RSS

Girl Trip Gone Better

21 Jul

The last time I went on a road trip with my daughter, we came back in tears.

Since then, Mario has made remarkable strides with her bowling.  Enough so, that we decided it was worth the trip to Indiana for a week long bowling tournament.

This tournament is the largest youth bowling tournament in the world.  There are over 700 girls in her division alone, and people come from all over for a chance to win the Junior Gold title and possibly a spot on the USA Team.  It’s HUGE for young boys and girls alike.

Mario qualified for this tournament before going to Chicago where the problems began.  Well, not really problems necessarily, but changes.  She’s had to learn a whole new way of bowling, and a lot of her confidence was taken away.

After her tears dried, she got back on the lanes and fought hrough her demons.  She  practiced daily, worked with a coach, and has gotten most of her confidence back.

So she was excited to travel to Indy, meet some of her favorite pros, and bowl with hundreds of girls who would give her a run for her money.

And they certainly have.  Her scores haven’t been overly impressive, but her attitude, focus, and determination definitely have been.  The first day of competition, the ball stuck to her hand and pulled her down.  Her greatest fear had been realized, yet she picked herself up, laughed with her teammates, and bowled again.  Every day after that, the ball stuck to her hand at least once during the day, but she didn’t let it crumble her.  It’s very scary for me to watch it happen, but I am incredibly proud of her resilience.  I know she’ll overcome this, and will be back on this “stage” again next year.  Bigger and better.

image

 

image

 

We’ve also taken advantage of all the down time between tournaments.  We went to a movie, swam in the pool, and paddle boated along the canal.

Oh, and can’t forget…  Caught tons of Pokemon.  In fact, the canal was FULL of people, old and young alike, catching Pokemon, finding Poke’ stops, and taking over gyms.  I found myself telling Mario to watch her step, move to the side, look out for the pylons…  And wondered how everyone else could see where they were going with their nose to their phones.  Even so, it was great to see all these people out walking around.  I know it’s getting my kids out of the house more.

Now off I go to her final match.  Six days of bowling – every bowler’s dream – is coming to an end.

Keep your fingers crossed for a smooth release each and every time.  (Next time you can wish for a win….)

 

 

 

 

 
10 Comments

Posted by on July 21, 2016 in Bowling, Family

 

10 responses to “Girl Trip Gone Better

  1. Abby

    July 24, 2016 at 8:56 pm

    Well, way to get back up on that bowling horse! I hope everything turned out well, and it sounds like you’re having some good girl-time fun.
    I tried to install Pokemon GO, but my phone doesn’t support it. What?! Time for an upgrade, I guess. This is important!

     
    • shadowrun300

      July 25, 2016 at 2:09 am

      I know for a fact my phone won’t support it, but it’s great fun watching everyone else play. And I do mean EVERYONE else. At least there on the canal….
      It was a great mother/daughter vacation. We needed some girl time. Next up – mother/son vacation. That should be pretty fun as well. And I’m guessing lotsa Pokemon GO time.

       
  2. agg79

    July 25, 2016 at 1:15 am

    I remember the last trip. I really hope this one comes out better. I hate it when gremlins mess with your head in any competition/sport. I love her approach to the challenge – laugh it off and keep pushing forward. That is a true sign of character/inner strength. I’ll cross my fingers and toes for a win. BTW- the fact she qualified and got to the tournament is pretty darn impressive to me. Having a sticky ball seems to be my mantra so I am highly impressed with her skills.

    And I have to admit, I haven’t bought into the Pokemon GO shtick, yet. Still holding out my sanity (Resistance is Futile).

     
    • shadowrun300

      July 25, 2016 at 2:17 am

      One of the professional bowlers told a story of how he fell down the lane on his first ball in a highly competitive tournament and watched his ball crawl to the pins. So the next day, when Mario fell, she immediately related herself to him. If she hadn’t heard that story she may have crumpled. I was definitely proud. 🙂
      I’ll never buy into the Pokemon GO shtick, but I’m happy to see a “game” that is getting the kids out of the house. As long as they don’t walk into the middle of the street…. :/

       
  3. llcooljoe

    July 26, 2016 at 7:01 am

    I was wondering how her bowling was coming on. Can she put powder on her hand to stop the ball sticking to her hand? It sounds like you are having a great trip together too. So do you sit and watch every game she plays? That’s dedication!

     
    • shadowrun300

      July 28, 2016 at 4:33 pm

      I think her thumb hole needs one more little tweak, and she should be good to go.
      And YES. I watch every game and every practice. I used to live and breathe bowling and went to some pretty competitive/professional tournaments myself. I quit a few years ago. Burned out maybe. But I LOVE watching her compete. And love that there are so many more opportunities for her than when I was her age.

       
  4. Tee

    August 3, 2016 at 2:28 am

    I’m so glad things are improving for Mario and that you’re enjoying the chance to watch her get better and better. It says a lot for her that she’s able to overcome the obstacles she faced. She’ll go far, in bowling and in life!

     
    • shadowrun300

      August 3, 2016 at 2:29 pm

      Hi Tee! Missed you. 🙂
      It was a fun week, despite the obstacles. I was proud of her determination, especially since I expected her to crumble after falling. She’s been through a lot, but I have a feeling it’ll only make her stronger.

       
  5. Ramzu Zahini

    August 4, 2016 at 1:13 am

    I haven’t bowled for years! I used to do it a lot in secondary school but it was cut short when my right hand was broken in a fight.
    Pokemon….. we still have no Pokemon Go here (to the ire of the whole South east Asia).

     
    • shadowrun300

      August 4, 2016 at 1:29 am

      You’d likely confiscate so many phones if Pokemon GO makes it to your area. 🙂
      I bowled for-EVER, and then gave it up cold turkey. Now I enjoy watching her bowl.

       

Leave a Reply

 
