RSS

Holy Hell Week

17 Nov

They’re back!  Yep.  My favorite *cough* church group is back in town, and they are just as big a pain in my rear as always.  Seriously.  This group brings out the worst in me.

It started the week before they arrived.  We were oversold 30 rooms – a sickening amount. With this group, if they can’t come, they don’t cancel. They call a friend and let them have their room.  Our hotel, located right next to the convention center, with free food twice a day, is THE place to stay for these elderly men and women on a budget.

So when the oversell numbers weren’t moving, I began making calls to relocate people.  Anyone who booked outside the group block were targeted.  In total, I relocated 11 guests.  A very time consuming and un-fun task, as NOBODY wants to be in a hotel 7 blocks away.  They want ours. Even if we pay for one of their nights, they want ours.

Between that, and a few cancels, we worked out perfectly.  But sheesh, it was an exhausting task.  And it didn’t end there.  The group is in the hotel for 8-10 days, and every day they do something that really tests my patience.

Room 563 found a dead roach in their room. Right near the entry way.   A roach not native to our area.  The same guy who found a bug in his room last year.  Sorry. Don’t believe ya.  NOT giving you your money back.

Then there’s the lady who went on and on and on about how terrible it was that our front desk agent charged the wrong card.  (The only card he was able to get money out of.)  I explained that to her.  Told her her card declined.  I would refund the other credit card when I got payment from her.  And then dismissed her.  NOT giving you your money back.

Then there was the lady who swore up and down I promised her a wheelchair accessible room and because she didn’t get it she wasn’t able to shower all week.  I told her in all our conversations before checking in (and my god there were many), we did not discuss the accessible room.  But if she stays again next year, I’ll do my best to reserve her one.  Then she went upstairs and found a bug in her room.  The first complaint didn’t get her what she wanted, so she went for plan B.  Sorry.  NOT giving you your money back.

And there were so many more.  They all know our hotel’s policy of giving money back should their stay not be satisfactory, and every one of them looks for a way to make it happen.  We didn’t clean their room properly.  They don’t like the new pasta.  Their room’s too far from the elevator.

So when the hotel lost water early Sunday morning due to air in the city water lines, I about cried.  I knew they would all be at the desk wanting their money back.  We stayed strong as a team however, and explained it was a city issue, not a hotel issue, so we would not be refunding any money.  Only a few rooms wore us down to the point that we refunded some of it.

I tell ya I am exhausted.  I finally lost it, if you can even call it that, when a lady called to ask if her UPS package had been picked up.  I explained it had not, and she went on a rant about how we promised her it would go out that day, and we should have told her UPS doesn’t always come every day, and now she was going to have to call them to schedule a pick up and shouldn’t we have offered to do that for her.  I impatiently told her I would call and schedule the pick up.  “What, now you’re getting crass with me?  Let me talk to a manager.”  I am the manager, I responded.  “You’re the manager?  And you’re talking to me that way?”

**Sigh** Yes.  I am.  I’m sick of the way your group is treating us.  We’re working our tails off for you.  Responding to your every need.  Feeding you two meals a day.  And patiently listening to you bitch about everything.  My patience is running thin.

That’s what I wanted to say.  Instead, I took a deep breath, apologized, and let her know I would make sure the package was picked up.  Even better, I would drop it off at the UPS location near my home.

I left work that night mad at myself.  I usually don’t let people get to me that way.  I like to make them feel bad about talking that way to me by remaining patient and friendly long enough that they eventually wear down and start talking nicely.  But this time I stooped to their level.  Ugh.

I finally have a few days off.  Much needed days off.  It’s gonna take me a few days to decompress.  I plan to do nothing stressful.  Mario has a bowling match I’m excited to watch, and tomorrow we’re having lunch with Amp to celebrate his 20th birthday.  I hope to be my old self when I return to work on Saturday.  I don’t like my church group self.

img_1008

 
11 Comments

Posted by on November 17, 2016 in The Hotel

 

11 responses to “Holy Hell Week

  1. Tee

    November 19, 2016 at 3:08 pm

    Geeze, that group gives Christians a bad name! You deserve an award, a raise and a serious vacation for putting up with them! Just makes me wonder what is wrong with people, why they can’t put themselves in the hotel staff’s shoes and just exercise a little understanding and patience themselves. Why are they so entitled???

    JERKS! (That is what I have to say to them!)

    Hope your days off give you some rest and help you rejuvenate. You’re too good at what you do to let them wear you down permanently.

     
    • shadowrun300

      November 20, 2016 at 6:07 am

      Today was my first day back, and I take back everything I said about the church group. The group we have inhouse is worse! Cheerleaders and their moms with a couple of dads mixed in. They’re not respectful, not appreciative, and they let their kids run around while they sit and drink. The hotel is a mess – the halls, the elevators, the dining area. Most groups apologize for their mess, or offer to clean up, or at the very least say thank you. I always tell them we don’t mind and we’re happy to do it. But when the group shows no appreciation, you DO mind.
      Ugh. Maybe I didn’t have enough rejuvenation time…..

       
  2. Abby

    November 19, 2016 at 5:33 pm

    What Tee said – this is a CHURCH group!? Kinda reminds me of why we don’t go to church anymore… but worse.

    When you told of the UPS bitch in your head, I was hoping it was out loud. Oh well, probably best that it wasn’t. And Roach Man – what the holy hell?!

    Enjoy your days off, I know you’ll bounce back!

     
    • shadowrun300

      November 20, 2016 at 6:14 am

      Right?! That’s kinda the reason we don’t go to church anymore too.
      I seriously had to bite my tongue not to say that out loud to her. I would have been even madder at myself. I don’t want to become that person, but as I told Terri, “that person” was surfacing with the group we have inhouse now. Maybe I needed a few more days…..

       
  3. llcooljoe

    November 20, 2016 at 7:24 pm

    I can’t believe a church group would be so rude and badly behaved. What church is it?

    You sound like a saint. Can you come and deal with my mother for a few days?

     
    • shadowrun300

      November 21, 2016 at 4:06 am

      Like you, I wasn’t feeling very saint-ish towards the end. You can only put up with that kind of behavior for so long before you break. Just shows the importance of taking time for yourself if you don’t want to do or say something you’ll regret. So to answer your question, yes – I can deal with her for a FEW days. Maybe drop her off at the hotel on your way to Arizona? 😉

       
      • llcooljoe

        December 4, 2016 at 9:36 am

        If only I could get her on a plane. Sigh.

         
  4. Ramzu Zahini

    November 24, 2016 at 5:09 am

    Reading this, i must admit i feel you, about the trouble with people who takes us for granted. Working with people is never easy and there are a huge variety of problems every individual can make. I feel so sorry that you cannot lord them over like i did in school, having things my way and maybe bending / breaking the rules for my convenience.
    So, for being such a strong manager against that awful lot, i applaud you. (And this comes from a dark lord, we rarely compliment others, ok)
    keep up the good work

     
    • shadowrun300

      November 24, 2016 at 5:02 pm

      Coming from you, that’s a great compliment. Thank you. 😊
      Lucky for me, most of our groups are extremely appreciative and very kind to us, making it quite easy to manage the hotel.

       
  5. llcooljoe

    December 24, 2016 at 12:34 pm

    I just came here to wish you a wonderful Christmas, I hope you have a great time with your family, and don’t work too hard!

     
    • shadowrun300

      January 9, 2017 at 3:54 pm

      Aw Joey – I just saw this. I’ve obviously been away from my blog too long. Thank you for the warm wishes. Made my heart feel good. 🙂

       

Leave a Reply

 
