RSS

I Dood It!

15 Sep

My big ride this past weekend was everything I had hoped it would be and more.

I arrived early Saturday morning, unpacked Grace from the vehicle, and trudged through the mud, courtesy of some pretty bad storms the night before, to my team’s tent.

I felt a little out of place among the more experienced riders with all their gear – padded shorts, spiked shoes, etc.  I had on capri running pants and some old tennis shoes.  (Now full of mud.)

We started the ride as a team, but to me, the pace was too slow.  I powered up a hill and continued to ride at my usual speed until the first rest stop.  I waited there until the rest of the team arrived.  I hooked up with a few of them, including my boss, who agreed that if we were going to do the 100 mile trail, we better pick up the pace.

Even still, I felt the pace was too slow.  But since I’ve never ridden more than 30 miles in a day, I figured it was probably best they were pacing me. I had fun pushing the two guys to keep up with me though.  I’d hang with them until a hill, and then I’d race past them to the top.  They’d eventually catch up and then fly past me the down hill.

All the while, they marveled that I was riding without padded shorts, and that I could power up the hills without clips.  (Clips?  What are clips?). I just shrugged my shoulders.  “I don’t know,” I told them.  “I just pedal.”

I did hit a hard stretch about 60 miles into the ride, however.  We turned onto a 15 mile stretch of highway with a slight incline and the high winds (leftover from the storms) directly in our face.  I’d never been more happy to reach a pit stop.

The last 20 miles were filled with more hills, but as we climbed closer, my heart swelled with pride.  Me, a “rookie” as they called me, had ridden my first century ride.

8 1/2  hours after we started, we crossed the finish line, and immediately pedaled to the beer stand.

image

Jack, Me and The Boss

 

 

image

Close up of my proof

After a quick shower at the gym, we headed out for a much needed dinner.  You burn a lot of calories riding a hundred miles.

Afterwards I didn’t feel like pitching my tent in the mud, so I laid blankets down on the floor of my hubby’s Tribute, and tried to sleep.

I awoke Sunday morning, a little sore, but determined to ride the 75 miles I’d been bragging about the last few months.  Getting back on the bike was a little uncomfortable at first, *ahem* but soon I was feeling good.

So good that when I got to the 100 mile cutoff, I decided to go for it again.

The rest of the team thought I was nuts, and maybe I was, but I love a good challenge.   This time, without anyone to slow me down, it only took me 61/2 hours.

image

 

It was a great weekend.  Riding with thousands of people all there to support the same great cause was pretty heartwarming and inspirational.  I immediately signed up to ride again next year, and I’m making my hubby go too.

As for me, I’m quite proud of what I accomplished, especially since I just got my bike a few months ago.

Now on to find my next big challenge……

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 
9 Comments

Posted by on September 15, 2016 in Health and Fitness

 

9 responses to “I Dood It!

  1. Abby

    September 16, 2016 at 3:37 pm

    Nice going! Literally! Two centuries in two days 😀
    I’ve had people trying to get me to get clips (or clipless? Which is it?) for a while, now, but I just pedal too. Then again, I’m just a commuter.

    Glad you had fun and earned them patches! And for a great cause too!

     
    • shadowrun300

      September 17, 2016 at 2:36 am

      Clipless? Heck, I don’t know. I DO know I do NOT want to be attached to my bike in any way, and I can get up a hill just fine without them. In fact, better than any of them could. 😉

       
  2. Jennifer Fliegel

    September 19, 2016 at 3:46 am

    Good for you! Soon you will be the experienced rider that the newbies are all nervous around.

     
    • shadowrun300

      September 20, 2016 at 7:21 pm

      I was SO nervous about this ride. I’d never ridden with a bunch of people before, and I was extremely nervous about riding highways with cars. So having this under my belt takes away quite a bit of those nerves.

       
  3. llcooljoe

    September 21, 2016 at 6:15 pm

    Well done, I’m very impressed! The beer stand sounds the only appealing bit to me! Ha!

     
    • shadowrun300

      September 22, 2016 at 1:35 am

      The first day, the beer was a delicious treat after what seemed to me a ride in the park. The second day, I pushed myself to get done quickly, and all I wanted was water… And keep it coming!

       
  4. lottajoy

    September 27, 2016 at 12:55 am

    Good job my kind and faithful friend. 7 1/2 hours? Glad you took a shower. I envy your core muscles.

     
    • shadowrun300

      September 27, 2016 at 4:20 am

      It was the worst shower I have ever taken. Worse than my camping days even. And I left my towel back at the camp, so…. Well, it just wasn’t a good shower.

       
  5. Ramzu Zahini

    September 30, 2016 at 1:10 pm

    Oh my good, long distance cycling! I’d die if i try that.
    Good for you then if you can do better than the rest.
    I envy those who can do strenuous activities and happy about it 😛

     

Leave a Reply

 
