, and an afternoon of a competitive game of mini-golf.

Hubby and I on the golf course.

Hubby and I on the golf course.

image

Our view from the restaurant.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Chip and Amp spent the evenings at Link’s house for some quality brotherly time.  They gamed, played ping pong, and were treated to Link’s speciality of homemade hamburgers and milk shakes. Hubby and I spent the evenings at our hotel for our own quality time.

Throughout the days, I found time to talk and listen and share advice with Link.  It’s tough being his age and having to deal with the issues he’s dealing with, but he’s managing it on his own, and I’m proud of him.

I left with a heavy heart, knowing it would be another 6 months til I see him again.  Thank goodness for cell phones and texts.

 

 
8 Comments

Posted by on June 28, 2016 in Family

 

8 responses to “I saw him with my own eyes!

  1. lottajoy

    June 28, 2016 at 8:53 pm

    My sister isn’t one for texting (neither am I) or talking on the phone (neither am I) or driving 800 miles for a drive-by visit (neither am I). And one day sooner than we know, there won’t BE a sister to text, phone, or drive 800 miles to visit. Only THEN will everyone hear all the “after the fact” moaning of “WHY didn’t we at least text, call, or visit when we had the chance”. Now, our chances really are coming to a halt. Neither one of us are up to doing any of it.

    Brothers are more precious than gold. You’ll have memories galore before the chances stop.

     
    • shadowrun300

      June 28, 2016 at 9:53 pm

      It’s true.
      Sometimes texts don’t seem like enough, but then I think about how nice we have it that we CAN text. Just today we had a nice “conversation” while he was at work. Something we wouldn’t likely have done before texts.
      It was important to me to get the boys together. Everyday life often gets in the way of that happening. It was good for them and good for me. And in 6 more months, we can do it again.
      I wish you and your sister were a little closer, but I know she’s happy that you’re happy where you are. (Finally. 🙂 )

       
  2. Abby

    June 29, 2016 at 2:53 pm

    How nice you all got out to visit Link! Two days is a whole lot better than nothing. On paper, they’re adults, but you’ll always be Mom and Dad. And brothers are forever.

     
    • shadowrun300

      June 30, 2016 at 4:05 am

      It was so good to see him. It was kind of a spur of the moment trip, but I needed to make sure he was ok. He is of course. And is handling things so well. But I’m his mom, and I worry.
      And it was good to see the “kids” playing together again. 🙂

       
  3. Ramzu Zahini

    June 30, 2016 at 2:12 am

    I live close to my mom and now all of my siblings except one live close to one another. I must admit i am not very close to my brothers and sisters, and i blame boarding school and my time away from home.

     
    • shadowrun300

      June 30, 2016 at 4:09 am

      Boarding school could very well do that. All families are different. Mine included. We’re not exactly close knit, but we do get along pretty good.

       
  4. llcooljoe

    July 10, 2016 at 8:48 pm

    That view from the restaurant is amazing.

    I’m sorry Link is going through a tough time at the moment. I hope things improve for him. It must be awful to be so far away from one of your kids when they are going through a bad patch. I’m glad you got to see him for a bit anyway.

     
    • shadowrun300

      July 11, 2016 at 12:58 am

      Thanks Joey. It’s very hard for me to be this far away when he’s struggling with many different things right now. But I also know it’s been very good for him to be there. It’s helped him grow up, and he’s gained so much confidence in his abilities to handle things. But still. I worry.

       

Leave a Reply

 
