RSS

Tour de Mounds

29 Oct

Another good couple of weeks has been had by us may-as-well-be empty nesters.  Mario still lives at home, if you can call it that. But between school,  the play, work, and band, she’s never here. (But when she is, you can bet we know it.  Just sayin’.)

Hubby and I have continued our field trips into the city and surrounding area on my days off.  Last week, we visited the history museum in Forest Park.  It currently has a Route 66 exhibit that was quite interesting.  I knew we were on the route, but I didn’t realize how big a stop St. Louis was along the way.

img_1002

It was quite windy that day, but that didn’t keep us from eating at The Boat House restaurant on the lake near there.  LOOKS beautiful, so it was worth anchoring down our napkins and water cups, and sometimes even our table.

img_1003

We weren’t so lucky weather-wise today, but I was determined to visit the Cahokia Mounds.  I somehow avoided this field trip during my kids’ elementary years, and I have been itchin’ to get there for a while now.

It’s amazing to see these hand-made “mounds” dating back to the 1300s.  These would have been a project to build during this day and age, yet back then, they used homemade shovels and baskets to carry dirt from one place to another.  And as the mounds got bigger, they had to climb the mountains with the dirt!  Sheesh we have it easy these days.

Monk’s Mound was especially impressive.  Who knew I had my own little “Incline” right in my backyard?!

img_0994

 

 

img_1004

View from the top. Not quite as good as Pike’s Peak. But not bad for Illinois

img_1001

 

This week also marked Mario’s Senior Night for band.  Hubby and I bundled ourselves up to watch the only performance we’ll see this year.  The band’s getting smaller and smaller each year, but they did a great job.

img_0998

Here’s your chance to play “Where’s Mario?”.  My hint is the same as Abby’s – she’s the one in the white hat.

So yeah, a couple of good weeks.  Had a birthday in there too.  This one kinda came and went with no real fan fare.  The boys all sent me texts which was nice.  (Thanks to my hubby for reminding them.). Mario wished me a happy day on her way out the door.  And then I headed to work.  That’s my kind of birthday.  They’re much easier to forget if there’s not a lot of hoopla….

 
7 Comments

Posted by on October 29, 2016 in Everyday Living, Family

 

7 responses to “Tour de Mounds

  1. Abby

    October 29, 2016 at 8:22 pm

    How cool! I’d never, before now, heard of the Cahokia Mounds. Definitely worth checking out. I googled a bit about them, but couldn’t really find out “why” they went through all that work (since our mountains are just… there). Was it to gain a better view of approaching enemies? They just wanted mounds? All hyped up on cocaine? Maybe you can tell me 🙂 Love that “Ultra Modern” Hotel sign too.

    We just watched Meego’s last marching band competition for the year, but he’s not yet a senior, so not quite as emotional as with Mario. She looks good out there! (I assume)

     
    • shadowrun300

      October 30, 2016 at 3:51 am

      I’m not sure we really know why they were built. The flat ones, like Monk’s Mound, were used for buildings, possibly temples. The conical mounds were used for burying the dead. They found what appeared to be a huge sacrifice of women buried in one of the mounds.
      These Mississippians weren’t a tribe of indians. They were just natives that built a “city” in Cahokia – close to the Mississippi, but not right on it. In between the mounds were tons of “homes” and a big plaza where it is believed they played games and perhaps held sacrifices.
      What’s even more of a mystery is why they left. Floods? Disease? We don’t know for sure.
      Before today’s city of Cahokia knew what these mounds were, people were building homes between the mounds and leveling them to plants crops. So unfortunately, not all the mounds survived.
      Anyway, probably way more than you wanted to know (with no real answers), but it is definitely interesting. These “monuments” rival the Pyramids I’m told.
      If you’re ever in the area, we can hike the mound. Bet we can do it in under 30. Seconds that is.

       
      • Abby

        October 30, 2016 at 9:57 pm

        Okay, it’s clear to me now. They were built by aliens who are going to come back any day and wipe us all out. It’s the only explanation.

        And I almost forgot… Happy Birthday, Kiddo!

         
  2. llcooljoe

    November 6, 2016 at 7:23 pm

    Happy belated Birthday to you.

    I know all about the empty-nest syndrome, but wasn’t expecting to feel quite so alone, as not only are both my kids not living at home but my partner is in Singapore at the moment too.

     
    • shadowrun300

      November 9, 2016 at 2:13 am

      Thank you Joey/!
      I suppose I don’t feel quite so alone because I’m rarely at home. I think my hubby feels it more than I do since he works from home. It’s become a very lonely place for him. Hopefully your girls are doing well?

       
  3. Ramzu Zahini

    November 24, 2016 at 5:13 am

    Happy belated birthday to you!

    Huarghhhh. I am sleepy.

     
    • shadowrun300

      November 24, 2016 at 5:03 pm

      Thank you! (Did my post put you to sleep?)

       

Leave a Reply

 
