RSS

Mopey

03 Sep

I moped around for the first few weeks after returning from Colorado.  It’s just so beautiful there, and I could go from trail to trail to trail everyday, all day if I wanted.  (And I did wanted.) I SO didn’t want to come home.

Hubby, seeing how much I loved it, asked if I wanted to move there before moving to Florida.  I hadn’t really considered that, but YES!  Except they have winters there.  But I could deal with that.  Right?

I don’t know.  Seems like every time I go somewhere, Nashville, San Antonio, Florida, Colorado, I never want to come home.  Maybe what I really want is to NOT live here.

I’m tired of corn fields.  I’m tired of not having anything fun to do close by. I suppose that’s why I like working in downtown St. Louis.  Things are happening!  But’s it’s an hour away.  Sigh.

Mario is a senior this year.  When she graduates and moves away to college, we will likely move too.  Still not sure where to, but it’ll be far from Smalltown, USA.

In the meantime, I’m preparing for my big MS ride next weekend.  Having that to look forward to helps keep the moping at bay.  I love training for something and pushing myself physically.  175 miles in two days should do the trick.

Grace has been behaving nicely.  Just brought her in for a check-up, and she’ s feeling fine.  A little tweak here and a little tweak there.  We’ll be a great team come race day.

After that, well, I’m sure I’ll come up with something to look forward to.  Probably planning a trip to anywhere other than here.

image

 

 

 
9 Comments

Posted by on September 3, 2016 in Everyday Living, Vacation

 

9 responses to “Mopey

  1. Abby

    September 4, 2016 at 4:19 am

    I’d say you’re ready for bigger and better things than cornfields. Won’t be long! And you could always visit Colorado in winter 🙂 just to get a taste, y’know.
    And speaking of long, enjoy the MS ride! That should be a fun adventure. I’m walking funny just thinking about it.

     
    • shadowrun300

      September 7, 2016 at 1:39 am

      Yeah! I should visit Colorado in winter. I just need a few months to recuperate from the drive. Should be perfect timing. 🙂
      I’m looking forward to the MS ride. I’m working the 9 days leading up to the ride, but even still, I’m ready for it. Cross for fingers for good weather!

       
  2. Tee

    September 10, 2016 at 2:00 pm

    I know EXACTLY how you feel! I had a little vacation last month, and a nice long weekend away this month. Both times, I found myself not wanting to come home. I think I’ve just been in the same place WAY too long. Problem is, my hubby never wants to leave. Not this state. Not this city. Not this house. Maybe we could compromise. I’ll find myself a nice little winter place when I retire. If he wants to stay in the frozen tundra, he’s welcome to it. And I can escape to somewhere warm. … A girl can dream, right?

    As I’m typing this, I’m thinking you might be in midst of your big bike ride! Hope all goes well and you have FUN!

     
    • shadowrun300

      September 13, 2016 at 2:09 am

      I see nothing wrong with making your dream a reality. 😉
      You’re right, I was on my big ride while you were typing. Can’t wait to write all about it!

       
  3. agg79

    September 11, 2016 at 2:48 pm

    Ditto for me as well. I still haven’t posted about my trip to CS two weeks back. I blame all the travel and last days of summer. I am working on my post. Really. Hope the bike ride went well and you are not saddle sore. Probably nothing like climbing the incline, but it sounds like fun!

     
    • shadowrun300

      September 13, 2016 at 2:10 am

      I keep looking for your CS post, and finally saw it today! 🙂
      The bike ride went well. I’ll be writing about it tomorrow!

       
  4. llcooljoe

    September 12, 2016 at 8:23 am

    I can relate, I really didn’t wanted to leave Arizona this time. Mainly because I was enjoying having a break from dealing with my mother, and also both girls are leaving home to go to college and uni. My 17 year old will home most weekends, but still it’s the end of an era and a start of a new one which I don’t feel ready for yet!

     
    • shadowrun300

      September 13, 2016 at 2:16 am

      I’m quite sure it took everything in you to return home from Arizona. Are you already planning your next trip? 😉
      This is Mario’s last year in high school. Next year, ALL my kids will be out of the house. Sounds like it’ll be good, but I’m quite sure I won’t be ready to move her out.

       
  5. Ramzu Zahini

    September 30, 2016 at 1:13 pm

    Hurm, i can chose to live somewhere wonderful but i decided to buy a house near my mom. I am not really picky, heck, i was posted in the middle of a jungle for four years before this.
    Home is where the roaming heart returns.

     

Leave a Reply

 
