RSS

The Guys’ Turn

17 Aug

I thought it only fair for the boys to have quality time with their mom since Mario had some a couple of weeks ago.  So I rounded ’em up for a trip to Colorado.  What better way to bond than a 13 hour car ride.

We piled into the car with all our Colorado necessities, and off we went.  We weren’t even out of the driveway, and the boys had their headphones on and their eyes glued to their screens.  My dreams of deep conversations and brotherly bonding flew out the window.  ***sigh***   This was gonna be a long trip.

Hours into it I began to appreciate Mario’s non-stop chatter.  To get them talking, I brought up “No Man’s Sky”, the game Abby’s son Meego had just downloaded.  They discussed the pros and cons of this game, which led into reviews of other games, and seemed to break the silence for the rest of the trip.  Still not the chatter Mario and I had, but better than complete silence.

After a short layover in Colby, Kansas, we made our way to the mountains.  As we got closer to our first destination, Red Rocks Ampitheater, I realized how great a navigator Mario was.  She was spot on, telling me how to get there, giving me plenty of advance notice, balancing the real world against what she saw on her phone.  The boys waited till it was time to turn and told me to turn.  It was like pulling teeth to get them to paint the picture for me of what I needed to do.  After many u-turns, and a lot of gas, we found our way.

My frustration ended quickly.  I’d forgotten how beautiful and breathtaking (literally) the Ampitheater is.

image

 

 

Amp, much more comfortable here than in a cramped car, even allowed a selfie.

 

 

 

image

 

 

 

 

 

And Chip, who was seeing things for the first time, humored me as well.

 

 

 

 

We realized just how high up we were, when we were completely out of breath climbing back up the stairs.

image

Practice for what’s to come?

 

 
4 Comments

Posted by on August 17, 2016 in Family, Vacation

 

4 responses to “The Guys’ Turn

  1. Abby

    August 18, 2016 at 2:56 am

    Game reviews are usually a sure bet for a conversation starter with the menfolk. Even though I have hardly any idea what they’re talking about…
    Pretty scenery. Gosh, is it real? 😉

     
    • shadowrun300

      August 20, 2016 at 1:42 am

      It’s real. 🙂
      And I miss it already…..

       
  2. agg79

    August 20, 2016 at 1:35 am

    Hmmm. 13 hour car ride with the guys. I’m sure THAT was an adventure in itself. And I totally get the navigation skills – uh, you need to turn right back there.

    Looks to be the start of a fun a week. Those stairs don’t look like any challenge for you. Bring it on!

     
    • shadowrun300

      August 20, 2016 at 1:50 am

      Chip knew where to go, he just wasn’t sharing it with me, so there was a lot of “you needed to turn back there…”
      Those stairs were a warm up for things to come. 😉

       

Leave a Reply

 
