RSS

Oh The Guilt

11 Oct

I think about it everyday.  Honest I do.  It’s just sooo hard to put pen to paper these days. I got no excuse really.

Except maybe the seemingly endless days at the hotel.  Actually, that’s a pretty good excuse.  I’m going with that one.

They’re fun days though.  We had three conventions in a row.  Two were pretty needy, but this last one has been a blast.  Single occupancy, young National Parks people.  They like to have just enough fun.  Not so much that they become trouble, but enough that they’re fun to be around.

It’s been good to have these guys inhouse.  We’re going through some changes at the hotel that have most of us a little sad.  Our GM received a promotion to regional manager.  And while we’re all excited for him, it means he’s no longer with us on a day to day basis.  The absence of his quirky, energetic ways has left a huge hole in our hearts.

That hole will remain for another month or so.  The new GM has been named, however he needs to wrap up some work at his hotel, and won’t start til the beginning of the month.  I’ve taken on some of the GMs responsibility, which I really love, but when added it to all the responsibilities I have already, PLUS trying to run a busy hotel while short one manager…  well…  by the time I get home, I’m tired.  And all I want to do is read what someone else wrote rather than write my own.

But the guilt has overwhelmed me, so here I am.

My days haven’t been all work and no play though.  On my off days, Hubby and I have been playing hometown tourists and going on field trips.  St. Louis has so much to offer, and I share it all with my guests, but I rarely take advantage of them myself.

We’ve been bike riding along some river trails.

img_0007

 

We’ve dined in some favorite local restaurants. (It was fun making him squint in the sun.)

img_0005

 

And we’ve toured the Anheuser Busch Brewery.

img_2448

 

img_2432

 

img_2442

 

And this is just the beginning.  We have a whole long list to get through.  But for now, I gotta get back to work.

 
10 Comments

Posted by on October 11, 2016 in Everyday Living, Family, The Hotel

 

10 responses to “Oh The Guilt

  1. Abby

    October 12, 2016 at 2:38 pm

    Well, at least it’s not all work and no play. More like lotta work, some play, teeny weeny blogging? Hope you enjoy your “tourist season” before it’s gone!

     
    • shadowrun300

      October 13, 2016 at 1:47 am

      Teeny weeny blogging. That made me smile. 🙂
      Today we toured a vintage music shop that my hubby wanted to go to. Then we toured the mall. (Had to make sure it was suitable to send our guests to….). And ate at a locally owned soup and sandwich shop. Yummy.

       
  2. llcooljoe

    October 13, 2016 at 12:18 pm

    I always take it as good sign when my fellow bloggers aren’t blogging much, not because I don’t want to read what you’ve all be up to, but I think it’s a sign that people are out there having fun in real life, which should always come first. Okay so your absence wasn’t all restaurants and beer, but your job sounds quite fun to me too!

     
    • shadowrun300

      October 14, 2016 at 1:45 am

      “If you find a job you like, you’ll never work a day in your life.” That’s the way I feel about my job. For the most part, it is fun. I’m still happy to have a day off now and then, however. And if I can fit in a little blogging, all the better.

       
  3. lottajoy

    October 14, 2016 at 4:06 pm

    I’ve never seen a photo of your husband up close before. He looks like the perfect companion to go on sightseeing tours with and you’re the epitome of happiness.

     
    • shadowrun300

      October 15, 2016 at 4:19 am

      He IS the perfect companion to sightsee with. And much like Joe with you, he loves me unconditionally and would do anything for me. I’m a lucky girl.

       
  4. Ramzu Zahini

    October 16, 2016 at 7:02 am

    What guilt? If you are having fun doing something and have positive effect on yourself and the ones you love, no need to feel bad.
    I feel bad about my blog because I know I am drifting away from the proper path. Its not job related or anything, just plain lazy and distracted.
    Now that’s how you feel properly guilty of things.

     
    • shadowrun300

      October 17, 2016 at 3:59 am

      Oh, now I get the proper way to feel guilty. It’s likely how I’ll feel tomorrow when I’m off and know I should be cleaning bathrooms but would rather sit around blog. Lol

       
  5. Tee

    October 16, 2016 at 1:29 pm

    Oh how I understand! Sometimes there just aren’t enough hours in the day. You have to choose where you’re going to spend your time and something’s got to give. I think you’re making the best choices. When the hours are precious few, time with your hubby and seeing more of the world are more important than sitting alone in front of the computer.

    Great pictures! You guys are obviously having fun!

     
    • shadowrun300

      October 17, 2016 at 4:07 am

      I miss you! But I know you’re doing the same as I am. I’m not ready to give up my blog friends though, so I do tend to feel a little guilty when I don’t post for a while.
      Going on another field trip tomorrow. More pics to come! 🙂

       

Leave a Reply

 
