RSS

So this happened…

06 Jul

About six months ago I gave up ice cream in favor of fruit and yogurt smoothies.  They do a body gooder.  And at my age, as much as I push myself, I needed gooder food than ice cream to keep me going.

So last night after work, I set out blending my favorite mixture of Greek yogurt, strawberries, dark cherries, blueberries, bananas and kale.  This is a nightly ritual for me, and after a long day at work, I’m usually fixing it on auto-pilot.  I pour everything into the blender, turn it on high, and use a spoon to push the frozen fruit down into the mix.  The next thing I knew, the spoon hit the blade, the mixture erupted out of the blender, I shrieked and let go of the spoon, which splattered out more of the smoothie, and by the time I found the off button, well….

I looked like this….

 

 

image

And the ceiling looked like that.  And the floor.  And the cabinets.  Worse, I had to keep the frozen mixture on my head until my hubby could find his phone and take a pic.  Joy.

I cleaned myself up and sat down with what was left.  I was still picking out bits of fruit and kale this morning before my bike ride…

on my brand new bike!

image

I haven’t been on a ride since my tragic accident two years ago, but I was somehow convinced to ride a 175 mile MS Bike ride in September, so I figured I better get back on it.  In two rides, she has 52 miles on her.  Not too shabby for being a little bit gun shy, but she makes me feel pretty secure.  Both brakes work for one.  Perhaps I’ll call her “Grace” in the hopes that she’ll keep me safe.

Anyway… Hope you all were able to celebrate our Independence this past weekend.  I celebrated with 400 of my closest friends at the hotel.  And although it was a great time, I plan to enjoy my belated holiday weekend that started today!

Wait.  No fireworks?

 
15 Comments

Posted by on July 6, 2016 in Blunders

 

15 responses to “So this happened…

  1. Abby

    July 7, 2016 at 4:01 am

    Well, you take “You ARE what you eat” to new levels! I imagine it was at least nice and cooling in the summer heat?

    “Grace” is a beaut! Specialized, niiiice. I’m glad you’ve gotten back up on that (horse) bike. And for a good cause, no less!

     
    • shadowrun300

      July 7, 2016 at 2:41 pm

      It was definitely cooling, but bordering on the edge of freezing my skin while my hubby looked for his phone.
      Grace is proving to be a good purchase, and with each ride I feel a little more comfortable and less scared of wrecking. I’m looking forward to my long ride in September!

       
  2. agg79

    July 8, 2016 at 10:13 am

    Well, I thought you were making some sort of new fashion statement. It gives new meaning to the expression: “You wear it well”. (I can’t use the old “what you eat” saying since Abby already used it). Oh, and I get how your hubby HAD to take a picture – hold still Honey while I get my camera phone…

    Grace is a nice looking bike. I’m glad to see you climb back up into the saddle and hit the streets again. Just don’t “hit” the streets like last time.

    And, yes, I am still alive and kicking….

     
    • shadowrun300

      July 9, 2016 at 1:57 am

      I was just thinking of you! Good to hear from you again. 🙂
      We got a good laugh out of my misfortune, though I wasn’t laughing the next day when I was scrubbing blueberries off my ceiling. Wait, yes I was. It was still pretty funny the next day too.
      Looking forward to heading to your place soon. You got some catchin’ up to do!

       
  3. lottajoy

    July 10, 2016 at 3:19 am

    That’s what you get for putting kale in it. But honestly, sweetie, my husband and I talk all the time about how ironic it is when runners get killed by cars, or heart attacks. We were watching a tribute to Patrick Swayze tonight and mentioning his beautifully conditioned body having pancreatic cancer.

    When I die, I’m going to die on the couch with a warm pie in my lap and a fork in my hand. Either way, we die…..but you could have died with a smoothy on your face, stabbed by a blender blade.

     
    • shadowrun300

      July 11, 2016 at 1:13 am

      I worked with a guy who would tell me “You’re just going to die healthy”. And it’s true. But I love physical challenges and have learned I have to eat properly if I want my body to keep up with me. Don’t get me wrong though. I love a good pie.

       
  4. llcooljoe

    July 10, 2016 at 8:43 pm

    Ha ha, that photo is a classic! I assumed you were showing yourself with a face pack on. 😀 Who knows you may have invented an amazing new face cream that takes 10 years off you?

     
    • shadowrun300

      July 11, 2016 at 1:16 am

      Well, as of today, I don’t see a difference in how old I look. :/
      So maybe don’t try it at home….

       
  5. Ramzu Zahini

    July 12, 2016 at 4:49 am

    Frozen fruit smoothie… yum! I ruined 2 blenders before this because of ice blending. Now i have a bigger and heavier blender to do my blending with.
    Fruits are rather expensive here. So I blend ice with cocoa powder instead for a chocolate treat.

     
    • shadowrun300

      July 18, 2016 at 1:01 pm

      I’ve ruined a few blenders myself. Surprised I didn’t ruin this one with the spoon.
      I like the idea of a chocolate treat! I may have to do some experimenting with that. 🙂

       
  6. Anita

    July 18, 2016 at 1:08 am

    Like that bike! Can I see myself on it? hmmm… I might be ready for a pastel cruising granny bike. They make some cute ones nowadays. But until then, I can still bend my back on the bike I have. Enjoy yours! By this time, you’ve got tons of miles on it.

    Your smoothie episode sounds like something from I love Lucy. 🙂

    Your comment on my post makes me wonder what kind of job I’d like when I return. Though an introvert, I can be quite talkative. Would I want a job where I’d be doing that, or one where I worked from home or had little contact with gobs of people. Something for me to think about.

     
    • shadowrun300

      July 18, 2016 at 1:06 pm

      I have seen a few of those pastel cruising granny bikes around town, and love them! But they wouldn’t do well on a 175 mile ride.
      We laughed for the longest time over my smoothie episode. I did feel a little like Lucy. 🙂
      I like alone time, but I also like to feel I’ve EARNED alone time. I’m definitely earning it as a hotel manager. Whatever you decide to do, I hope you love it as much as I do.

       
      • Anita

        July 19, 2016 at 2:55 am

        175 mile ride? I guessed I missed the post about that. That’s why your bike is so nice and sleek!

        Thank you for your nice thought for me regarding where I might someday work. I am “happy” for you and appreciate you wishing it to me when the time comes.

         
  7. Rock Chef

    July 19, 2016 at 4:21 pm

    Your skin will now be super smooth!

    Love the bike, although I could never ride anything that low slung – I like to have my head up!

    Have fun on the ride!

     
    • shadowrun300

      July 20, 2016 at 12:43 am

      My smoothie served a dual purpose that night!
      There are times I like to have my head up too, but when I’m riding for distance, this bike is perfect. I’ll let you know how the ride goes!

       

Leave a Reply

 
