RSS

The Time Has Come

11 Feb

“Why do you want to move to a place that has tornados?” my front desk agent asked me.

“I don’t,” I replied.  “I want to move to a place that has hurricanes.  I just need to go through tornados first.”

**sigh**

Joplin, MO isn’t quite what I’ve been dreaming about, but it IS south-er.  And I AM moving there.  Like, NEXT weekend.  Because I’ve accepted the General Manager position of the hotel down there.

The GENERAL MANAGER!

ME!

The lowly desk agent who was never “quite ready” for the next step under my first GM, has suddenly sky-rocketed to a GM herself!

I can hardly contain myself.

The decision to accept the position was a tough one.  I mean, my career goal was certainly to become a GM, but my lifestyle choice was to be way south and on the beach, or closer to St. Louis in a downtown hotel.  But as should be expected, those hotels go to experienced GMs, and although I know I can do it, I have to prove it to them first.

So Joplin it is.

I’ve been to Joplin once, soon after the F5 tornado went through and destroyed much of the town. I wrote about it here, and I’m still saddened by the destruction it caused and the lives it took.

It’s since rebuilt and the community has grown even stronger.  The more I research it online, the more excited I am to be there.  Knowing it’s only for a few years certainly helps.  By then I’ll have the experience they’re looking for, and my choices for other locations will broaden.

Of course the one thing weighing down my extreme high, is the fact that I’m leaving my family behind.  My hubby will stay back until Mario graduates high school, and Chip and Amp graduate college.  The plan is for the boys to land a job and get their own place.  Mario wants to keep her job over the summer, so we’ll need to find a place for her to bunk up until she goes away to college.  Once that’s all settled, Hubby will make the move down.  We’re hoping 4 months tops.

As for me, I leave next weekend.  I’ll live at the hotel for 2 months, and then find an apartment/duplex/condo to rent.  The relocation package our company offers is terrific, so working it this way will allow us to live in both places without much additional cost.

The hotel will be W-A-A-A-Y different than the downtown locations I’m used to.  I thrive on running around with my hair on fire, and this will offer none of that. But again, it’s all about the experience.  So I’m fully embracing the challenge.

And oh my gosh I’m SO excited!

Tornado Alley, Here I come!

 
8 Comments

Posted by on February 11, 2017 in Family, The Hotel

 

8 responses to “The Time Has Come

  1. Tee

    February 12, 2017 at 1:42 pm

    WOW! What an exciting opportunity for you! I admire your ability to dive into something so new and different .. and challenging. Can’t wait to hear what kind of adventures come your way. Congrats!

     
    • shadowrun300

      February 13, 2017 at 4:25 am

      Well, I didn’t quite jump in with both feet at first. But now that the decision has been made, I am so excited. It certainly helps that my hubby is so supportive of my career, and promised to follow me wherever I go. I doubt he was thinking of Joplin, but we’re certainly going to make the best of it, and enjoy the adventure of living somewhere new.

       
  2. Abby

    February 12, 2017 at 6:39 pm

    Well, Congratulations!
    I know how much you’ve wanted a GM position, now you’ve got one that can be the springboard to your “dream hotel”!
    In the meantime, might wanna brush up on your tornado skills, that I hope you never have to use.

     
    • shadowrun300

      February 13, 2017 at 4:32 am

      It’s certainly the hope that this will springboard me to my dream hotel. In the meantime, I’m looking forward to the challenges a GM position has to offer.
      And while I find tornados fascinating, I hope I never have to experience one as devastating as the one that passed through five years ago. I hear the father of one of my future employees was killed in the storm. So sad.

       
  3. llcooljoe

    February 17, 2017 at 10:57 pm

    Wow that’s really exciting but nerve wracking too! So will you cope without hubby for four months? It all sounds like it happened so fast too!

     
    • shadowrun300

      February 19, 2017 at 3:06 am

      It’s happening crazy fast! Hard to believe I leave tomorrow. I took the last three days off of work to spend quality time with my husband and daughter, but instead, I spent all three days on the couch with the flu. I haven’t been this sick in a long time. So I’m a little bummed about that. But I plan to come back in a couple of weeks. Between his visits to me and my visits home, we should cope just fine. 🙂

       
  4. llcooljoe

    March 11, 2017 at 12:20 pm

    And as the say absence makes the heart grow fonder.

     
    • shadowrun300

      March 12, 2017 at 3:33 am

      After 3 weeks, I know that saying is true. Seems like my whole family has gotten closer – even though we’re further away.

       

Leave a Reply

 
